We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cracking Cottage in Devon Countryside.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barnfield Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dunsford, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
benS1716T...
Chudleigh Knighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking Cottage in Devon Countryside.”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely, relaxing trip in Dunsford, just south of Exeter.

The cottage itself was lovely. The airy, open plan living accommodation on the first floor with kitchen, dining and sitting area were all nicely appointed and we absolutely loved the log burner (must come again in the winter). Lots of space up there for the children to charge around while we were admiring the vineyard!

There are two double bedrooms on the ground floor, with a bathroom adjacent to each (one acts as the master bathroom as well as an en suite). All very tidy and we are looking forward to coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: I don't live here
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a Toddler friendly Cottage!!!”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This could be a really nice cottage if it wasn't for a few issues.

The cottage had a nice upstairs layout with the open plan kitchen and living area. We loved the log burner, very nice in the winter.
The wooden floor, with wooden slippery steps where dangerous when you had socks on. I fell down them whilst holding my 10 month old baby. Badly bruised my back and bum. Made sure I was bare foot for rest of our stay.

The cottage wasn't as clean as I would have liked.The rug in the living area was full of cat hairs and dirt and me and my fiance were itching for the whole stay. 10 month old baby had an allergic reaction to the cat hairs too.

The downstairs with the bedrooms was freezing at night. Such a shame as it was lovely and warm upstairs. Had to have baby in with us at night to keep her warm.

I would say this cottage is child friendly, but not toddler or baby friendly for the above reasons.
Such a shame as this could be a lovely cottage!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2015
Dear Lisa, we are terribly sorry your stay seems to have been such a disaster. It's the first time anyone's ever fallen on the step in the living area and we had no idea they were slippery. And we feel awful you were holding your baby. Thankfully many young families have stayed over the years and not encountered the same problem. But we will of course look at doing something about it.
Equally I wish you'd mentioned it was cold at night, we'd turned the heating down the previous week as the guests had said it was really warm. We'd like to reassure future guests that the cottage is normally warm and cosy all winter.
As for the cat hair, we're shocked and at a complete loss. We have a strict no pets policy in the cottage and I can only imagine our cat must have sneaked in somehow. Our apologies and we'll be doing our very best to make sure nobody has any issues like this in the future.
Kind Regards
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieR40...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is highly recommended. Spotlessly clean with everything you could want, provided. Great views and ideal for visiting places of interest. Devonshire cream tea provided by the owners was a wonderful surprise and delicious. Cant praise it enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K_Ejazz
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday Cottage offering an amazing mix of comfort and access to nature”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a week here and had an amazing holiday. Ben and Caroline are excellent hosts - we were welcomed by a delicious chocolate cake :) . The cottage is clean, comfortable and provides excellent access for local walks. We will definitely be returning - I highly recommend to book a holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Future-Ec...
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable, clean cottage set in a scenic location.”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely, comfortable, clean cottage set in a scenic location.

Highly recommend the nearby pub the 'Nobody Inn'. The food is amazing.

Highly recommended for a further stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing