We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, comfortable, romantic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Main Bedroom Dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Cottage
Main Bedroom
Dining table
Swedish Woodburner
Dining Area
Upstairs Bedroom
The Hammock
Patio
View From the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bratton Clovelly, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
littletoe
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, romantic cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed here for a wonderfully relaxing few days as part of our honeymoon and absolutely loved the cottage and the setting.

The cottage is simply and beautifully furnished and very well equipped - Mary and Justin have thought of everything (unlike many holiday cottages the kitchen has everything you could need). We had terrible weather almost all week but the cottage was so comfortable it didn't matter at all - the underfloor heating and wood stove both came in very handy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed, the bath and the woodstove.
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel H
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We highly recommend Great Burrow Cottage - we had a wonderful week there. We were travelling with 3 teenaged children, but the cottage has plenty of room, and the kids enjoyed playing table tennis and exploring outside. The cottage was perfectly situated for exploring both Devon and Cornwall, which was the point of our visit, but it would also be a great place for a restful holiday without sightseeing.

The cottage is just as it looks in the photos, combining old-fashioned charm with modern convenience. It is clean, warm and beautifully set up, with a well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, and loads of information provided about local attractions. The hosts, Mary and Justin, are very welcoming and helpful - we were greeted with a cream tea, fresh milk and eggs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will certainly be back if we're visiting Devon again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was charming - very clean and comfortable, really well equipped, and with great character.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Reviewed 7 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage itself
Liked least: The flies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jagatjoti...
london
1 review
“magical”
Reviewed 23 May 2011 for a stay in January 2011

I came in the search of an idyllic country cottage with great country for lengthy daily walks. Being from the visual industries, I'm rather picky when it comes to the ambience and look of a place and I couldn't have been more delighted. Mary and Justin went out of their way on numerous occasions to make my stay more comfortable. It was a gentle and delightful retreat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymraes75
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“A stylish, beautiful and peaceful retreet.”
Reviewed 20 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011

What a truly beautiful place to spend time, inside and out. The cottage itself is stunning, I felt like I was stepping into an interiors magazine - gorgeously decorated, comfortable, spacious and well set out. Outside, the cottage's own garden is very large, filled with plants and a couple of seating areas with uninterrupted views of Dartmoor.
The location is so tranquil and yet within easy driving distance of lots of activities and attractions - we enjoyed exploring Dartmoor and cycling the Granite Trail aswell as finding some lovely local pubs.
The most difficult part was tearing ourselves away from the cottage. Its so peaceful and relaxing, it has to be better than therapy! I think its safe to say that we loved it, wished we could have stayed longer and will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing