We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Impossible to top the many great reviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castel du Monde

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quebec City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castel du Monde
Ranked #24 of 119 Quebec City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoneham, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Impossible to top the many great reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We decided on short notice to drive to Quebec City when Hurricane Irene scrambled our Labor Day weekend plans to go on a sailing vacation, so we were delighted when a cancelation enabled us to get a room for 3 nights here. I must admit that driving into the Old City late at night is somewhat challenging - especially since our Garmin didn't work in Canada as it was supposed to, and we had to depend on our costly iPhone GPS to find our way into the city late at night. Thankfully, hostess Jolanta had posted directions to local parking lots - you do NOT want to drive much in the city, and we cheerfully parked our car for the duration in a nearby underground garage.

Castel du Monde, also known by another name at the same address, is on a charming street very central to everything. The building is very old but immaculately kept. We had a room on the very top floor (photos show it) and it was absolutely gorgeous - exposed brick walls, period furniture, a nice firm European-style mattress, grand bathroom and shower. I have atrial fibrillation, which makes climbing stairs somewhat of a chore, but we paused on the way up, and made care to limit our need to climb to no more than 2 round trips a day.

This is truly a first class B&B by any standards. Towels were dense and very absorbant, windows with soundproof double panes. Wi-Fi was good, but not exceptional on the top floor - to be expected, alas, in all buildings with dense masonry walls. It also attracts a first class quality of guest, people who are friendly and easy to chat with. We met a large Canadian family there, the father of whom was undergoing major surgery in a city hospital, and breakfast with them was an additional treat.

Breakfasts were exceptional. Jolanta aims to please, and scores all the time. We don't eat meat, so she prepared eggs without the customary ham. I defy you to eat just one tasty croissant, and to pick just one of the many cheeses and pastries on offer. Coffee hot and well brewed, my partner assures me.

We walked almost everywhere. The Citadel is but a short walk away, as are loads of excellent restaurants, and virtually every treasure of the Old City. You can easily see all of Quebec City in 3 days, and you will not find a nicer "base of operations" than Castel du Monde.

For those of you who've enjoyed the cities of Europe, you will feel quite at home in Quebec City. Unlike Paris or Rome, it's not a place you feel the need to return to again and again. But if you find yourself needing a "fix" for the continental lifestyle without leaving this continent, it's well worth the time to visit Quebec City.

Room Tip: Try for a lower floor. If you have serious mobility issues, this is not an appropriate B&B for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel_StonehamMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
76
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and I really liked this place which is situated in Old Quebec. It is a vintage B&B and if you are into such places then this place definitely will not disappoint. The service was very good and the rooms were kept very clean and tidy. Our breakfasts were fresh and had varied choices so we did enjoy them very much. We were on the bottom floor and was then upgraded to a top floor room which was much more spacious. It must be pointed out that the rooms on the higher floors may be difficult for older people to climb. The hotel is located near to the city attractions which are accessible within walking distance. There is free internet access as well. Overall the hotel impressed us and so did the landlady- Yolanta.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smithannv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Absolutely the BEST breakfast, room accomodations, linens, hospitality and location in Old Quebec! We throughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in October and are already thinking about our return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Raddison room. The bathroom was a bit small but there was plenty of hot water and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This B&B is perfectly located on a quiet street inside the walls of the old town within easy walking distance to all its attractions. It is also near the restaurant/bar district on the Grand Allee just outside the walls, and the neighborhood shopping area on Avenue Cartier a bit further down the Grand Allee. Our room was surprisingly spacious. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful, with a different "main dish" every day. Jolanta, our hostess, was helpful and gracious. The second floor has a desktop PC for the guests to use. The third floor terrace has a great view. Be prepared for the possibility of needing to double-park on a narrow street to unload baggage. Also be prepared to climb stairs. This establishment is apparently in the process of transitioning its name from Castel D'Amerique Francaise to Castel du Monde, both of which have entries on TripAdviser. We are already talking about returning to this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill_and_Andi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Mid October we spent four nights at Castel du Monde and found it to be an excellent choice for visiting this wonderful city. We asked for a room accessible with minimal stair climbing and were given a room on the ground floor; it was next to the breakfast area and kitchen but we found it to be so well sound insulated that we never heard any noise. Jolanta the owner is dedicated to making her guests comfortable. When the auxiliary heater (the main heat was not yet on for this shoulder season) in our room was found to be defective she immediately provided a replacement. She also assisted us with ordering taxis. The breakfasts were outstanding and the location on a quiet street close to the major attractions is ideal. We highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.0 km away
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
Castel d'Amerique Francaise
#6 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
Hotel Manoir des Remparts
#32 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
Hotel Le Cavalier du Moulin
#39 of 119 in Quebec City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maison Historique James Thompson
Maison Historique James Thompson
#11 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Cap Diamant
Hotel Cap Diamant
#13 of 119 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Haute Ville
Le Haute Ville
#5 of 29 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel du Monde

Property: Castel du Monde
Address: 31B Ste-Ursule | Downtown, Old Québec City, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City > Downtown Quebec City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Quebec City
Price range (per night): $139 - $168
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel du Monde is situated within the fortified walls and the most animated historic district of Old Quebec. Castel du Monde offers rooms of a unique charme each of them equipped with the following amenities: air conditioned, non-smoking, hard-wood floors private, en-suite bathroom, TV-cable, refrigerator, free wireless internet access, sitting area, desk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Du Monde Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing