We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful, lots of fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Accommodation very spacious, clean and atmospheric. Environment is a knockout, as good as it gets

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bronba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    38
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Our family recently travelled to KI for a week's holiday and chose the Cape du Coeudic Lighthouse Keepers cottage as it looked like a good base for exploring the "wild west" of the island in historic accommodation. We found the cottage very comfortable, well heated (needed with the roaring forties winds), with all the amenities provided (except a hairdryer!) and knew from the reviews to take all our food as you really are in the middle of nowhere-fantastic night sky. It was great to be so close to the seals at Admiral's Arch so that you can visit without the crowds. There are a number of walks around the cottages with lots of flowers in spring and the drive to Cape Borda lighthouse is well worth the effort. The National Parks staff are very friendly and helpful providing information on what is available in the Flinders Chase National Park. Highly recommended unique place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

The Cape De Couedic cottages are set in an amazing national park, wallabies were grazing within metres of the cottage upon arrival. The bush setting is right on the coast in a beautiful national park with walking trails from the front door. The cottages are cosy at night with a fireplace (gas powered) and electric heaters for the bedrooms. I am an ignorant Sydney person and had no idea how cool it got during spring night time (the heaters came in handy).

If you want to to make your holiday special, peaceful and memorable, you could probably not do much better than staying here. We stayed as a couple and found the cottage very pleasant, but the house would be ideal also for a family holiday with 3 bedrooms, lounge, kitchen (full of utensils/plates/cuttlery etc). The only thing to keep in mind is to make sure you bring plenty of your own food as the nearest eatery is quite a distance away.

With the nearest city being 100s of kilometers away, the night sky was immense and the best I've seen for years.

We would normally only stay in 5* top end hotels when in cities, but would be very happy to come back to Cape de Couedic cottages. The National Park staff are very helpful and friendly when checking in and happily provided lost of information on how to make the best of the area.

Room Tip: They're all dead quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My partner and I stayed at Cape du Couedic in one of the lighthouse keeper's cottages. The cottage was spacious, and so full of character, as they are the original cottages built over a hundred years ago, with beautiful stone. We could see the lighthouse from the kitchen window. The pathway to the lighthouse was right on our doorstep, we enjoyed the trail, filled with interesting information about the lighthouse and keepers of old. When we reached the lighthouse, we were in awe of its beauty and remote location.
I would recommend a visit here!

Room Tip: We stayed in Parndana Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aphrodite R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
13.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
95.4 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kingscote
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
117.3 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn
13.9 km away
Hanson Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
14.2 km away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation

Property: Cape du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation
Address: Cape du Couedic Road | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price range (per night): $170 - $212
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience spectacular coastal scenery and wildlife whilst staying in one of three beautifully restored heritage listed three bedroom Lighthouse Keepers Cottages at stunning Cape du Couedic on the south-western corner of Kangaroo Island within Flinders Chase National Park. Cape du Couedic is located just a 20 minute drive from the Flinders Chase National park Visitor Centre and Chase Cafe. From your accommodation, take a short stroll to view New Zealand Fur Seals frolicking in the ocean and playing on rocks at Admirals Arch, and a 5 minute drive to Remarkable Rocks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cape Du Couedic Lighthouse Keepers Heritage Accommodation Kangaroo Island/Flinders Chase

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing