We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
50
28
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
28
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towncroissantshistoric montrealcontinental breakfastperfect locationfresh fruitrue st paulbreakfast was excellentrooms are smallother guestsno elevatortop floorclaudehostsluggageblockcurtains
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The location is excellent, no question. It's a small Inn back off the main street. Clean rooms comfortable beds.

Problem is the rooms a very small and awkward to move around in. The walls between the rooms were VERY thin and we could hear the entire conversations of the people beside us (starting at 5 am when they got up) including sneezing, walking down the hallways, doors slamming. The floors are concrete which might add to the noise travel between floors and rooms, no curtains only blinds, so nothing to absorb sound.

Although the food at breakfast was decent - a continental breakfast of sorts (fresh bread, ham slices, etc), there was usually very little of it. Literally 2 pieces of bread and 2 pieces of ham sort of thing. The owner would come by and add a few pieces at a time, perhaps to conserve it or for freshness, not sure.

There is a dog on the premise, if you are allergic, just to be aware. And the owner smokes just outside of the breakfast area and usually while you are enjoying your breakfast, though you can't smell it thankfully.

And as previously mentioned in another review, there were a bunch of old newspapers and magazines piled up in what might have been the common area but I think was the owners living space instead. It would have been better to have a curtain or something to hide the piles of sheets and towels and stuff as it looked quite messy. There was an issue about other guests having to pay to replace towels they had soiled (at $40 each) which we thought was outrageous and I had never heard of such a thing before anywhere, and the guests were very embarrassed about the whole thing.

I don't think we would return or recommend this property to others. There are many other places to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaRamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

To get to the hotel you walk through a tunnel under a building into a brick courtyard with flowers all over the place. The inn keeper is as charming as the hotel and friendly and helpful (especially love his bird feeding in the mornings). The room (#3) was lovely with a view looking over the courtyard to the front and the rooftop patio to the left. Well appointed, comfortable beds and pillows. This is not the place for a romantic tryst though, walls are paper thin :) Delicious breakfast served the next day - cheeses, breads, cold cuts, etc. Right across the street from the Bonsecours Market and a good Greek restaurant, and only a short walk from China Town and St. Catherines Street as well as other attractions. Very close to the underground station to get you to places further out. It's not a matter of if I will go back, it just a question of when.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank DtheDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We could not have been more grateful for the experience our family had at historic Auberge Bonsecours. The room was large and utterly beautiful, the owner incredibly kind and hospitable, the location unbeatable in the heart of historic Montreal, and the complementary breakfast simply yummy, We highly recommend this delightful auberge for visitors to Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The Auberge Bonsecours is a true haven of tranquility in one of the more busier and crowded parts of Montréal. The title I have chosen for my review is the English translation of the French description of the Inn, "Un havre de tranquillité". It is a very accurate description. It is located right across the street from the famous Bonsecours Market on Rue St. Paul. It is in the heart of Old Montréal near Notre Dame Church, Montréal's elegant City Hall and numerous restaurants and cafés. Old Montréal is where the city was founded 375 years ago and is a bustling and vibrant part of the city full of people and activity alongside the St. Laurence.

In the midst of all this action lies the Auberge Bonsecours. It lies at the back of a lane off of Rue St. Paul. In another era it was a horse stable but has been completely renovated into an Inn. it features a courtyard garden to enjoy your breakfast and a patio. The rooms are small but quaint. There are only seven of them and be warned there is no elevator. You might have to walk up as many as three flights of stairs, as we had to. The breakfasts are continental style featuring croissants, bagels, French bread, deli meat, cheeses, cereal, fruit, milk, orange juice and coffee. The hosts, Claude and Matilda, were a delight. Very accommodating, helpful and friendly. My wife and I enjoyed a great experience during the week we spent in Montréal in Early August.

If you are looking for a little tranquility in a French-style countryside Inn in the middle of one of North America's great cities the Auberge Bonsecours is for you. It provides a perfect starting point as you set out to explore Montréal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We found this B & B on Trip Advisor and choose it because it was located in the heart of Old Montreal. There are only seven rooms and ours was tiny- with a sloped roof that made getting into one of the beds difficult. However, this place was charming and the breakfast buffet was one of the best we had on our 9 day trip through Quebec. The main problem is parking. If you don't have a car, this inn is for you. Otherwise, it is difficult to find any place to put a vehicle, even if you want to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the main floor; otherwise you will have to carry a suitcase up many stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank myraevans1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews