We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Nearby Hotels
USD 110*
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 119*
USD 116*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Glacier Park Bed and Breakfast(Saskatoon)(Great Value!)
USD 81*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 119*
USD 115*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 122*
USD 93*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 122*
USD 115*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Town Hotel(Saskatoon)
USD 119*
USD 104*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The James Hotel(Saskatoon)
USD 235*
USD 188*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 95*
USD 93*
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
28
61
56
52
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
61
56
52
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdenny's attachedbar attachedshuttle serviceshort stayenjoyed my stayup to datean upgradenice roomexcellent stayreginamicrowavepethospital
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The hotel is expensive,the rooms are old and need a definate remodel. The cleaning of the rooms is less than desirable. Front staff not well informed. asked for a portable fridge-hotel doesnt have any.

I dont think i would stay here again

Room Tip: look for other chains in the city
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnaglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

stayed there for a hockey tournament. pool is small. rooms are drap, needs a make over. beds were clean. older TV. Denny ayyached was nice except it was busy all the time as get there early. The beds were only doubles not queens not good for a family of four with two teenagers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrairieDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

For the price it was not worth it. If I paid $40 -$60 dollars it would have been a wonderful stay but for an average cost of $140 it was disappointing at best. The room was small. When you turned any of the lights on the room flickered like a bad horror movie. Worst of all they had decommissioned the air conditioning for the winter and it was sweltering in the room at the end of the day.

If you have a choice, don't pick this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwh223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Best place to stay while in Saskatoon.
Nice hotel. Shark club is awesome. Denny's inside also. Lots of other places to eat close by.
Close to airport.
Stayed here many times and try to every time I come here. Usually booked if you wait till last minute.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johngil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

If I had to guess, Sandman doesn't own this property. It's not the standard of their other locations. This one is way down there. That said, you can always find good things, even in bad places. So let's start with those.

The bathroom amenities (shampoo, soap, etc.) are good quality. Not one, but two chain restaurant/bars are attached to the hotel. You'll know right away whether you want to eat here or not and don't have to worry about experimenting with menus. The lobby is well appointed and inviting. Front desk staff were courteous. But it kind of ends there.

We walked into our room which could have been mistaken for a nice sized walk in closet. It's not of the size that two adults can move around at the same time. I had to sit while my wife got organized, and vice versa. Decor, while in reasonable state of repair, was a dreary green/brown brocade reminiscent of a previous century. The walls were dark, and dark cherrywood furniture served to darken it even more. Even with every light in the room turned on, it was dark and repressive.

The heat was sweltering. The air conditioner had been decommissioned for the season, and covered with a cheap vinyl cover. A window opens, but only marginally, and there's no airflow in the room anyway. So we slept virtually uncovered in a very uncomfortable Ed (very soft). The TV is old and out of focus, and there seems to be a problem with the cable service. Ghost images make it difficult to watch.

The bathroom was tiny. No countertop for your toiletries, toilet paper roll under your armpit attached to the tiny vanity. You have to straddle the toilet to close the door.

Outdoor noise was fairly high. It's a busy intersection in a less than desirable area. And idling diesel trucks warming in the morning cut the troubled sleep short in any case.

My advice is to ALWAYS read reviews from TripAdvisor BEFORE making your reservation. Your traveling peers will let you know about shortcomings. We didn't do that, and relied on the brand name. This property demonstrates that there can be a sows ear in every decent brand.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mort69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share valued feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not creating a positive and memorable experience during your previous stay. Your comfort and satisfaction is important to us and we certainly did not leave you with a valued impression.

The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon has many room type categories to choose from. We could of extended the option of choosing a more spacious guestroom to better accommodate your needs.

We are also very pleased to announce renovations in the near future!

My apologies again. It is our wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future hotel stays.

Best regards,
Beverley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews