We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveller rating
665
611
277
97
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
665
611
277
97
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsst hubertplains of abrahamold cityconvenience storeexercise roomwinter carnivalhot tubrestaurants and barsminute walkmusic festivalexcellent locationwithin walking distancewine bartwo queen bedsindoor poolwalled cityvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

As others have mentioned, one of the best things about this hotel is its excellent location, 10 minutes walk to the Old City, 5 minutes to the Plains of Abraham, right on the Grand Allee, with many restaurants, cafes and bistros within easy walking distance. Valet parking, friendly, helpful concierge, small lobby, many corridors and wings. We were in a quiet room with two queen beds on the 5th floor, no noise at all. There is a small restaurant serving a breakfast buffet which we found on the second day, nobody told us about it at reception. Very reasonable for CAD15 per person. Take the Hop On Hop Off bus just down the street, for a good tour of all the sights. Hotel has a swimming pool and gym, which we didn't use. Bedroom needed some updating, lumpy brown duvets and stained carpet, shampoo and shower gel in pumps, dark furniture. Coffee and tea in the room, we had room service breakfast first morning and had to remind them to come. Overall a fairly good four star value, in a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LimeyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Bonjour LimeyLady,
Thank you for a detailed review of your visit, we appreciate finding out your point of view, it helps improve our service. We look forward to your next visit. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We spent one night in this charming hotel, very conveniently situated, about a 10' walk to the walls of old Quebec. There is underground parking which is convenient, however, there were problems with the pass causing quite the backup on our day of departure. The room was comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the pool, sauna and fitness room. There are two jacuzzis outside, which are reached by going up the stairs from the pool area. The front desk provides a little map because there are many sections to the hotel which can be confusing...or perhaps part of the adventure. The receptionists at the front desk were very polite, helpful and bilingual. Since there were no fridges in the rooms (although available at $15 per day), they stored a small item for us in their fridge. The little soaps from 'Chevre-Feuille' were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Bonjour Daisy970,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Our package included valet parking and "full" breakfast. It was quite expensive, but one of the few hotels close to the Old City that offered parking for our large vehicle. Room was modern, comfortable queen beds. We selected room overlooking courtyard because 2 sides have construction views / noise, rooms facing Grand Allee are less updated and smaller. Breakfast wasn't spectacular, but by arriving early we were able to find quite a bit to eat (scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, potatoes, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, bagel, and croissant or danish. NOISE PROBLEM: our second night there were very loud parties in rooms on both sides of us. When front desk was informed of problem. it took 45 minutes (until 11:30) for them to do anything about the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Bonjour Chris W,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the hotel. We are certain that it will help other readers make an informed decision about where to stay. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. Jcaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

The best thing about the hotel is it's location, a walkable distance to the "must-sees" of Quebec. The hotel is near the Citadel and a half a mile to the old section. The kids loved the pool, despite being 3 feet deep, and hot tub breaks. The room was smaller than expected and on the Plains of Abraham side, the construction was noisy around 6:30 AM. Overall, it has parking onsite, was easy to find, and to reach the main highway heading towards Montmorency Falls. We were happy with our stay and would come again.

Room Tip: Stay in the opposite side of the construction
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chezparadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Bonjour chezparadis,
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit. JCaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Quiet and great location and that's about it.
Terrible bed, extremely small room.
At almost 300/night this hotel should have offered a lot better conditions but because of the location it is in high demand. We will never return that is for sure!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank CarmenG2765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C, Responsable commercial at Hotel Chateau Laurier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Bonjour Carmen G,
We understand that this client will not be coming back to our facilities based on his last experience. We are sorry that our accommodations did not meet his / her expectations, especially since we take great pride in our hotel and services. We feature many room types several with large dimension. Rates vary according to occupancy, starting from $ 174 in summer and $ 129 in winter. JCaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews