We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Montreal!”
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gault
Ranked #2 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I have been visiting Montreal 2-5 times per year since 1989, and have stayed at many of the hotels downtown. Some years ago I discovered the Gault. Since then I have not considered any other options. The rooms are great and the service is excellent. I spend 150+ night per year in various hotel rooms and know a good one when I get there. The rooms at the Gault has everything I need: An excellent bed, a good workspace and a good shower. The decor and design is very nice and I really feel at home there. The staff are very (but not overly) friendly and help you out with anything you need without hestiaton.

There are few hotels where I think "I look forward to come back" but the Gault is really one of them!

Room Tip: If you need a good working space, you may need to ask for it. I have not had a room without one, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 990 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

Had an amazing time at Gault for my friend's wedding. Thoroughly reccomend the place to anyone going to Montreal. The rooms are stunning...

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ghookwaymorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gault!
We are all looking forward to welcome you back!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a two-day business trip. I liked the modern spacious style of the hotel. The hotel is very clean and quiet and It's location is very convenient. The staff was top notch, they were super friendly, especially the concierge Andre and the barmaid (whose name I can't remember unfortunately) was incredibly warm and friendly; very impressed.

Our schedule was tight and could not spend time in this warm atmosphere but I'd definitely want to stay here again in my next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear guest,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the hotel design during your last stay!
It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your business trip and we truly appreciate your kind comments! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Andre and the staff at Hotel Gault were terrific. They provided great recommendations for what to do and see in Montreal and made the trip that much better.

Room Tip: Note there is no desk for the business traveler. Wide open spaces however and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel is chic, clean, spacious and the service is excellent. I was very impressed with our room. Concierge really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HunterChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear guest,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Gault, especially the room, the service and our concierge André! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,244 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,478 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,526 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $191 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing