We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Belmont, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and daughter and I, along with another family, all went to Montreal together from February 18 to February 22, 2012. We all stayed at the Embassy Suites. What a great hotel! From the effortless check-in, the free parking and the warm greetings by every staff person we met, to the beautifully appointed suites each of the two families had, the Embassy Suites was a perfect place to stay while visiting Montreal. The suites are large and decorated with beautiful wood accents and wonderful paintings; our suite had a gas fireplace (which was a surprise to us) which provided just the right extra warmth after a day exploring Montreal in the cold weather. Our suite actually felt very homey. The beds were superb, and the fold-out couch was also very comfortable. The internet access was flawless, much to my daughter's delight. Not to be repetitive, but the staff were all terrific, warm, friendly, knowledgeable and professional with nearly all being being bilingual and fully able to accomodate us both in English and in our (unfortunately) poor French. The location of the Embassy Suites is incredible; a couple blocks from Notre Dame Cathedral and the Old City, a couple blocks from Chinatown, and just a ten minute walk to the sites of "Montreal En Lumiere", the Winter Festival. There is a Manager's Reception every evening with two drinks per person free, and a full breakfast with a great buffet menu every day. The lobby and restaurant area are beautiful and spacious, the furnishings are stylish, and the clientele is a pleasant combination of business travelers, and tourist couples and families. Fantastic place! We had no problems and a wonderful time. I can't imagine going to Montreal and staying anywhere else. I heartily recommend the Embassy Suites to anyone who wants a truly comfortable place from which to explore a truly interesting world-class city.

Room Tip: We asked if our two families could have rooms at least on the same floor if possible and they gave u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlleghenyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    652
    188
    67
    49
See reviews for
532
619
82
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
390 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,612 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Good, very well located hotel near old Montreal that seems to be suffering from a dual personality disorder. In our case during late December 2011, the staff meant well, but it totally blew our reservation. We had first requested a queen suite and roll-away for our family of four, but when I called back with an unrelated question, I was informed that “good thing I called because the room isn’t permitted to have roll-away beds.” (I guess it didn’t occur to anyone to call me via the phone number in my reservation.) The desk agent offered to put aside one of the special two-room suites in which a roll-away was permitted, but when we arrived late at night after a nine hour trek through a Vermont snowstorm, that agent wasn’t there, our special room wasn’t put aside after all, and nothing in the record indicated it would be. So we were put in a king suite with permission for the roll-away for one night, and the room was extremely cramped. There was plenty of clunky furniture that we needed to pile up just to walk around – as if the room was designed for a single business executive instead of a family. Plus, half the “suite” was occupied by a kitchen that was virtually unusable; there were no dishes or cooking utensils, and the dishwasher was locked shut – all apparently available upon request for executives on extended stays. In fact, we actually considered putting the bed in the kitchen but the refrigerator noise was an issue.

The next day, I presented my case to the manager, and Simon took care of us by upgrading us to a more suitable room. This was handled very well, and we were most appreciative. The hotel does offer a very generous made-to-order breakfast, but here too it felt as if they had forgotten their main clientele. The serving period ended very early (9 or 9:30), and with so many families on vacation hoping to sleep late, the result was complete bottleneck to get into the restaurant, find a seat, and grab a seat before time expired. One of the waiters explained that the congestion was due to the vacation rush, and we noticed everyone chipping in to address demand. Yet we were surprised that nobody had the business and hospitality sense to extend the serving hours (or to back end them, such as to start an hour later than usual) to even out the flow. On a more positive note, the hotel offered free drinks in the evening for a social gathering. It was great fun to bring the teens back to the hotel for one free drink on the house before dinner.

One additional point that doesn’t seem to show in descriptions (and even the locals didn’t advise us as much) was the hotel’s proximity to the underground. With temperatures in the single digits, it was wonderful to merely walk across the street to get to an entrance to the long and winding pathway to the shops and entertainment.

All in all, the hotel was very nice, but I think it needs to make some decisions about whom it’s ultimately targeting. In general, I’m not a fan of suites that divide open floor plan in an attempt to create private quarters. Unless careful attention is paid to usable space and not just floor space, things often just get more cluttered.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel was great. just a few blocks from Notre Dame and Old town Montreal by foot. they were very accommodating with my dog which i highly appreciate. The breakfast every morning is great - it definitely saves you money eating out. Also, the free drinks during Manager's Happy Hour is good, but you have to get there fairly early if you want to get a seat... the patrons definitely take full advantage of this offer :) so it can get pretty crowded. All in all, a great stay. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug6277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, On
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel from Feb. 18 - Feb. 20, 2012. The check in process was a breeze. The suite that we got is gorgeous. It's like a 1 bedroom condo. The jacuzzi was the star of the room. Very large and powerful. The king size bed is comfortable. There is free breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby but it was very crowded. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elewisOttawa_On
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the Embassy Suites.great location. Large rooms even if some of the furniture was nicked and worn. Nice bathroom and wonderfull beds, especially after the long drive.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarynpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Quartier International
Le Westin Montreal
Le Westin Montreal
#31 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#21 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#37 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
SpringHill Suites Old Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Address: 208 Saint Antoine Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): $178 - $415
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites is Montréal's newest downtown "Suite" hotel. With a contemporary style, our uniqueness extends to our "Zen" inspired lobby décor featuring wood paneling and ceilings, black granite floors, and an indoor water display. Offering so much more than ordinary rooms, our 455 square-foot studios and 600 square-foot suites are well equipped; many with full kitchens, fireplaces, and "double" Jacuzzis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hilton Hotels, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing