We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant hideaway, yet within easy reach of...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
23RosyP
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant hideaway, yet within easy reach of everything.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Justin and Mary were perfect hosts, there if needed, yet letting us be tucked away in the cottage next to their ancient farmhouse. Well thought out, equipped and furnished, we had everything we needed. There was space to roam and explore, immediately by the cottage, andaccess to all that Devon can offer because of its mid Devon location. We were able to enjoy both coastlines, Dartmoor, the Ruby Country,lots of towns and the high quality of food, produce and crafts.
I use a wheelchair and was able to access everything downstairs bar the deep bath. Getting in and out was a challenge, the current steps are removable but wide. The doorsill is around 15 ins from the ground. I used crutches to transfer to a chair on the step, and then to another indoors. A ramp is planned.
We also enjoyed the experience of under floor heating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort in a peaceful location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Great Burrow for a week over Easter and had an idyllic relaxing time. The cottage is perfectly equipped with everything you need and is situated in a large garden with stunning views across Dartmoor. The Ellery family were very helpful & friendly - on hand when we needed anything whilst ensuring we had our privacy. We enjoyed delicious eggs from the chickens, beautiful walks, and our 6 and 12 year old boys really enjoyed the darts, table tennis and swinging in the hammock! A week of Spring sunshine certainly helped! We'd recommend the local walks, Meldon Quarry & Reservoir, Crackington Haven beach visit and Tavistock's pannier market. We hope to return to explore more. Thank you!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisyd0g1
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idylic cottage, very cosy had a lovely week.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Great Burrow Cottage for our 25th Wedding Anniversary, it was a lovely cottage very cosy and comfortable.
Mary & Justin were very helpful and were very happy and accommodating when we asked if our friends could come to stay for one night.
We had some lovely walks from the cottage and went for drives around the area, but we were equally happy to stay in the cottage and relax.
We enjoyed our week so much that we really didn't want to go home, and would like to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosiness
Liked least: The weather !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiemey
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy converted barn”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Perfect gateway for Nature lovers, a short drive away from fabulous walks in Dartmoor. Great Burrow is a beautiful warm cottage with a wood burner that makes it so cosy during rainy cold winters and with underfloor heating.
As you enter you feel at home immediately in a well kept property arranged with taste and simplicity. Local butter and free range organic eggs from the farm were waiting for us when we arrived...
The double bedroom has a very comfortable bed with a wooden wardrobe and the bathroom holds a huge bath.
Great Burrow is a special cottage full of charm looking out on a pond with ducks.
We will certainly go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cosvandes
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful, cozy bolt hole from which to explore Dartmoor and beyond”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

In spite of staying at Great Burrow during extreme weather conditions, we had the best time and never felt stuck.. There are plenty of interesting things to do in the area, but we were also very happy to stay in some days and enjoy the peace and quiet, the fireplace and lovely atmosphere of the cottage. Our daughter did not want to leave-we felt the same. Mary, Justin, Agatha and Hector were the most welcoming, yet easy- going hosts. All in all it made for a truly invigorating and relaxing holiday. We will hopefully be back soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing