We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
The Little House on the River
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Little House on the River
The Little House on the River has a 60 ft river frontage The comfortable sitting room has a view of the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Little House on the River
The Little House on the River has a 60 ft river frontage
The comfortable sitting room has a view of the river
The log effect fire for cooler evenings
The doors in the sitting room open to the river
The sun deck facing the river
The dining area
The well equipped kitchen
The cosy double bedroom
The twin bedroom
The corner bath and shower
The house backs onto scenic water meadows
Feeding swans in the boat dock
Passing traffic
The river frontage is ideal for fishing
View up the River Thurne
Sunrise upriver - it'll be a good day for fishing
Potter Heigham village sign
The medieval Potter Heigham bridge
Potter Heigham public staithe
The famous Herbert Woods' boatyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Potter Heigham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derrick B
1 review
“comfortable”
Reviewed 21 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A great location with shops resturants and pub all at hand, no need to go anywhere.
All the other seasides in a 10 mile radius. The property was in a fab location although the estimated walking time was a bit under estimated as took at least 10 min when carrying luggage. The green cart was essential and much appreciated. There were lots of nice touches at the property, The outside toilet was useful when fishing and we did lots of that with success. Would definintly go again and have already recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffandS...
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fishermans Paradise”
Reviewed 12 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Cannot praise the cottage highly enough.
It was very clean, spacious and the location is great.
Everything you can imagine is either in the cottage or the separate fisherman's shed
Very quiet and peaceful with lots of wildlife outside.
The fishing is from the front lawn and is very good.
Would highly recommend and have already booked for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven V
City of Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd Home”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived this year to find this perfect retreat improved further with new decking etc.
The owners are genuinely concerned that its clients are comfortable and enjoy their holiday. The fishing is good as well as the cottages amenities. Situated not too far from the car park and shops a cafe and a pub. Coming back in September, next year and cant really think of anywhere else we would prefer to be. A perfect break!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna W
1 review
“Fantastic place. Really dog friendly and relaxing.”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Really loved our stay at The Little House On The River. Very well equipped cottage in a really relaxing setting. I really like there being enough essentials in and places where you just replace what you finish, saves me carting around all the supplies I normally do. There was kitchen roll, plenty of cleaning products, salt, pepper, tea, sugar, shower gel, soap, laundry supplies and dishwasher tablets. Caffietiere in the garden in the morning was bliss, definitely take yourself some ground coffee to use with it. Games, DVDs and books also there for guests to use.

Absolutely dog friendly, they're fully enclosed in the garden and I really enjoyed that we could relax and have the doors open without having to constantly watch the dogs. Lots of swans and ducks visiting, which I loved.

Can't wait to come back, perfect place for us.

Only thing I would say would improve the house for us is wooden flooring instead of carpet, as the walk from the carpet on the first couple of days was wet and muddy and, of course, the dogs ran straight in and across the carpets, so we spent some time spot cleaning by hand. The path was being extended and relaid though whilst we were there, so hopefully won't be a problem in the future. Just such a nice place, you want to keep it nice and the carpets could do with a good wash I expect each year due to how many paws go through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dyson180
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Marvelous”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is our second holiday in the property, we find the location tranquil but not too isolated.We complemented our stay this time by hiring a boat to get our luggage to and from the property and travel to hickling broad, ludham, martham, thurne mouth etc. As usual we found the cottage neat clean and tidy home from home. Plenty of wild life to observe, great fishing (once the swans, ducks and gulls had been fed) all in all a totally enjoyable relaxing holiday, even the dogs enjoy it.
Thanks Gill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing