We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in Quebec City”
Review of Hotel Clarendon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Clarendon
Ranked #38 of 101 Hotels in Quebec City
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4 days in Quebec City”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Quebec and is close to several interesting destinations. Notre Dame Basilica, St. Andrew's and the Morrin Center to name a few. You can walk to the old quarter on the lower level and there are many restaurants and shops in the area. The hotel rooms were small, but clean and cozy. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job and the jazz duo on Thursday night was outstanding. The wait staff allowed the patrons to relax and enjoy the music without interruption. Take advantage of the early bird, fixed priced menus at two restaurants that are within walking distance. Aux Anciens Canadiens and Cafe de la Paix were both excellent and the food was delicious. Great four day get away location. It did get very cold during our stay, but the holiday decorations, light snow, horse drawn buggies and carolers were almost magical.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fswoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your comments and all of our staff is glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass on your comments to the staff. In fact you can't find a better location in old Québec and the hotel does have a charm of it's own.
Management and staff hope to have the pleasure in making your next trip to Québec a pleasurable one.

Regard,
Joannie Marcoux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    600
    222
    84
    42
See reviews for
339
647
64
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed on a business trip, love the lobby, the bar is nice and had some live music playing. The rooms are small and not up to date but for the price are clean and comfortable. Would recomend, And you can't beat the location!

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor if your looing for quiet but likely will not get Wireless internet. 2nd floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We spent three nights on the first floor, right above the restaurant and right across from the elevator. Tuesday night, music thumping all night long (from the bar?). Wednesday night, floor leaking water from upstairs into our bathroom. Thursday night, an incredibly loud and long (7pm to about 2am) party, complete with DJ, held by the Caisse populaire Desjardins group, about 20 feet from our door. If the first floor is corporate and banquet rooms, why would they put visitors there? We had to leave Friday morning at 5am to catch a 6:30am flight, so at some point we just gave up trying to sleep at all.

Room Tip: We can only assume the upper floors did not host office parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was our 7 visit to Quebec and first stay at the Clarendon. We have stayed at the Frontenac and B&B's and found this to be one of the best stays. The hotel is welcoming, the staff very friendly, efficient and willing to speak English. Also the front desk is open all night. The room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed, however the TV picture was very fuzzy. One reason we choose the Clarendon was the in-hotel jazz bar, best in Quebec. A big plus, if you're driving, is an underground public parking garage across the street, extremely convienent and only $37 for three days parking. Its location in the center of Old Quebec is ideal for sightseeing. One other plus, I left clothing in the room when I left and they sent it to me back in the states.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retjef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrClarendon, Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 2 December 2011
December 2, 2011

Bonjour!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay at Hotel Clarendon in Quebec City’s historical district. We are delighted to know that we have reached your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next move to Quebec!

Marie-Claude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is excellent for location and price alone! It is within walking distance of everything the old town has to offer. The price we paid was very reasonable, especially considered where it is located. The view from our room was amazing, we could see out over the city and the St. Lawrence. Parking was not included (as with most hotels right in the city) but the municipal parking lot is right in front of the hotel and can be accessed from stairs in the hotel lobby. Our only complaint was a very strong smell in the hallway. It was chemical in nature, might have been from new carpet or something like that.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MgrClarendon, General Manager at Hotel Clarendon, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Mrs Y.,

Thank you for having taken the time to inform us of your observations during your stay at the Clarendon Hotel, in December 2010. As the General Manager I make a point of expressing that myself and my team really have at heart the total satisfaction of our guests.

I am sincerely sorry to know that your expectations were not satisfied during your stay. Be assured Mrs. Y. that we take very seriously the comments we collect through our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by that smell and that the Clarendon Hotel will remain one of your preferred destinations.

Please accept Mrs. Y. my best greetings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quebec City hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Manoir Victoria
Hotel Manoir Victoria
#21 of 101 in Quebec City
1,300 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Champlain Hotel
Le Champlain Hotel
#15 of 101 in Quebec City
1,928 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
Hotel Chateau Bellevue
#28 of 101 in Quebec City
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
Le Manoir d'Auteuil
#2 of 101 in Quebec City
1,144 reviews
0.1 km away
Auberge Place D'Armes
Auberge Place D'Armes
#9 of 101 in Quebec City
1,480 reviews
0.3 km away
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
Chateau Fleur de Lys - L'HOTEL
#7 of 101 in Quebec City
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarendon

Property: Hotel Clarendon
Address: 57 Rue Ste-Anne, Quebec City, Quebec G1R 3X4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Quebec City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Quebec City
#36 Family Hotel in Quebec City
#44 Romantic Hotel in Quebec City
Price range (per night): $130 - $377
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Clarendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Clarendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Quebec City
Clarendon Quebec City
Hotel Clarendon Quebec/Quebec City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing