We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great RV Park!!”
Review of Hi Country RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hi Country RV Park
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Loved this place! The front desk was super friendly and the campground was beautiful. Lots of trees! The laundromat was very convenient and the gift store was fantastic. No need to look any further for souvenirs! I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hithere13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The front desk staff were rude. Free wifi does not make up for the ridiculous cost in firewood. The showers were freezing, when asking the front desk to adjust they sent maintenece an hour later when the shower was done. The clerk at the front told me 'I never go in the shower, I wouldn't know what the temp is like in there'.
Being a remote camp manager myself, your clients are the most important. It may be the end of the season, but it does not excuse the rude front desk staff.
If I could have put less than one star I would have.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D, Owner at Hi Country RV Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Lindsay
It was unfortunate that we had a heat problem in washroom/shower and you were the first person to encounter it. We had our maintenance person promptly arrive but you turned him away and said everything was okay because you had turned on ALL the showers and blowdryers to heat up the room. This was in complete disregard to the cost to us and would not have happened if we used metered showers as most campgrounds do. Also, our firewood is the cheapest in the Yukon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

This campground is very crowded during peak season but was quiet and well maintained. The restrooms were very nice and clean and easy to get to from our site. It has a small store and gift shop on site and there are a line of historic vehicles that were used when they were building the Alaskan Highway. Location is close to town where you can find plenty of places to eat.

Room Tip: Try and get a site that isn't right next to the check in office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice campground with free showers. Not extra roomy but compared to many we have seen and used, it is better than most. Showers and bathrooms very clean, prices are quite reasonable, and the gift shop is outstanding. A very nice place to stay in a wonderful city.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We had no reservations and we paid the consequences, we got a back-in site that was way too close to the neighbors and water/electric only. My ratings reflect my personal experience with the site I had. Looked like all the sites are close together. There are many trees, so there is some shade. Whitehorse is a bigger town than most along the Alaskan highway, there is a Wal-mart and large grocery store. Gas is cheaper here. If I had to, I would stay here again, though I would make reservations for pull-thru with full hookups.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NicL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
4.1 km away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
67 reviews
4.2 km away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
4.2 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
461 reviews
3.9 km away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
649 reviews
21.9 km away
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
#3 of 19 in Whitehorse
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Country RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Country RV Park

Address: 91374 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Hi Country RV Park Whitehorse, Yukon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing