We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
What a view!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What a view!
House and drive Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
What a view!
House and drive
Winter
Winter
Garden trees
Wing and entrance to walled garden
The Wing
The master bedroom
View from master bedroom
Bathroom
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting room with view into private garden
Breakfast
Breakfast in the Sitting Room
Baby Grand
Autumn
Autumn
Autumn
Autumn
Walled Garden
Walled Garden
Bury St Edmunds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Thurston, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TracyW2
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My boyfriend booked Thurston Lodge as a surprise 50th birthday, my jaw dropped on arrival, we were met by the owner Mark who couldn't have been more helpful, the wing of the lodge is beautiful from top to bottom, breakfast was cooked prefect, our fire was lit for us every morning, I had a wonderful weekend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thank you some much and enjoy the rest of your birthday week!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caddie241
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing base from which to explore beautiful Suffolk”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend stay at Thurston Lodge, a stunning property with lots of interesting features. We were blown away by the amount of private space we had to ourselves and Mark the owner was a fantastic host making us feel so welcome. He suggested lots of things to do/places to visit which were all really enjoyable and he always set us up for the day with a hearty breakfast - never at the crack of dawn, so we had many a welcome lie-in!! The house is beautiful, clean and comfortable and we would love to return in a different season to appreciate the garden when in bloom.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Enjoyed your company thanks again come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique place to stay, great host”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thurston Lodge was a really unique place to stay and Mark the owner was a fantastic host who made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.

We stayed with our baby daughter, and she loved all the space to crawl around.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Glad you all had a great time. Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Fabulous - couldn't have been better.”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Better even than the photo's .Lovely wood burning stove in lounge was alight and the room lovely and warm on our arrival (bedroom had radiators - room also lovely and warm). Mark was the perfect host - relaxed, very helpful and not at all intrusive. The Fox and Hounds do a good meal and less than 5 minutes walk. Bus and train stops to Bury St Edmunds (both hourly) also less than 5 minutes walk. We had a wonderful romantic couple of nights. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Four Poster Bed. Beautiful lounge.
Liked least: Bit difficult to find (don't follow Sat-Nav!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2015
Thank you so much you are very kind
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Ramsey, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great relaxing break,very good host !”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

As soon as we arrived Mark was very helpful and also throughout our stay. If you want a great break away that is a bit different then book this now !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The host/owner makes the stay complete!
Liked least: Having to leave !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
Thank you it was a pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing