We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic food in a traditional venue”

Chez Boulay-Bistro Boreal
Ranked #13 of 1,654 Restaurants in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 29 - USD 50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cote du Palais
Description: When our chefs Jean Luc Boulay and Arnaud Marchand joined together to open Chez Boulay – Bistro Boreal, their goal was to highlight the richness of Quebec’s local products. Nordic cuisine invites discovery of unique regional products through the rhythm of the seasons. Elk, trout, elderberry flower and Labrador tea are featured on our menu in creative ways. It is a surprising blend of Quebec culinary traditions and international influences. While exploring Nordic cuisine, one discovers unique products. Cranberry seed oil, hemp oil and apple cider vinegar proudly occupy a place in our menu and replace staples from the South like olive oil and citrus. Since the opening of the Bistro, our chefs and cooks have made amazing discoveries, which have been integrated into the gourmet bistro menu and this proudly underscores the richness of our boreal region.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Wonderful atmosphere with top notch service. I was in an non experimental taste mode and was presented with eggs benedict that gave me the morning comfort I sought. What more could I ask for?

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 2,333 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Our big hype was easily shot down
Started with a very bitter/sour, vinegary onion soup which the waitress removed from our bill later
The beef which my wife had was okay nothing to rave about
The scallops were tasteless as well as the risotto
We did not stay for desert

Like I said there are many other better restaurants in all categories than this one

Sorry but no

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank dcannucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My son and I ate dinner here during a recent visit to Quebec and were most impressed by the quality, value, and presentation of the meal, the tasteful lighting and atmosphere, and the warm and pleasant staff. We were toward the back of the dining room where we could gaze on the impressive dry-aging meat locker where various cuts of meat were curing, and we dined on some superb beef cheek as one of our main courses, along with a deliciously fresh Icelandic Cod catch of the day. But, honestly, what most impressed us were the vegetables--an endive salad that was insanely fresh, delicious, and well-dressed for late March, and a squash soup that was my son's favorite dish of our four-day stay in Montreal and Quebec during which we ate many fine meals. You'd never find food of this quality at this price in major cities of the US, though fine dining at reasonable prices seems to be standard in Quebec province. Definitely worth a visit on your next trip to Quebec.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank adastraallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

It's our second time at this restaurant, but we barely remembered our first time. We went because we received a gift from a friend.

Wow, what about experience. The onion soup was just awesome! And the beef cheek was so tasteful.

Our waiter was friendly and suggested the soup and cheek - great suggestions.

We are from Quebec and we certainly will come back sooner than later.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MarcSanfacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Interesting menu, friendly and helpful waitress, good food! Our hotel made a reservation and we were glad they did as it was completely full!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Boulay-Bistro Boreal also viewed

 
Quebec City, Quebec
Quebec City, Quebec
 
Quebec City, Quebec
 

Been to Chez Boulay-Bistro Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing