We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything please!”
Review of La Maison Smith

La Maison Smith
Ranked #2 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 11
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Cafe, chai tea, croissants. The list is endless and the place is charming.

We had coffee here a couple of mornings and it is a must go to if you come to Old Quebec.

Delicious and homemade makes all the difference. A slow and easy pace to start your morning with many choices to nibble on. If I move here I will have the time to do just that!

1  Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Maison_Smith, Responsable des relations clients at La Maison Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for taking the time to writ such a wonderful review ! We are very glad you came to see us. You are always welcome to drink a coffee with us ! We hope you will keep very goos memories of the old city. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Breakfast every morning. Lovely outdoor seating. Excellent coffee and croissants. Unfortunately construction taking place.

1  Thank MARY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Maison_Smith, Responsable des relations clients at La Maison Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you for giving us such a good review ! We are glad you had such a great time. Sorry for the noise, it's not in our hands. Construction will be over soon. Thank you very much. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

We had a great breakfast right here. The pastries were good especially the croissant. Coffees were nice too. The staff was lovely. My wife wanted buying milk for my son and the staff offered us a small steamed milk without charges.

1  Thank kelvinl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Maison_Smith, Responsable des relations clients at La Maison Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you ! We are glad you enjoyed our company, it was a pleasure for us having you around our coffee shop. We hope you have a very nice travel in Québec City ! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We were searching for a chai & cake place in quebec city and landed at this cafe. it looked nice and comfy but it was a very bad experience.
PLASTIC EVERYWHERE! When I pay almost $8 for a random and dry applepie i'd expect to at least get a real fork. Instead i got a plasticfork wrapped in plastic!! How blind and unconcerned can a company be? I had a matcha latte with soymilk, the pie and a small hot chocolate and paid almost $20,-!
The Matcha was alright, the small hot chocolate ($4 without tax and tip) was VERY small and the almost $8,- pie was super dry and also wrapped in plastic. Would never go there again!
EVER! If you are just a LITTLE concerned about the environment, you'll not be happy in there!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Maison_Smith, Responsable des relations clients at La Maison Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

We are very sorry to read this. We take note of your comments as we are conscious of the environmental problem. We already do efforts to reduce the impact of our operations : we use paper bags, our napkins and most of our plastic containers are compostable or made out of recycled materials. We also recycle. Nevertheless, we are a SME and we have limitations as almost 50% of our clients take their meals to go. We believe that it's our responsability, to all, taking care of the environment. Therefore, we believe that you should ask, as an aware customer, that your meal is properly served on lavable dishes to stay. This way, it's very easy to prevent any misunderstanding. Thanks for visiting us and for commenting. We will work on this issue. Have a very good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

I stopped by La Madison Smith (in several locations) every afternoon of my trip to Quebec City. The coffee was delicious (I especially enjoyed the maple lattes!) but more importantly, the staff was always cheerful and the atmosphere was welcoming and warm. A delicious respite from the cold.

2  Thank DcDoGooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La_Maison_Smith, Responsable des relations publiques at La Maison Smith, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you! We really appreciate your critique! We are glad you have had very good time among us, we really enjoyed having you around. We wish you a very good day! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maison Smith also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to La Maison Smith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing