We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
48
41
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
41
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat harbour across the road fraser island hervey bay upstairs room whale watching studio unit self catering undercover parking seafood festival great hosts stayed here for nights air con located close restaurants and shops bed was comfortable within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018

This studio, opposite the bay, had its own private entrance and outside dining/sitting area, away from passing foot traffic. Resembling a compact cottage, it was spacious with it's mini kitchen complete with 2 cooktops. The bathroom was spacious and provided a comfortable shower and small tub with adequate hot water.
The bed was comfortable, but next time I will request a mattress topper if I am staying for 2 nights or more as the mattress can become a tad too hard.
The proprietors are friendly and very helpful. I left an item behind and they were happy to post it to me the next work day.
Onsite undercover parking was close to the accommodation and convenient. The environment was pleasant with ample garden surrounding the entry and verandah.
The studio needed some routine maintenance though, as some lights weren't working and a bedside switch was missing completely. Previous guests' washing up skills need to be checked as there was encrusted food remaining on some cutlery, perhaps due to the lack of light over the sink area.
The outside light came on automatically at dusk and stayed on all night, which may be necessary for security but as much as I love to see outside as I drift off and waken, I had to close the curtain style blinds to avoid the light all night. The large dark wood table on the verandah area, and parts of the outside walls needed a scrub as it looked liked something white had been spilled and splashed over them and not adequately cleaned.
The pool was crystal clear and inviting, with a large barbecue and dining setting, as well as pool lounges, but again maintenance is needed as the pool rail at the step entrance is dangerously wobbly.
In all, it was great value for money and a pleasant, peacful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peaceangel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks so much for your review and also for pointing out some areas we could improve. We have since adjusted the rail for the pool and all lights are working in all units. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to you staying i the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Wanted to stay here as we had to do an urgent trip in peak holiday season. Due to my health we needed to confirm rooms were air conditioned. Called at 8.55pm saturday night. I apologised for calling at this time but needed to confirm rooms were air conditioned. Was abused for calling at this time and had a really rude man on the end of the line. As we travel to the bay monthly we will take a wide birth with this one.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank rjwall69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

We do not answer the phone after hours as it goes to a message bank and after hour guests have a separate number they can call. I wonder if you have the correct place or if it could have been a wrong number?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This place was just stunning. My partner and I had trouble with the accommodation we had booked for our trip down to Hervey Bay which resulted in a refund and us looking elsewhere for a place to stay. We saw this beautiful place on Trivago and couldn't resist going down to have a look.

The little studio unit had everything we could ever need. It was clean, tidy and very well maintained. The sound of birds in the late afternoon was extremely peaceful and the nightlife was just as beautiful, listening to the waves crash on the beach and watching the possums play in the trees. Amber and Michael, you and your beautiful resort made for an amazing stay. Thank you so much for having us!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the quieter but the resort in general is very quiet and all guests seem very respectful of each other.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis_cooper359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thanks so much for your review! We really enjoyed having you stay and are glad you enjoyed it as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights here in a studio.
Hosts are great people.
The place is well situated on beach front at Urangan and close to RSL at boat harbour.
Room was very clean and well appointed. The Bed was very comfortable (don't know what previous people were whining about).
The place is all made of timber so you can hear the people upstairs moving around. So get an upstairs room and you won't be disturbed!
There's a free guest laundry.
All in all this is a professional well run outfit. We'd stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boatharbour, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thanks for the review Chris! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again. You are correct that the upstairs rooms are quieter than the downstairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We stayed in Hervey Bay as a base for a Fraser Island tour and Boat Harbour Resort was perfect for this. The room was very comfortable and well equipped, also very clean. The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to assist us. Another bonus was having access to laundry facilities, which came in handy during our three week trip to Australia. Thanks a lot for a great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber3011, Manager at Boat Harbour Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. The free laundry certainly comes in handy for the long Australia trips! I hope you enjoy the rest of you trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews