We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Quebec

Old Quebec
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 39.81*
and up
Small-Group Quebec City Food Tour
Ranked #1 of 209 things to do in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

It's a little piece of Europe in North America. And it's very hard to have a bad meal in Old Quebec.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank the2Lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,475
    1,509
    149
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old Quebec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

A touch of Paris without leaving North America. We visited in early June so the weather was nice but a jacket was needed. Everyone spoke French with little English to be had. The little bistros offered local fare with a French twist. Meals were hardy and relatively inexpensive. Everywhere we went we could walk to easilly from our hotel.(we stayed at the Chateau Frontenac which was not cheap) The Plains of Abraham Military and Historical Park was a nice way to see the St. Lawrence and a view of the city. A walk along the river was quite pretty. Lots of little shops and museums to see. Bistros open out upon the streets as in Paris. Very romantic trip if you want a taste of Europe without the long flight.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chezvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You must bring your camera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I love the Old Port in Montreal, but I now see that it is nothing compared with Old Quebec.

We didn't spend long enough here, but it was a beautiful sunny day, and everything is so quaint and cozy, you could wander these streets for hours. I wish I had a bottomless stomach so I could stop and sample every pastry and beer I saw!

We took the Funiculaire up to the top and took pictures of the boys with the big cannons, and watched the ferry boats. It feels so slow-paced and wonderful, I can't wait to return soon.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ditchchamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“taste of the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

what an awesome place to visit even if your not a history buff. lots of shops, cafes, antiques, old buildings & churches. Great 3 course fondue dinner for $60 for 2 people at a place near the chateau(cant recall the name). bluff walking trail takes you by the fort area. great adventure for family trip or by yourself even.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
322 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Great restaurants, if a bit pricey. Architecture to die for. Fun walking the streets.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckAndGunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Old Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing