We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
118
24
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
24
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostshomemade muffinssnooker tablepoached eggs and baconlots of helpful adviceboth morningsvery nice stayspa tubour night stayother guestsenjoyed our stayb b'sguest loungedianahostesssuitegarden
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Havelock House is lovely with very comfortable accommodations making for a relaxing "home" after a day of sightseeing. Diana is very well informed about the area and is able to make smart recommendations about what to see and do. The breakfasts are delicious. There is a swimming pool and a lovely outdoor area in which to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2015

Thank you for your lovely review - Jeff and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here - as you say we are in a great location - the pool is real added bonus at this time of year and it's a great place to sit and relax with a wine after a day out in Napier
I'm sure many people don't realize about the great breakfasts in B&B's - it is a big part of what we offer here - and I love to hear that our guests enjoy it so much
Thank you again and hope to see you back here another time
Kind Regards
Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This is a wonderful choice for one's visit to the Hawke's Bay Area
It is centrally located to visit the many interesting sites in the area.
The owners are lovely and most helpful with their excellent recommendations and helpful tips.
The inn is beautiful in every way.
Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2015

We enjoyed meeting you and so pleased you enjoyed your stay here; we appreciate your kind words
As you say we are in a great location - and a lovely spacious home - close to Havelock North, top winery restaurants Le Terroir at Craggy Range and Black Barn as well as Te Mata winery and Te Mata Peak; the easy drive to Napier to do the Art Deco walking tour, and a trip to see the gannets either along the beach or overland is a real experience.
Thanks again for taking the time to review us on TA - it is really appreciated.
Kind Regards
Diana & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

What a really lovely place: a privilege to stay here. Diana recommended Pipi's excellent restaurant & drove us in to enjoy a great meal in relaxing surroundings. The next day she cooked a superb breakfast & we spent the day sunbathing & swimming in their pool, set in the beautiful gardens. So peaceful & relaxing & we would recommend this to anyone. We will try to stay there again if we travel that way. Many thanks to Diana & Jeff: you're doing a great job!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMCGPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay here - you certainly had some lovely weather while you were here and so pleased you enjoyed the pool
Hope to see you again when you come to Havelock North
Kind Regards
Diana & Jeff

21 January 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

After driving all day I got a tad lost in the roundabout system in town. I followed a sign for middle Road that took u thru a car park in the centre of Havelock. I wud recommend u ignore this sign n take the next turn off on the roundabout then take another left at the Nxt roundabout. Middle Road is the 1st on the right only 100m away. After that it was easy to find. The perfect country home with great hosts awaits you. We were met by a lovely English couple n shown to the Napier suite which was a very large bedroom big enough for a coffee table n couch in front of a large TV. The room was nice n cool with windows open on arrival even though it was over 25 outside. A fan was provided to assist with a good night's sleep. The water pressure in the large shower wud remove paint no complaints there. We needed it after doing the Tongariro Crossing the day before. The property is extensive n the guests have access to a small kitchen area with a fridge to put all your wine n beers & fresh fruit. The owners offered to do a wash for us which is really handy when on the move for 6wks. Diane recommended a few Wineries in Hawke's Bay for dinner. I managed to leave a pile of clothes in a drawer by mistake which Diane posted onto our hotel in the South Island with little fuss. A few emails n it was sorted. A very nice say in a beautiful part of the North Island. 2nts was not enough.

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleggyBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

Thank you for all your kind comments about your stay here - Jeff and I are very pleased you enjoyed it - I'm also glad your clothes reached you - Kiwi post is pretty good - once we'd worked out the best place to send them!
Enjoy the rest of your holidays in New Zealand - and come and see us again when you are in the Hawke's Bay
Kind Regards
Diana & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015

Diana & Jeff are absolutely wonderful hosts nothing was too much trouble and they were always ready with a supply of information to get the best out of our trip.We were made to feel as though we were part of the family a real change from many B & Bs we have used in the past.

John & Val
St Helens UK

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chunkyraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianamaryarnold, Owner at Havelock House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2015

We are very pleased you enjoyed staying here - we do enjoy running our B&B - we are lucky to have such a beautiful home to share with our guests.
I know you had some lovely days out while you were staying - and enjoyed Havelock North village, exploring Napier and Hastings as well as going out to nearby beaches.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we also hope you had a good time during the rest of your stay in New Zealand
Kind Regards
Diana & Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews