We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Le Grain De Sel - CLOSED

Restaurant Le Grain De Sel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had dinner here on a Friday night, making our choice as others did by the consistent high ranking on TripAdvisor.

This was our last night in Canada on a week-long trip, and we consider ourselves fortunate to have saved this for last - it was a memorable dinner.

While waiting for the appetizers to come out, the chef sent out an amuse bouche, which were small fried fish balls on skewers with a spicy sauce - they were delicious, as well as the array of specialty condiments to go with the very good bread.

We started with the black pudding appetizer ($9) and the Wild Boar mini-burgers ($11). The pudding was amazing, neither of us had tried this before so the dish was unfamiliar to us - but very good, the flavors were a great combination, and very rich. The Wild Boar burgers were also fantastic - amazing flavor and very tender.

For dinner my wife had the Wild Mushroom Ravioli ($17) and I had the Smoked Organic Pork Shoulder ($22). The Ravioli was truly amazing - the mushroom flavor was powerful, one of the most flavorful dishes I have ever had. The Pork Shoulder was also delicious. The chef came out to check in with us, and answered a few questions about the dishes - he was great, obviously very committed to his restaurant and to his food.

Overall this was one one of the best dining experiences we have ever had, well worth the visit if you are in Montreal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich_in_Richmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    37
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Agréables retrouvailles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I ate at this place some 20 years ago and decided to come back upon a family member's recommandation.
The decor has changed, the menu and also the team, but it was a pleasant moment, we had a good meal, serviced by a very charming and warm team.
I recommend the beef tartar and the lemon mousse for desert.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank uphnguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We took the metro here based on the reviews we read - definitely lived up to the expectations. It was the best meal I have had in memory. The chef was gracious enough to translate the menu for us (only in French). The wild boar mini-burgers were SO GOOD!! They melt in your mouth!!! And, the chicken wrapped in bacon was succulent and delicious. The selection of sauces they brought with the bread were a perfect way to start the meal. Can't wait to come back and eat here again and try other items on the menu!! The waiter couldn't have been friendlier! Great experience overall!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome culinary experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is probably one of the best restaurants I've been to in my life. Everything about it was great. Since all the positive has been described in other comments, I can only add that everything is true, and that it's truely deserving of its first spot in Montreal restaurants.

Good job!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RedDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our group of four decided to visit after I read the many reviews on Trip Advisor. It was definitely worth the trip! It is in a quiet neighborhood so it is likely you will have to take a cab. Our waiter was fantastic! You could tell he really cared about the food. Everything we ate was delicious. The wine list was extensive and very good.

I highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CharAva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Le Grain De Sel also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing