We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Probably the best B n B we've ever stayed in...”

Review of Echappee

Echappee
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Echappee
The modern kitchen area The eating and relaxing area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Echappee
The modern kitchen area
The eating and relaxing area
Bedroom area with door to en-suite facilities
Door at the rear leads to spacious en-suite shower room
Kitchen and eating
Axat High Street
Cycling Heaven
Looking down at Axat from the Church
The Medieval City of Carcassonne
Axat Island - enjoy a picnic or just dip your toes
Gorges de Galamus
The local band playing at the village fete
Winter in Formigueres
Skiing at Formigueres
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Axat, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jacnewen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best B n B we've ever stayed in - home or abroad!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

AMAZING! We stayed in the studio and were absolutely delighted with the accommodation. Graham and Sandra have thought of everything and then gone the extra mile to ensure a warm welcome, with wee touches that elicited a 'wow' at every turn! Bike - minded people will enjoy Graham's (a former national road champion) approach to cycling ,supported by his bike hire set up. Before we left Graham gave us a guided tour of the rooms in the main house and suffice to say we would have a very difficult task choosing between them and the studio for our next visit! What a find - a real gem in the Eastern Pyrenees. Looking forward to a return visit ASAP! 10/10

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
06Travels
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Studio, Great Village, Great People!!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place to stay. The kitchen is very handy and the bed is extremely comfortable. The entire place is decorated with good taste and comfort in mind. Fantastic hot shower. Sandra & Graham make sure you have everything you need and they also have a large book exchange. The village is a joy, with excellent shops, a river and great views of the surrounding mountains. It really is almost picture perfect. We have already booked again for a few days in October.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location and Sandra & Graham.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about this place.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dom9671
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“we'll see you again really soon!!"”
Reviewed 4 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Although we regularly come to the South of France, this was our first time staying Axat. I would recommend the gite at Echappee to anyone looking for a relaxed time but with plenty to do. The apartment itself had everything we needed, the bed was amazingly comfortable and the decoration set the place off and gave it a real charm. The owners were fabulous and provided us with everything we could have wanted and were more than happy to offer recommendations of things to do and places to go. There were even glasses of wine waiting for us on arrival!
The location of Echappee is fantastic; you are in the middle of the village and all the rooms all look out onto the river, which was beautiful to look at and listen to. We sat out the front, watched the world go by and even got a few Bonjours in with the locals, who are all incredible welcoming! There is all sorts to do in the surrounding area and we managed to do a real mix of activities while also having time to relax. All in all we had an amazing holiday with great accommodation and plenty do to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxed, friendly and informal
Liked least: there was nothing I couldn't just get used to!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Holiday, superb accommodation”
Reviewed 3 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011

I stayed here last Christmas, and can honestly say it was one of the best places I have visited. The accommodation was superb as was the area itself, I stayed in the off season so it was very quiet, but a perfect place to come and relax.

As for Graham and Sandra who run the B&B, they were a pleasure to stay with, and I will definitely be coming back again.

Excellent doesn't put it into words. I couldn't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxation, wine, food
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christian...
Bayons
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: la discrétion, la décoration, le grand confort
Liked least: Axat, bof !
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing