We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Pilates retreat in beautiful location in...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mill House

Mill House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill House
Ground Floor Suite Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
Mill House
Ground Floor Suite
Master Bedroom
Sitting room
Kitchen /  Dining room
Boswell Welcome DevonCream Tea
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Sidbury, Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bella2120...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Pilates retreat in beautiful location in comfortable cottages”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I can still feel the benefits of my weekend Pilates retreat three weeks' ago at Boswell Farm Cottages and will definitely be back. The retreat was an incredible insight into many aspects of Pilates to suit all levels of expertise, from instructor to beginner level, with excellent tuition. As a group of 10, we gathered to share delicious meals and sleep in cosy accommodation in a tranquil, rural idyll within walking distance of Sidmouth, far removed from our normal lives, whether that be in central London, mid Wales or further afield. We shared a wonderful experience, learnt about Pilates and tried different meditations. I would thoroughly recommend the experience to anyone interested in Pilates and would return to the cottages simply to escape from the hurly burly of everyday life - something we all appreciated. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
How very kind of you to take the time to write such a positive review, it is much appreciated. We are so glad you are still feeling the benefits! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Oct 2016
Thank your review, we really appreciate you taking the time. It was lovely to meet you and welcome you all here to Boswell. We are delighted you enjoyed you stay and the cottage met your needs and you got to see the Deer! We hope to welcome you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
emd5
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very unwelcoming”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We received very poor customer service. Although the surroundings are beautiful and the cottages are trying to be authentic they do need updating. The shower does not work, the bedding is very tired and dated. The dishwasher only has a 3 hour cycle and apparently you are meant to empty it before you go. Difficult with such a long cycle, are you meant to sit there or put it on a 7am?. I also did not realise beds are meant to made before you leave and god forbid you use the bin in the bedroom (please see photo, this was sent to me as unacceptable) ! The booking terms say to leave cottages clean and tidy, this means you must vacuum, put all plates etc away in correct places and wash bedding/tea towels or they seemingly keep your deposit! You must let management know about complaints when you are there, however they are not approachable and there was no-one there when we checked-out, I feel they need a check-out policy. I would recommend walking through the cottage with management before leaving to ensure you get your large deposit back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2016
Thank-you for your review, which we have found extremely confusing for the following reasons;
Your first visit to Boswell was in October 2015 when you came and inspected the cottages and venue, in depth, for the Blessing and Celebration of your Wedding on the 3rd September 2016. Prior to this we had advised of costs and the deposit taken for large groups against additional staff costs and any damage or breakages (We only ever take deposits on group bookings). You stated that you loved the surroundings and the cottages because they were authentic and just what you wanted for your guests. You then booked, without any reservations, the venue and all the cottages.
You also visited again on the 21st May 2016 at our request.
Over the following months we had several email communications - in one sent in February you stated and we quote "Sorry to bother you again but you are so helpful”, in one on 31st August you thanked us for our patience. We were in no way unapproachable, even spending time offering you emotional support, which you required, in person on two occasions.
We were unable to find any problem with the shower and wish that you had come and reported any problems during your stay - so that, if there were problems, we had an opportunity to put matters right. We did walk around all the cottages with you on the Friday morning and if at that time you were unhappy with anything, such as the linen, we could have changed it for you.
Our Terms and Conditions ask that " Hirers are to leave the accommodation and its contents in a clean and tidy condition on departure". We also stated the need for them to be left in a tidy condition on the 15th February. If you required any further guidance on this, as we live on site, we would have been more than able to clarify any queries.
We were deliberately available for the whole week-end, to assist you if necessary, only leaving our home for three hours on Saturday evening. Both the Vicar and your Mother came to the house to speak to us and had no problem approaching us with various requests.
We were in the house waiting to say goodbye to you but you never came to the door and when we came to look for you - you had left.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann C
2 reviews
“Charming cottages, magical place.”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have stayed at Boswell Farm with groups of friends many times, and we have always had a wonderful time. We have rented The Linhay, Cider Cottage, The Granary and Mill House, and have found them all to be clean, comfortable, extremely well equipped, and with good bedding and linen. We've also appreciated the introduction of wifi into the cottages.
The grounds are stunning and extremely well looked after, with flowers everywhere in the Spring and Summer, and the vivid Virginia Creeper colouring the Autumn. One of the pluses for us has always been the springwater in the cottages.....such a welcome change from the harshness and awful taste of London water! We often take the wildlife walk around the farm, which is so tranquil, and also the walk into Sidmouth along the Byes ( meadows and river ) .
I highly recommend Boswell Farm to anyone looking for a peaceful stay in beautiful surrounds?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful surroundings, lovely cottage and great location.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of my stay.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your review. It is always a great pleasure to welcome back our valued "return guests" We are so glad that you enjoy all that Boswell has to offer and look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEMM53
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Website out of date. Disappointing.”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The website looks fabulous and very inviting. It boasts a Fishing lake and Pilates, children's playground and tennis court.
Tennis court is good. Fishing lake is an overgrown stagnant pond. No response to email requests to join Pilates classes from my family members. Playground is usable.
The cottage was smelling of damp and the water from the taps was brown.
The showers were totally inadequate and cut off whilst in use and ran cold.
The grounds were overgrown. The dog friendly garden was inadequately fenced to keep dog in so it kept escaping. So did everyone else's!
The whole place feels outdated and neglected.
The decor as above.
The water system totally inadequate in this day and age. Even unhealthy.
No toiletries supplied, not even a bar of soap-photos on website showed toiletries.
Oven not clean.
Internet very poor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Water quality, showers and drain and damp smells.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay. Having run Boswell Farm for 21 years we appreciate all feedback, good or negative, as it is through this that we can improve our guest’s experience.

Boswell Farm’s website including all photos are a year old (July 2014). We carefully adhere to the Trading Standards office rulings, “dressings” including e.g. toiletries, fruit and flowers are acceptable and do not indicate supply. Visit Britain inspected Mill House in May 2015 awarding it 4 Stars with a Gold Award

Our booking conditions, agreed to on booking, state that any concerns must be raised during the holiday giving us the opportunity to discuss and/or put matters right. None of these issues were brought to our attention until less than 24 hours before departure, when only a couple were mentioned, even though we were available 24/7.

Boswell achieved a Gold Award from Green Tourism in June 2015, and as stated in our environmental policy, “we care and respect wildlife and ecologically manage our farmland and facilities” The lake is a natural area with a documented, abundance of wildlife. Water enters and leaves the lake ensuring the survival of all wildlife and therefore is not stagnant.

No email enquiries were received in respect of Pilates classes. Instructors live on site so are accessible as you were aware; we would have been very happy to have welcomed family members to the classes, as we did for other guests staying the same week as yourselves.

Boswell is on its own natural spring; following extremely heavy rain, (262mm were recorded as falling over the one day of 13th August), the water becomes slightly coloured, this is often characteristic of spring water but clears within 24 hours. We have a Water Treatment System which is inspected regularly by East Devon District Council, as is the water quality.

The problem with the shower was not raised during the stay so we are unable to comment.

We welcome dogs but ask that all guests keep their dogs under control at all times.

(We are on fibre optic broadband here with a good speed, we have a separate router and 4 booster masts for guests to enable them to enjoy this facility free of charge. We are in a rural environment and connectivity can vary.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 269
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing