We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

While the hotel is situated a short bus ride from the main city, the location is perfect for those who want to be close enough to the action, but in an area not mob'd but students and tourists.

'Rue Mason' street is a stones throw from the B&B with a great selection of bars and restaurants, Magre being our pick of the bunch. It is also convenient if driving to and from Trudeau airport - taking only 30min to arrive - although like any road in North America - timing is everything (and speed limits!).

The accommodation was perfect - one of the best B&B's we have had the pleasure to stay. If you like cute little dogs, Monsieur Petite will greet you each morning with an expectant wag of his tail, hoping that one morning he will get fed a sausage from the breakfast table! Bed and bathroom were extremely comfortable and the rooms were larger than they appear on their website.

The only regret we had is that we didn't leave more time to enjoy the company of our hosts Petra and Daniel who were great in providing information on how to get around Montreal and some of the best places to visit.

It will be our first choice when we next return. Thankyou Montreal - and thank you Petra and Daniel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AusUsCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
203
20
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My 18 year old daughter, 16 year old son and I are fresh off a visit to this b and b. Our 5 day stay at A la Carte was a wonderful experience. Petra is a wealth of information on all things to see and do in Montreal. She happily and efficiently provides maps, metro info, brochures, and business cards upon arrival. We learned more in our fifteen minute sit down with her than we did browsing through the tourism guidebooks. Daniel delights in his variety of breakfast options. Crepes, scrambled eggs, pancakes, French toast, sausages and bacon? Mais bien sur! He is also very willing to work with dietary restrictions. Coffee is delicious aussi.
The three of us shared one room and would happily do it again. For families preferring more privacy there is always the two bedroom option upstairs. Either way - we'd be more than happy.
After very busy days exploring Montreal we would return home to find a bowl full of snacks and a video to watch that night in the salon across the hall. Their dvd collection boasts 300 titles that are carefully catalogued in a book for guests to browse.
The perfect hosts, they are available for questions and chit chat but do not hover. We loved the cleanliness, fluffy towels and warm decor.
This review would not be complete without a mention of their very special ami: Monsieur Petit, the (almost) 6 year old miniature poodle. Such a gem. Smart, cuddly, ever alert for passing dogs, he's always eager for a hug or a pat. A huge bacon fan, he'll torment you with those expressive eyes...
Visiting Montreal? I would highly encourage you to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann arbor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We loved our stay in montreal in large part because of the wonderful hospitality shown to us by daniel and petra. we loved staying in the b&b: great breakfast and great company. would highly highly recommend staying here if you get a chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mother nature room -- it has a jacuzzi in it, which was fun :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend and I felt right at home at the A La Carte B&B. Petra and Daniel were wonderful hosts and their home is so cozy and well decorated. Monsieur Petit will bark if you are a stranger in his home but he will warm up to you immediately after a proper introduction and some sniffing. Petra is very good at explaining directions and Daniel is a wonderful cook. This was the only B&B I've been to where they will cook you a hot meal every morning.

The rooms were so clean and equipped with an amazingly comfortable bed. We stayed in the Dame Nature room which came with a bathtub doubling as a jacuzzi. Although we did not make use of the jacuzzi, I took so many baths in the bath tub because it was so relaxing.

There are only two rooms and an apartment upstairs to reserve so you may have some trouble booking in the summer. Otherwise, I would highly recommend staying here to anyone. This is the only place I've ever been to where I am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euphoricspiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Words can't describe the hospitality of Petra and Daniel. They are a fabulous couple and they make you feel like you are staying with family! My husband and I felt so comfortable staying at the A la Carte. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a memorable stay in Montreal. And their puppy, Monsieur Petit, was the sweetest little guy! I wanted to stuff him in my suitcase and bring him home with me!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeandsheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Epik Hotel Montreal
Epik Hotel Montreal
#3 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge de la Place Royale
Auberge de la Place Royale
#4 of 144 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Carte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Carte Bed & Breakfast

Property: A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5477 10th Ave., Montreal, Quebec H1Y 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price range (per night): $99 - $248
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one-of-a-kind, award-winning Bed and Breakfast with style! An elegant, urban B&B accommodation in a quiet residential neighbourhood with convenient bus and subway connections to downtown Montréal and all tourist attractions. Offering two designer rooms and an apartment - luxurious, spacious and air conditioned; cozy fireplaces, Jacuzzi, patio, BBQ ... delicious breakfasts and charming services beyond cordial hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing