We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in old Quebec” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
862 reviews
482 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in old Quebec”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our second stay here and again enjoyed the hotel. We were in a standard room which was a little small but comfortable. Bathroom was a good size with good shelf space. Shower had soap, shampoo and conditioner dispensers. Room had fridge, safe and coffee maker. Breakfast basket was left at door and was nice with orange juice /yogurt/ breads /jam /fruit. Hotel has an elevator and has luggage carts. They have a very nice lounge with games/books etc and they also have a large offering of DVDs. They have a water dispenser and vending machines offering coffees and sodas. There's a pretty nice restaurant adjacent to the hotel. My only observation this time is that the receptionists were not as friendly as last time which was a pity as this is a really nice hotel. We also had an issue with our bill but it was resolved pretty quickly but we were disappointed that this happened and we had to question it. One other issue is that we were in a room with an adjoining door. The first few nights we were not aware of any noise but our last night in the hotel was a problem. In the early evening, our neighbour played some rather loud music but it did abate around 10p.m. But then we were rather upset to be awakened at 5:30a.m. by our neighbour's alarm clock and subsequent TV/Radio noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeLuv2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    230
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
360
769
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I was nervous about traveling with my 3 month old baby (and perhaps disturbing other people) but we had a great time and we couldn't hear anything from any other room (so I believe we didn't bother anyone).

We chose to spend the extra money to get the King superior room with a fireplace and it was worth every cent!!! The room as clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff was also very nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

It was an absolutely delightful stay at the hotel. There was a large group of students staying there but I never heard them from my 2nd floor room. I love the fireplace in the lounge (which is much like a comfortable living room complete with TV and board games), and I especially loved the complimentary movie/DVD selection and popcorn. It really made it feel cozy! Definitely a fun perk when it's 0 degrees outside on a slow Sunday night.

I also very much appreciated the accommodations and service with regard to my late arrival and taking my room request into consideration (I'd asked for one of the renovated rooms, and something quiet...not sure if they've all been renovated or not at this point, but my room was lovely!). Basic rooms are modest in size; larger than typical European rooms but a bit smaller than traditional U.S. rooms. They're plenty big as far as I'm concerned though - an armoire to hang clothes and three good-sized drawers, a desk, and a separate luggage rack if you just want to live out of the suitcase. A mat at the door can let your snow boots dry out, keeping you from dripping water all over the room - a thoughtful touch. A mini-fridge kept my leftover orange juice from the breakfast basket cold. No tub, but nice shower with good water pressure and consistent hot water. The bed was very comfortable; sheets were clean and fresh.

Hotel staff was very pleasant, patient, and knowledgeable of some things but weren't as sure about non-tourist cafe and bar suggestions. Do some research before you go. I went during the Winter Carnavale, and they did know about that and also sold the polar bear charm you need to gain access to the park, with no 'convenience fee' surcharge, which was nice! All staff I encountered spoke fluent French and English, and were equally as helpful in both!

Maid/cleaning staff also respected the "Do not disturb" signs...a seemingly obvious note, but I can't tell you how many times I've been in a hotel where they still knock and try to open the door. Although I didn't have a car, I overheard the staff mention there is no charge for parking (at least at this time of year...another thing to check before you go). Internet service is free wi-fi; they'll give you an access code at check-in. I had no problems surfing the web in my room.

Truly, no complaints about anything at all. I got a pretty good deal on the room, and imagine I would still be content if I'd paid more. It's quaint, comfortable, clean, and in the absolute center of Old Quebec - the old part of the city within the wall. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I'd requested a quiet room, and they gave me one that was away from the elevators with a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDuchessofNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in January. The location is great -- within walking distance of everything that is wonderful in Vieux-Québec. The hotel is modern, but in an historic setting. The room was clean and comfortable. I was impressed by the bathroom layout -- so many bathrooms seems haphazardly designed, but this one was very convenient. Having the basket with a continental breakfast on the door every morning at 8AM is superb. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast in your room before heading out for the day. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with information, directions, and suggestions. On top of it all, the hotel uses many green practices and is improving every year. One of the best hotel stays I've had.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corniste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Probably the best hotel ive stayed at. The staff was great and helped with wtv we needed. The room was small however it was clean and very comfortable to stay in. Defintly recommend it if you plan on staying in old quebec.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.5 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,907 reviews
0.6 km away
Auberge Saint-Antoine
Auberge Saint-Antoine
#3 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.4 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#23 of 101 in Quebec City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
Hotel Le Germain Quebec
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux-Quebec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux-Quebec

Property: Hotel du Vieux-Quebec
Address: 1190 rue St. Jean, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 1S6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Quebec City
#2 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
#13 Business Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): $134 - $233
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux-Quebec 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Old Quebec, this historic 45 roomed hotel is surrounded by cobblestone streets and ancient stone buildings housing cafes, restaurants, galleries and boutiques. Over the past few years, much time and care has been spent in renovating Hotel du Vieux-Quebec. Rooftop gardens, breakfast baskets* hung on your door, relaxing lounge with computers, library, games and fireplace all contribute to the renowned charm and character which has earned this hotel such great reviews. Hotel du Vieux-Quebec provides the type of authentic Quebec experience that can only be found in an independent hotel. Adding to its appeal, the hotel is an officially recognized and award winning leader in the environmental movement. Parking is convienently available across the street. All rooms are accessible by an elevator. *Breakfast is included with direct bookings to the hotel only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Vieux-Quebec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux-Quebec Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing