We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
40
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews border collie home made cakes thought of everything short drive biscuits off the beaten track modern rooms delicious breakfast friendly hosts on arrival single track narrow lane attention to detail b and b luke martinez coast
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Luke and Martine made us feel really welcome on arrival and throughout our 4 night stay. The room was exceptional - clean, modern and spacious, with all the finishing touches you would expect for 4 stars. Breakfast was superb along with the homemade cakes in the afternoon. Lots of good, local restaurants a short drive away and lots of places to visit. The owners have a small holding with pigs, chickens and sheep and, of course, not forgetting Jess the gorgeous blue merle collie which we were going to put in our suitcase to take home!!! If you like somewhere that is off the beaten track with lovely countryside then this is the place for you. Will definitely go back again. Kevin & Lynne from Corby.

Room tip: There are 3 rooms - 2 with tiled floors and 1 with carpet.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LynneParkhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights one week ago and had a lovely stay. Our room was pristine clean with a spacious bathroom complete with a walk-in shower and bathtub, plus a huge double bed. The owners also have lovely dog, Jess, who really made our stay! Breakfast was absolutely delicious with a range of choices from their own produce. Would definitely recommend this place for a quiet & relaxing weekend away.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Thanks to Luke and Martine (and Jess) for a warm welcome to their lovely B and B. The room was spacious with a big bed and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was equally spacious with both a walk in shower and a bath. The condition of both areas was pristine and the decor was fresh and modern. There was a well stocked beverage tray with yummy biscuits and milk in the mini fridge. The towels were white and fluffy and a generous size. The dog got his own little jar of snacks and a bed.

The location was peaceful just the sounds of nature. The lane outside gets little traffic. Breakfast was ample and delicious. It set us up for our daily hike with the dog. The other great thing was when we came back soaking wet from our first walk there were towels for the dog in the out building and you could leave your coat and boots outside the room under shelter.

The property was well situated to get to Sidmouth, Lyme Regis etc and we did daily walks around the area.

We would visit again. Nothing negative to say about Mincombe Barn. We just hope for sunnier weather next time!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KittyKernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We stopped at Mincombe Barn for four nights in June. It is a delightful clean, fresh and welcoming place and I would live there if I could. We found Mincombe easily although the trip down the single track lanes leading there is not for the faint hearted. Mincombe is a short drive from the nearest town of Sidbury and a good central location to visit most of the Dorset coast from Plymouth to Southampton. We were welcomed by the owner and shown to our room which was clean, modern and very welcoming. We slept well with no issues and enjoyed a hearty breakfast each day. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and I would 100% recommend this location as a stopover or for a longer treat. Highly recommended and would love to return; call the owners for a better price, we stopped for £110 per night which we felt was fair considering the level of service and quality of the facilities. We ate at the Railway in Honiton (very nice and reasonable value) The Bowd inn near Sidmouth (not great, average food & flies) wished we tried the pub in Branscombe called the Masons arms but the bar staff were pretty abrupt when we inquired about food so we walked out, but it held much promise. The anchor inn in Beer was nice, decent food and reasonably priced, I would return.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thisisaoneoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

My wife and I have just enjoyed 6 days of excellent accommodation at Mincombe Barn B&B. The B&B is located at the foot of a beautiful and peaceful valley amidst splendid scenery. Luke and Martine farm some 20 acres which you are invited to explore alongside the East Devon Trail. They have sheep, lambs, hens and ducks and a very friendly collie dog. Streams run alongside the farm and down from the hills.
The rooms are delightful, skilfully built by Luke, spacious with smart modern bath and shower rooms and also benefiting from under floor electric heating. Breakfasts are first class with a combination of fresh fruit and traditional "full English" or more modest variations as you might wish.
This is a truly welcoming, comfortable and relaxing B&B in the heart of wonderful countryside and about 7 miles inland from Sidmouth.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Happychap52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews