We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap spicy delicious”
Review of Cuisine Szechuan

Cuisine Szechuan
Ranked #1,091 of 6,459 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: USD 5 - USD 12
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to go for a quick filling meal. Don't miss the string beans with por and chilies or the cumin tofu - cumin lamb is good too but don't expect choice cuts of meat.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Tasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017

Unassuming decor. Totally. Sure doesn't look like much from the outside, but it doesn't look like much on the inside, either. Reminiscent of every day Kowloon, which certainly has its fair share of Szechuan style restaurants. So very glad we happened upon Cuisine Szechuan. (Our first choice for dinner, a fancier place around the corner was closed because of a natural gas emergency. Boy, a stroke of luck for us!) I could swoon over the green beans, which we ordered sans porc; no problem because Cuisine Szechuan is used to dealing with the local, non-red-meat-eating students. Crisp, garlicky, with a hint of smoke (possibly emanating from the copious, and I mean copious, chilis which I assiduously avoided). A new high standard set for green beans! I love, love, love properly prepared green beans. Onto other menu items. Surely General Tao himself must've compiled many volumes of chicken recipes, because it might just be that there are no two Chinese restaurants anywhere in the world that serve the same recipe for what they all purport to be “General Tao chicken”. Note: there are almost as many spellings of his name ~ did he really exist ~ as there are recipes. Some offerings are good and some border on dreadful! (Surely you’ve had that stringy stuff! Or the bits of gristle surrounded by a coating of chicken flesh?) All in the name of poor General Tao. Regardless of the source of the recipe served up in his name at Cuisine Szechuan, it was superbe! We found the quality of the chicken in the General Tao far superior to that we’d tried anywhere else on our extensive travels: All chicken. All tender. All moist. Not one hint of gristle/cartilage. No annoying breading. All chicken. No kidding. Savoury/sweetich sauce just a tad heavy on the tomato-y sauce side, but absolument délice, nonetheless! The chili pepper infusion not the slightest bit annoying. Just remember not to eat the red bits, if you are hot'n'spicy-averse. Even the green tea is tasty. The restaurant defies the descriptor “fancy”, but it is clean. The downstairs toilet, too, is clean; smells fresh. As the restaurant itself is below street level and is down a flight of stairs, this is not suitable for those with mobility issues. Parking? This is downtown Montréal.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We found this place serendipitously on our first night in Montreal and were glad we took a chance on it. Doesn't look like much on the outside, and the inside is not that fancy either, but we found friendly, helpful service and great food. We ordered the deep fried chicken, which was wildly spicy and crispy and delicious. We also had a dish with tofu, crab and yolk of duck's egg - unusual but a perfect accompaniment to the hot chicken.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

I have eaten here twice in the last 3 weeks. Both times food was very good. The general tao is as good as any restaurant. So are the Dumplings in peanut sauce. The dish that surprised me the most is the deep fried chicken with cumin. This is a chicken chopped up that is very spicy with pita bits that were also good. Do not expect typical deep fried chicken as it is more oven roasted in a delicious spicy coating. Beware of the red peppers throughout. I will definitely order this in the future. This restaurant is right downtown on Guy street just south of Sherbrooke. Decor is nothing special but it is usually busy with asian families which is always a good sign.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dang9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Went in, but ordered to take out. Small, basement type restaurant. Many Chinese family's were present, which we have been told is always a good sign. Had the chicken with cumin seeds, twice cooked fish and eggplant. Everything was delicious and very spicy like we love it. We will go back.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoDA01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cuisine Szechuan also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Cuisine Szechuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing