We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here in a Superior King room in mid-March. The room was absolutely one of the cleanest, most spacious, and best furnished hotel rooms we'd ever seen. The rain shower was awesome, and so was the electric fireplace (which gave off a surprising amount of heat). We took advantage of the welcome cocktails and the complimentary Wi-Fi was fast and worked great in the room, which allowed us to avoid expensive data roaming charges. Location was excellent, and the staff was extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way they could. Room service breakfast was served at precisely the requested time, and was delicious. Couldn't recommend this hotel more.

Room Tip: Heard the street noise might be a problem, so we requested a room on a higher floor. Can't say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattH009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,644
    469
    111
    41
    18
See reviews for
325
1,123
88
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Our stay at this hotel was one of the best. The hotel decor is very nice both in the common areas and in the rooms. The location is great for exploring the historic area. The valet parking is amazingly fast and we never had a problem being able to pull right up to the front entrance of the hotel with our car and luggage. The food in the bar was good, and the free welcome cocktail is a nice perk. There are great rooms with outstanding bathrooms. Hotel staff were really nice and helpful. There are good deals available on their website. Our first stay there we booked a jr. suite that was a big size with a fireplace, walk in shower, soaking tub and nice furnishings, and got a great deal through the website. The second stay there we also booked a jr.suite, but this time the room layout was completely different and it was in a different part of the hotel than the first time we stayed there. Although this room was very nice, there were things that made it not as nice or new as the first room we stayed in. BUT, we only had to say "I am not happy with my room" at the front desk and they immediately found us another room without us having to say another word, and were very friendly and helpful. So, as with most boutique hotels, rooms can vary in newness, layout and furnishings, but I am sure there is a great room there for everyone's taste and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felecia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Out of many upscale hotels, we did research and chose this beautiful hotel. I will never stay anywhere else in Montreal. Great location in Old Montreal across from beautiful Notre Dame. Close to tons of dining and shopping; walk to river very easy. Walk to downtown or short cab or metro ride. Clean huge room (jr. suite w/balcony), friendly staff, safe area (whole city felt safe), nice lounge and on site dining options. Concierge (Rene and others) very helpful. Can get U.S. money exchanged at front desk at great rate (better than airports). Great Spa in building. Anyone with anything bad to say about this place is a grumpy traveller. Can't wait to come back in summer!! 1.5-2 hr drive to Mt Tremblant. (If you can fly directly into Montreal, do it. Customs at Toronto will take up most of your layover.) 15 minutes $40 Trudeau airport to hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge, you are going on vacation!! We chose a Jr. Suite w/balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougKristinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed for a week. The location could not have been any better. Can walk to fabulous restaurants and shopping in Vieux Montreal but also close to metro. We had the King Classic......lighting a bit dim in bathroom and temperature control an issue. Continental breakfast just OK but convenient. Staff very accommodating. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb_Cpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at Le Place d'Armes hotel from March 1-4. The rooms were very spacious, modern decor and very clean. The crown molding, fire place and windows that opened to the street were great touches that made the room just a bit more special. The bathroom was quite large by hotel standards - especially the shower.
We didn't really deal with much of the staff but those we did encounter were friendly and smiling. Overall the hotel we pretty quiet and a great stay.
My only negatives would be that for a hotel that nice there was way too much black grime (mould?)in the shower for such a nice hotel. As well the lighting isn't great for trying to apply make up etc.
Overall the hotel we pretty quiet and a great stay. I would certainly stay again and perhaps love to get a room that had the bathtub which I was hoping for.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,095 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,668 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites

Property: Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Address: 55 Saint-Jacques W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1K9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#12 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): $294 - $801
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Place d'Armes features 80 rooms and 53 suites, including six studios with private terrace and five large penthouses where the decor blends contemporary design with ancient architecture. The three historic buildings housing Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites all date back to the late 19th century. These regal structures were originally home to some of the pre-eminent businesses of the time, and their architecture recalls an era devoted to unmatched craftsmanship and detail. Hotel Features: - 6 meeting rooms and a modular ballroom that can accommodate up to 350 people, with natural light, stone or brick walls and equipped with comfortable furniture - 2 restaurants and a spa - Rooftop Terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Place d`Armes Hotel And Suites
Le Place d`Armes Hotel Montreal
Le Place d Armes Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing