We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drougas' Windmill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tripiti, Milos, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
atlanta22...
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have traveled a lot, and this is by far one of my favorite places I have ever to stayed. The hospitality was incredible, and so were the views. If you want a true authentic Greek experience, you should stay here. The owners welcomed us fresh food and drinks, and even stayed up until our ferry came in (4 hours late!) to welcome us. It was comfortable for our family of 4, and had plenty of outside space to relax and enjoy. If you are considering a visit to Milos, you should look into staying here.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jebby3
Greece
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect sanctuary and even more perfect location”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect spot. You are the last windmill on top of a plateau with 270 degree views of the sea; next door, but not too close, is another windmill preventing the 360 degree view. The kitchen and the second bath is separate, with a large comfortable sitting and dining area covered by a pergola and a garden; all in a gated compound. The windmill itself has a master bedroom not to be missed The hostess upon arrival has stocked the
kitchen with beer soft drinks, wine, water, coffee and various local snack items. Very easy place to stay; walk into the two conjoined towns for meals or shopping; or drive to one of the many (79) beaches on the island. My second trip to Milos this summer; planning a third to stay in the windmill in mid October when the island is a bit less crowded. Highly recommend the windmill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location; setting, and view
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIckandAl...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We are a family of four with 2 boys aged 8 and 5 and have just returned from a fantastic holiday on the island of Milos made really special by the unique experience of staying at Windmill Drouga.

We flew to Santorini initially and got a ferry to Milos (which was over two hours late). This was going to put us on the island at 23:30. From Santorini I phoned the owner-who got her daughter to call me (better English speaker). I also phoned our hire car company who would be closed by the time we arrived. Essentially they arranged between them to leave the hire car at the port with our family name on the dashboard and keys in the ignition, and the owners daughter and son-in-law came to the port to meet us off the ferry and escort us to the property! Now that's service I've never received from any package holiday company.

The windmill and garden is beautiful and you can tell a lot of effort and love has gone into the very detailed restoration. The views are amazing. The welcome package was beyond anything I'd have expected (I'm reluctant to spoil the surprise for others). The family are so nice and Maria came briefly each afternoon to clean and tidy (she even stopped me from doing our own washing up on one occasion). The location was perfect for us. We were easily walking distant from 2 lovely and must see authentic villages and also 3 of the islands main attractions-catacombs, Roman amphitheater and site of discovery of the Venus de Milo.

Milos in general is a superb Greek island and has to be one of the best places to get a more authentic low key Greek experience. It does not yet suffer from mass tourism. However, there is plenty to do and discover and some of the beaches are very unique and have to be among the worlds best.

Windmills need wind of course and Windmill Drouga sits amongst a few others at a high point in the island. The benefit is the view and yes it can be windy. However! The outdoor seating area does shelter you significantly from the typically northerly wind and also has the advantage of keeping biting insects (typical in any hot climate) massively at bay. It's also provides welcome relief from the heat. We noticed that when the wind dropped-we missed it!

A delightful family holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLCortez
Bernese Oberland, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly fabulous experience!”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This windmill is oozing with character and such a unique choice of places to stay. It was immaculate and updated to retain its charm. Maria was a gracious host who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. We had a generous welcome package waiting for us in the kitchen and she came daily to make up the beds. There is plenty of privacy and peace at the windmill yet it's only minutes by car to Plaka, Adamas, etc. so it's very convenient to get around. Our family has traveled throughout Europe quite a bit and this is our favorite rental so far - it was perfect for kids and adults alike. I highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character/Uniqueness and hostess service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett M
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful, relaxing, and a great way to experience Milos”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days in May 2015, and could not have picked a better place to call home while we visited Milos. The windmill is in a quiet and peaceful setting (except for a few roosters), perched atop Tripiti, which is just a short walk from Plaka and a short drive from Adamas (and a few beaches).

The caretakers made sure that we were setup with everything we needed upon arrival, including coffee, water, fresh fruit, and some excellent baked goods.

The view from the windmill is spectacular. You can see from the port, up to Plaka, and across to the east coast of Milos. There are several sitting areas around the windmill where you can relax and catch some sun.

The town of Tripiti is a very short walk down from the windmill, and has several restaurants. Plaka is also a short walk (5-10 minutes), and there are plenty of shops and restaurants in that town. My wife and I had a car while staying in Milos, and while not a necessity, it was incredibly nice to have. There was parking at the windmill and navigating the island was never an issue.

I would highly recommend the windmill to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway in Milos.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing