We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #3 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is a very nice hotel at a perfect location. Our room was spacious, clean and tasteful. The staff is very friendly and really there to make you feel comfortable. So definitely a place I would come back to.
If a gym is important to you: choose another hotel, the one in Gault is a laugh. Also the fact that there is no tea or coffee maker in the rooms is weird and sleightly annoying, but again: this is a great hotel with amazing staff!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank OandO-AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 967 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We just returned from a great stay at Hotel Gault. Old Montreal was right out the door, but the hotel was a peaceful oasis from the crowds and the heat of this particular summer weekend. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with recommendations of restaurants and sights and directions as this was our first time in Montreal, and they lent us an IPad during our stay so we could explore our options on the internet. In the lobby, I loved the library area with interesting books and magazines and the photography exhibit. I lliked the modern restoration of this beautiful old building and the minimalist decor which was calming, not cold. The small size of this hotel made the service very personalized.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geesegal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My fiance and I traveled to Montreal for the long Fourth of July weekend and we decided (in advance) to stay at Hotel Gault. Like the city of Montreal itself, Hotel Gault has it's charm and it's (very minor) concerns.

First, the charm.
This is a really cool, austere, and minimalistic boutique hotel. The decor is stark – as you would find in a contemporary museum. The overall size is small, but cozy – everything you usually find spread out in a larger cookie-cutter hotel is all within your sightline when you walk through the front door – the front desk, the bistro, the bar, the lounge, etc. And honestly, that's not a bad thing.
The staff is very attentive. I mean VERY attentive. From the complimentary cold drink when you walk through the door, to the friendly turndown service each night, to the car side assistance when you depart.
The rooms are really modern, comfortable, and cool. If you are expecting the type of room that a more traditional hotel would provide this is not your place. But if you love poured concrete floors, exposed brick walls, and funky wood furniture, this is your place. And for those keeping score at home, the bed was comfy, the shower pressure was ample, the bathroom was spotless, and the TV/stereo/ipod station all worked.

The concerns.
The hotel is a bit tricky to find. The street it's located on didn't show up on my car's built in GPS system (BMW) or on my iPhone, but that doesn't mean you can't find it. Use the cross streets and you'll be fine. As with other reviewers, there is very little parking in front of the hotel. Add to the building construction across the street and it's almost impossible to park BUT we were able to easily grab our bags, walk inside, and have the hotel valet the car for us. No big deal. (construction is not forever, so I wouldn't worry about that either)

Overall:
A great place to stay. A great neighborhood to be located in. And Great service. If we ever find our way back to Montreal, I'm pretty certain this is the place we'll stay. Unless it's sold out.

Room Tip: Room 110 is extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antnee1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your last stay at the Gault!
It is always a pleasure to hear such great comments on the service, location and amenities!
We wish to have the chance to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night - July 06th to July 07th. I stayed in the loft deluxe room. My first issue was with the front desk. We had just finished an 8 hour drive and my boyfriend was waiting in the car while I checked us in. I needed to know where we could park. The women advised that there were only 2 options - valet parking at $36 a day or parking on the street for $3 an hour. So the valet went to meet my boyfriend to park the car. Just an FYI - he found free parking for the night on the street steps away from the front door. When I asked if I could have the key for the room while the vehicle was parked and the bags were brought up, I was told I should really wait. Seriously ?? I was tired and needed a long hot shower after a very long day of driving. Why do I need to stand in the lobby for 15 minutes waiting ?

So we finally get up to the room and I was not impressed at all. The shower was not private. It was a large walk in type shower with glass doors but not in an actual bathroom. So if anyone was using the sink, closet, mini bar, or if room service came at the same time you were in the shower they would see you !! The toilet was in a separate room, however the toilet paper roll was not within reach. Seems silly but it was truly inconvenient. There was also no bath tub.

I then went to make a pot of coffee but could not find the pot. I called and was told they do not provide a coffee pot. I have stayed at many hotels during travel and this was the first time I have stayed at a hotel that did not offer one. So we had to order it. Almost $10 for a small pot that offered 2 small cups of coffee.

We also wanted to watch a movie but we could not find the movie list on the TV. We called downstairs and they informed us they only have DVD's and would bring up a list for us. An hour later we still did not have the list. I went down to get it myself only to find they were all very old movies. Thank god I did not order the movie package for the night.

We also had a blood spot on one of our pillow cases. Seriously unacceptable.

I do have to say I was looking forward to staying at this hotel but was greatly disappointed. I did not find the hotel worth the cost.

Room Tip: Maybe a more expensive room would provde a better set up. I paid $330 a night for the Loft deluxe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Dear guest,
We appreciated that you are taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and we apologies for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay at the Gault. It is our goal to consistently exceed our guest expectations and we are sorry to hear that this was not felt to you during your stay. Each of the concerns you mention in your comment have been shared with appropriate department in order to avoid each details. We are proud to provide each of our client unique experience when staying with us and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction.
Sincerly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I will start by saying that this was my first visit to Montreal, so I can't say that I have first hand experience with any of the comparable properties in the area. After staying at Hotel Gault, however, I will never stay anywhere else (why risk it?).

Location - the hotel is close to basically everything. We spent most of our three days exploring the city on foot, and were within easy walking distance to all of Old Montreal, the Museum of Science, several art museums, the Bell Center, Notre Dame Basilica, and the list goes on. If you care to venture further, the Concierge will explain the bicycle system - which seemed to be extremely user friendly.

Property - my fiance and I LOVED the rooms. From the modern furniture and bathroom, to the poured concrete floors and incredibly comfortable bedding, Hotel Gault has a unique yet luxurious feel. For those who are used to staying at upscale properties (think Four Seasons), the accomodations here are a bit more minimalist...but for those of you who appreciate the beauty and character of exposed brick, this is totally the place for you!

Service - I can not say enough about the fantastic people at Hotel Gault, so I will keep it brief. The staff here will graciously exceed every expectation. Period.

My fiance and I stayed here for three nights, and are already looking forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,242 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,519 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $203 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing