We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gault
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Nelligan(Montreal)
USD 284
USD 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 343
USD 322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 214
USD 207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 292
USD 243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 261
USD 252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 254
USD 244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 387
USD 288
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 330
USD 320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 292
USD 275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveller rating
1,157
220
37
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
220
37
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjonathan leclercold montrealheated floorsloft roommodern designquiet streetdvd playerupgraded to a suitebottled waterbeautiful hotellarge windowsbeautiful roomhigh ceilingssmall hotellong weekendvalet parkingnotre dame
Filter
Updating list...
1,054 - 1,059 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My wife, baby, and I stayed at the Hotel Gault this past weekend. We travel frequently and try to book at well-recommended hotels, but despite the positive reviews the Hotel Gault gets here, it is still under-appreciated. From the moment we arrived, Alex/Alejandro attended to us perfectly, offering to heat our baby's milk, suggesting a wine to unwind with, and touring our post-modern room with us. The room was well-appointed and despite having bare walls and a concrete floor, did not feel barren. Au contraire, it felt warm and inviting and we debated pushing off the next step of our trip to stay longer. Top marks. This is up there with other memorable stays at similar properties, like the Hotel & Villa Auersperg in Salzberg.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msginthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Dear guest,
The entire team was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay!
We are looking forward to your next visit in Montréal!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I will keep this review short as there isn't much to say about Hotel Gault other than the staff is superb...every single employee I spoke to was open, accommodating, and interested in making our stay enjoyable. Our loft style room on the third floor had views of Old Montreal and was as romantic as scenes from a Parisian movie. Every detail in the room and the hotel has clearly been thought through. I loved being close to public transit, Bixi bikes (which I highly recomment), and cabs arrive within minutes. The hotel is close to several great dining options, right by the water, right by all these chic little boutiques...oh Montreal. Such a great city.
Everything was excellent. I couldn't recommend a place more so than Hotel Gault. Just perfection!!! And Melissa was so attentive and accommodating. Thanks for making our first trip to Montreal so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanquerochicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your recent stay at the Gault was memorable!

It will be a real pleasure to share your comments with the entire team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Gault and I had to write about our great experience. The hotel itself is beautiful and we were extremely satisfied with our room (#230). It was a deluxe loft with a spacious shower (great water pressure) and a king sized bed. We had more than enough space to place our things and there were nice conveniences like slippers, bathrobes, and water with the nightly turndown service. The room was very clean and we enjoyed the modern decor. Quality of sleep was excellent thanks to the super comfy bed and pillows and the A/C-heat unit was nearly silent. The location of the hotel is terrific - we were 2 blocks from Victoria Square metro station and right in the old port area of town too. Food choices were close by and abundant as well. We ate at this little trendy (& very yummy) cafe down the street called Olive and Gourmando every day. But the best thing by far about the hotel was the fabulous staff who greeted us, made recommendations to local & off the beaten path areas/pubs, and truly went out of their way to make our first stay in Montreal enjoyable. Special commendation to: the concierge, Andre and reception staff: Betina, Jean Christophe (thanks for Dieu du Ciel) and Alejandro (for lending us his personal umbrella). On top of being extremely professional, they each were very personable and had great energy. We will be recommending Hotel Gault to everyone we know traveling to Montreal!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennynDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Gault!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Just finished a long weekend at the Hotel Gault. Most all of the reviews read were fairly accurate. The hotel is minimal on amenities, but provides outstanding service. The only criticism i would have is that I think the rooms would be better suited with carpet rather then the bare concrete. While I think I get the look they wanted, I didn't care for the concrete floors. The hallways were carpeted and I would have kept that throughout the rooms as well.

As far as the service, I couldn't give them more praise. Everyone, and I mean everyone, on the staff were sincerely interested in being as helpful as they could be. The staff made our Montreal stay extremely pleasant with their intimate knowledge and advice on Montreal. I will give extra praise on their exceptional service to Alejandro, Andre, Andra and Elodie.

Montreal is a great city to visit. The Hotel Gault is an initmate boutique hotel located in Vieux Montreal, clean, comfortable and with an amazing staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fattyflubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

wow. great hotel, great location for business and fooling around. Large rooms, with huge windows. Well appointed and on a quiet street. A real find with only 30 rooms. Hopefully you won't have taken the last room when I come to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews