We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice location, perfect for Exeter and Topsham”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Topsham, Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrGJMoyse
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice location, perfect for Exeter and Topsham”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a very nice annexe in a tucked-away position backing onto farmland. It is a mile away from Topsham, which is walkable, however you do need to walk on a main (although country) road with some traffic). Recommended by John and Gill, we used the local taxi service which was under £5 each way.

The annexe itself had a nice kitchen-diner, homely feel in the living/bedroom area and WiFi.

Exeter is only a couple of miles away and this can be travelled by car, or the Topsham rail station is a mile away, which offers direct links to Exmouth or Exeter, so you really cannot fault the transport links.

Overall, a stay that cannot be faulted and for the sake of staying a mile out of the main town, the £5 taxi fare is easily offset by the fact that all holiday lets in Topsham itself are extremely expensive - even as much as £100 per night more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The option to take our dog would be one we would consider next time. Topsham is very dog friendly.
Liked least: Struggling to say I didn't like anything, but WiFi seemed a little slow/cut out, even for Devon(!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lazy days”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just returned from a fantastic few days with John and gill,lovely peaceful setting,gorgeous views from the terrace and the hot-tub(highly recommended)will be returning with the rest of the family for sure,thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Ahh thank you, it was a pleasure and you're welcome back anytime xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bekki0405
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I found this little gem of an apartment after we were forced to cancel a trip away when we were let down by the pet sitter. Gill and John were brilliant throughout the booking process and were attentive to my needs as we required a holiday rental which took our two dogs. On arrival, Gill and John were there to welcome us, and were so friendly from the beginning, but not at all intrusive. The apartment was a perfect base for us to explore the beautiful surroundings, and the owners gave us some superb tips on places we might want to visit, such as taking the little ferry in Topsham over the river and then walking along the canal to a great pub called The Turf Lock. This was great advice, as they did the most amazing local mussels! The owners were happy to called on at any time we needed help, but were discrete enough to give us our space. The hot tub and use of the garden was a brilliant extra, and they generously allow guests to use their garden bar, with a small contribution made into the little honesty box behind the bar was a great idea. The apartment was clean and comfortable and it was a bonus to find tea, coffee and milk for a well deserved cuppa on arrival. I also liked the fact the owners had left toiletries for guests to use in the bathroom, so all you need to pack is clothes. The apartment was decorated with a beach you theme, and had cute little touches such as tea lights and string lights to add to the ambience.
I would thoroughly recommend this apartment to anyone wanting a cosy and comfortable appartment in an area of outstanding beauty, with attentive and friendly owners.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
With The Garret just opened for business as a holiday let we were over the moon to have Bekki and Richard stay as our first guests! It was great to meet you both and we are both very happy that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed Topsham. Hopefully we can host you again in the future and meet all the family. Take care and thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing