We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Laurier
Ranked #38 of 100 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Booked the room not knowing that QC was having so many different events going on. Great location a short walk to old town and right next to a street that contains a multitude of restaurants and bars. Attached parking garage with in/out privileges when you pay through the hotel is nice when you want to drive somewhere. QC is easily walkable from this hotel. The room itself was located in the new section of the hotel and had to queen size beds in it. We had an interior view from our window onto a courtyard and jacuzzi. The room had all of the standard features: iron/board, safe, mini fridge, flat screen tv, coffee and tea maker along with closet and drawer storage. A built in desk and chair for work along with two sitting chairs by the window. The bathroom had a hairdryer, small toiletries, and dispensers for shampoo, body soda, conditioner and lotion. The front desk check in/out was efficient but the maid service was lacking. Trash not emptied, towels/wash clothes and bath mat not replenished fully or at all. St. Hubert restaurant on site but literally a plethora of places within 2-5 minute walk. Alhambra park is just behind the hotel and a nice museum under going renovation at this writing is just adjacent to the hotel. One last point to note is that the main hotel entrance is off a side street and not on the main thoroughfare. Your map app may show it differently but there's no parking on the main road.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Bonjour pdxballard,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review of the hotel. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay. We have shared your comments with the operation team, to improve on our service. We hope you will visit again. JCaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,563 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Good location but extremely outdated and old .... VERY VERY basic ... very old and over priced ... it should be an 2 or 3 star hotel not a 4 at all..., bed not comfortable ... bathroom is extremely old and even though the place looks clean, due to the old style you don't wanna even pee there!!!!
Will never return even if it's free!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Bonjour Ali B,
Thank you for your review. Very sorry we did not meet your expectation, we strive to provide every visitors with a satisfying experience. We feature many room types the Ultra room is very modern. The contemporaine room is large and stylish. Thank you. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

A good hotel for my mum in a wheelchair rooms easy to access by a lift!!Clean and tidyand fairly quite which is great.I must mention the concierge a credit to the hotel he is a mind of information very impressed with all his suggestions for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jerseyjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Bonjour jerseyjeanette,
Thank you for your review very happy to read you enjoyed your visit. We hope you will come back. JCaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Room very nice. Hotel management offered apology and small gift because the rooms were not ready for the tour group ala carte breakfast should be offered along with the buffet. In other words, offer a choice.

Room Tip: N/a I have nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank willjo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

bonjour willjo2017,
Thank you for sharing you opinion of your visit at the hotel. Sorry it was not optimal, it is our goal to provide each visitor with a perfect experience. Hope you visit Québec City again. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

As others have mentioned, one of the best things about this hotel is its excellent location, 10 minutes walk to the Old City, 5 minutes to the Plains of Abraham, right on the Grand Allee, with many restaurants, cafes and bistros within easy walking distance. Valet parking, friendly, helpful concierge, small lobby, many corridors and wings. We were in a quiet room with two queen beds on the 5th floor, no noise at all. There is a small restaurant serving a breakfast buffet which we found on the second day, nobody told us about it at reception. Very reasonable for CAD15 per person. Take the Hop On Hop Off bus just down the street, for a good tour of all the sights. Hotel has a swimming pool and gym, which we didn't use. Bedroom needed some updating, lumpy brown duvets and stained carpet, shampoo and shower gel in pumps, dark furniture. Coffee and tea in the room, we had room service breakfast first morning and had to remind them to come. Overall a fairly good four star value, in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Bonjour LimeyLady,
Thank you for a detailed review of your visit, we appreciate finding out your point of view, it helps improve our service. We look forward to your next visit. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
Hotel Le Concorde Quebec
#53 of 100 in Quebec City
2,161 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Quebec
Hilton Quebec
#35 of 100 in Quebec City
2,855 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel PUR, Quebec, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#25 of 100 in Quebec City
1,032 reviews
1 km away
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac
#18 of 100 in Quebec City
4,864 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 100 in Quebec City
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Laurier

Address: 1220, Place Georges V Ouest, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 5B8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Quebec City
#18 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#29 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#37 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price Range: $131 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chateau Laurier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chateau Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Laurier Hotel
Chateau Laurier Quebec City
Hotel Chateau Laurier Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing