We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place for family, friends and pets just outside of the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sundog Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sundog Retreat
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Dawson City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place for family, friends and pets just outside of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

As residents of Dawson City, Yukon we travel to Whitehorse approx. once a month. Often, we are hauling either a 30 foot trailer, or our boat. We always travel with our 2 dogs who are used to having room to roam and regular access to the outdoors. In the past, we have stayed in pet friendly hotel rooms downtown or have been fortunate to impose on our gracious friends. The Sundog provides us with the perfect solution for our Whitehorse trips. For the same price as a hotel downtown we are provided with a beautifully appointed cabin complete with, King Size bed, propane fireplace, satellite TV, separate living room, full kitchen, lovely welcome basket, BBQ … the list goes on and on. The sunrise out the windows of the Cranberry can’t be beat, and the sauna after a long day in town is well appreciated. Both our dogs are always happy when we pull into the driveway of the cabin as they know that there is lots of space to run and play. In addition, the Sundog has ample parking near the cabins which allows for the convenience of leaving the trailer or boat on the grounds instead of hauling everything through the middle of town. We are worry free when we go out as we know that all our belongings are safe and secure. It is hard to imagine why we have not stayed at the Sundog since it first opened. We will continue to tell all our friends about the Sundog and look forward to our next stay in the Cranberry!.

Room Tip: The view from the Cranberry is wonderful. The peace and quiet afforded by the private cabins is ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    57
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
103
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

Sundog Retreat is a great place to catch up with friends. Cramberry Cabin view is amazing! Nights quiet and the cabin warm and confy!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UlieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Lovely, clean, provided everything. Best views are in the Fuzzy Crocus best for 2-4 people, or the Cranberry 2-8 +, and it looks like the panorama would have been nice too. Otherwise I would have been highly disappointed by the lack of view from any of the other cabins. There is tonnes of green space, and they are private. Prices are on the high side especially so far out, but worth it if you want to treat yourself.

Room Tip: views only from Fuzzy Crocus, Cranberry, and Panorama
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcritique101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

When calling for a motel in Whitehorse, many were full, so read about Sundog Retreat in Tripadvisor & what a joy it was!! The scenery was awesome, the cabin was very peaceful, quiet and serene. Heather was very accomodating when I called to reserve a cabin. It was our favorite place to stay on our trip from Alaska to Nebraska. Hope to visit there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a lovely 2 bedroom cabin. It was so quiet and peaceful. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Cranberry cottage was excellent and we had plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
25.8 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
25.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
25.6 km away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 km away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
24.2 km away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#8 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
41.7 km away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundog Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundog Retreat

Property: Sundog Retreat
Address: Lot 1160 Policeman's Point Road, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price range (per night): $172 - $494
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundog Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter northern lights, summer midnight sun. Private cabins, hot tub, sauna, full amenities. Yukon hospitality and welcoming fruit basket. Near Whitehorse on 160 private acres. Friendly hosts respect your privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sundog Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundog Retreat Whitehorse, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing