We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
48
41
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
41
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat harbour across the road fraser island hervey bay upstairs room whale watching studio unit self catering undercover parking seafood festival great hosts stayed here for nights air con located close restaurants and shops bed was comfortable within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018

I do understand that hydro is expensive in Australia however it is warm in this part of Queensland & for AC to stop in the middle of the night was not pleasing. Wifi was our lifeline to home, their allowance was quite limited so this alsowas a neg’ve.
We were thankfully away from the room most of the day, there really isn’t much to offer in this part of Harvey Bay. Car required to get groceries.
Not overly friendly or helpful on checking in, office closed after 5pm.Our room happened to be dark, dated furnishing. Bed was was comfortable enough.

The primary reason for visiting was to go on a 1 Day Fraser Island excursion.

The hotel did offer parking & it was located close to the room entrance. There were sliding doors leading to a table & chairs but not much to look at other than the parking lot. The pool was good, there was a BBQ & a table to set up to dine, we didn’t take advantage of this feature. There were washers & dryers for all to use.

The ocean area across the street was not the least attractive when the tide went out, there was a walking area & parkland there.

Cannot recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room overlooking the pool area.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberBHR, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do not limit the Airconditioning so there must have been a fault with the unit, We would have happily moved you had we known there was an issue.We have since upgraded the the air conditioners in most of the units including the unit you stayed in. You are correct in noting that you can book either a pool view room or a sea view room as opposed to a standard downstairs studio that you booked if you wish to have a room with a view but if you are planning on traveling to Fraser Island for the day it is probably a more cost effective option to stay in a standard studio as you pointed out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

What an amazing little place Michael and Amber are lovely people and very friendly and helpful the view from our studio room was sensational right across the road from the beach.Close enough to walk to restaurants and shops but away from the hustle and bustle.Beautiful timber buildings gardens and trees a full size deck to sit out and relax enjoy the view with a lovely breeze Gorgeous. Good value for money I would highly recommend staying here.I know I will again

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank t0mt0m61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberBHR, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you so much for your great review! So happy you had a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

This studio, opposite the bay, had its own private entrance and outside dining/sitting area, away from passing foot traffic. Resembling a compact cottage, it was spacious with it's mini kitchen complete with 2 cooktops. The bathroom was spacious and provided a comfortable shower and small tub with adequate hot water.
The bed was comfortable, but next time I will request a mattress topper if I am staying for 2 nights or more as the mattress can become a tad too hard.
The proprietors are friendly and very helpful. I left an item behind and they were happy to post it to me the next work day.
Onsite undercover parking was close to the accommodation and convenient. The environment was pleasant with ample garden surrounding the entry and verandah.
The studio needed some routine maintenance though, as some lights weren't working and a bedside switch was missing completely. Previous guests' washing up skills need to be checked as there was encrusted food remaining on some cutlery, perhaps due to the lack of light over the sink area.
The outside light came on automatically at dusk and stayed on all night, which may be necessary for security but as much as I love to see outside as I drift off and waken, I had to close the curtain style blinds to avoid the light all night. The large dark wood table on the verandah area, and parts of the outside walls needed a scrub as it looked liked something white had been spilled and splashed over them and not adequately cleaned.
The pool was crystal clear and inviting, with a large barbecue and dining setting, as well as pool lounges, but again maintenance is needed as the pool rail at the step entrance is dangerously wobbly.
In all, it was great value for money and a pleasant, peacful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaceangel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks so much for your review and also for pointing out some areas we could improve. We have since adjusted the rail for the pool and all lights are working in all units. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to you staying i the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Wanted to stay here as we had to do an urgent trip in peak holiday season. Due to my health we needed to confirm rooms were air conditioned. Called at 8.55pm saturday night. I apologised for calling at this time but needed to confirm rooms were air conditioned. Was abused for calling at this time and had a really rude man on the end of the line. As we travel to the bay monthly we will take a wide birth with this one.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank rjwall69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We do not answer the phone after hours as it goes to a message bank and after hour guests have a separate number they can call. I wonder if you have the correct place or if it could have been a wrong number?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This place was just stunning. My partner and I had trouble with the accommodation we had booked for our trip down to Hervey Bay which resulted in a refund and us looking elsewhere for a place to stay. We saw this beautiful place on Trivago and couldn't resist going down to have a look.

The little studio unit had everything we could ever need. It was clean, tidy and very well maintained. The sound of birds in the late afternoon was extremely peaceful and the nightlife was just as beautiful, listening to the waves crash on the beach and watching the possums play in the trees. Amber and Michael, you and your beautiful resort made for an amazing stay. Thank you so much for having us!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the quieter but the resort in general is very quiet and all guests seem very respectful of each other.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis_cooper359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We really enjoyed having you stay and are glad you enjoyed it as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews