We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
USD 219*
USD 212*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bonaparte(Montreal)
USD 264*
USD 249*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 119*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 252*
USD 243*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 249*
USD 241*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 156*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ambrose(Montreal)(Great Value!)
USD 146*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 210*
USD 202*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Crystal(Montreal)
USD 221*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 232*
USD 224*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
386
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonsieur petitminiature poodlewonderful hostsb bcrepeshome away from hometransit systemoff street parkingbus and metrohelped us planevery morningvisit montrealdvd playera wonderful staycommon areasjazz festivalyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My 18 year old daughter, 16 year old son and I are fresh off a visit to this b and b. Our 5 day stay at A la Carte was a wonderful experience. Petra is a wealth of information on all things to see and do in Montreal. She happily and efficiently provides maps, metro info, brochures, and business cards upon arrival. We learned more in our fifteen minute sit down with her than we did browsing through the tourism guidebooks. Daniel delights in his variety of breakfast options. Crepes, scrambled eggs, pancakes, French toast, sausages and bacon? Mais bien sur! He is also very willing to work with dietary restrictions. Coffee is delicious aussi.
The three of us shared one room and would happily do it again. For families preferring more privacy there is always the two bedroom option upstairs. Either way - we'd be more than happy.
After very busy days exploring Montreal we would return home to find a bowl full of snacks and a video to watch that night in the salon across the hall. Their dvd collection boasts 300 titles that are carefully catalogued in a book for guests to browse.
The perfect hosts, they are available for questions and chit chat but do not hover. We loved the cleanliness, fluffy towels and warm decor.
This review would not be complete without a mention of their very special ami: Monsieur Petit, the (almost) 6 year old miniature poodle. Such a gem. Smart, cuddly, ever alert for passing dogs, he's always eager for a hug or a pat. A huge bacon fan, he'll torment you with those expressive eyes...
Visiting Montreal? I would highly encourage you to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We loved our stay in montreal in large part because of the wonderful hospitality shown to us by daniel and petra. we loved staying in the b&b: great breakfast and great company. would highly highly recommend staying here if you get a chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the mother nature room -- it has a jacuzzi in it, which was fun :)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend and I felt right at home at the A La Carte B&B. Petra and Daniel were wonderful hosts and their home is so cozy and well decorated. Monsieur Petit will bark if you are a stranger in his home but he will warm up to you immediately after a proper introduction and some sniffing. Petra is very good at explaining directions and Daniel is a wonderful cook. This was the only B&B I've been to where they will cook you a hot meal every morning.

The rooms were so clean and equipped with an amazingly comfortable bed. We stayed in the Dame Nature room which came with a bathtub doubling as a jacuzzi. Although we did not make use of the jacuzzi, I took so many baths in the bath tub because it was so relaxing.

There are only two rooms and an apartment upstairs to reserve so you may have some trouble booking in the summer. Otherwise, I would highly recommend staying here to anyone. This is the only place I've ever been to where I am looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Words can't describe the hospitality of Petra and Daniel. They are a fabulous couple and they make you feel like you are staying with family! My husband and I felt so comfortable staying at the A la Carte. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have a memorable stay in Montreal. And their puppy, Monsieur Petit, was the sweetest little guy! I wanted to stuff him in my suitcase and bring him home with me!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeandsheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I made A la Carte B & B my choice for a few days in Montreal after reading rave reviews and I was not disappointed. It definitely deserves the #1 rating. Petra and Daniel will treat you to delicious breakfasts, wonderful conversations, and great ideas of how to enjoy and get to know Montreal.

The location is fantastic - a nice residential area with grocery and restaurants around the corner and very easy access to explore Montreal via bus and metro. The accommodations were very clean and well cared for and the attention to detail was outstanding. Great salon with fireplace made the space very cozy. Room had a very comfortable bed, large jacuzzi (nice at the end of the day!), flat screen TV, DVD player and excellent wifi access.

This review could not be written without mentioning Monsieur Petit! Very sweet little companion who always had a warm welcome for me in the morning when I got up and at the end of the day when I returned. He was a pleasure to be around!

A la Carte B & B is a simply wonderful place with hosts who take a genuine interest in their guests. It is a Montreal must!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews