We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel that unfortunately leaves guests feeling overcharged”
Review of Hotel Le St-James

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le St-James
Ranked #39 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Hotel Le St-James is a beautiful hotel situated in an ideal location
in the old part of town. The staff is caring and the concierge
excellent. While our four-night stay would have left a most
pleasurable memory, we encountered several recurring problems in the
hotel's dining room, XO Restaurant. Continental Breakfast was
included in our room rate, and regardless of whether or not a
Continental Breakfast was ordered, we were assured at check-in a
credit of its value to be applied to the check. Strangely, however,
we were billed for the Continental Breakfast, in addition, to juice,
tea and cereal, even though we did not order the Continental
Breakfast. Our breakfast, therefore, wound up being a cost. Another
couple who sat next to us encountered the same problem. Despite
having raised the issue with the general manager and the front desk,
the problem reoccurred each morning. It baffles us why Hotel Le
St-James would want to bill in this manner and leave guests with a
feeling of being overcharged when Hotel Le St-James could offer guests
a truly memorable experience and encourage repeat visits. If visiting
Montreal, I recommend choosing a different hotel, like Hotel Place
D'Armes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a lovely small hotel near the Old town in Montreal. It is a charming old hotel, but the best feature is the service provided by their front desk staff, the concierge desk and spa. Ask Eddie at the concierge desk for advice on an Asian restuarant!

Room Tip: Avoid the side with the office building - too many office workers nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEE1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Quite possibly, the finest hotel stay of my life. Room was beautiful. Location nicely situated between Vieux Montreal and the center of the city. Staff were professional yet friendly and accessible. Even has a Bixi Bikes kiosk across the street, enabling my wife and me to work off the calories from those wonderful Montreal restaurant recommendations made by the hotel concierge.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamTech87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Everything about the hotel was perfect, the rooms were amazing(as a family we had 3, 301, 1002, 1006)service was fantastic, restaurant was fantastic, bathrooms were new and very clean. Only complaint was that U2 was staying in the hotel when we were and their security was a little over board and the $20 a day for internet was ridiculous for the price of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaKid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is sheer elegance, beautifully decorated with antiques. My room was very clean and absolutely stunning, with a huge bathroom and a rain shower. The toiletries were Molton Brown and there was even lavendar sleep spray by the bed. There was a beautiful library in which delicious complimentary coffee was served in the mornings. I had been a bit worried it would be snooty but the staff were all utterly charming and made me feel very welcome.

The only downside was that the restaurant was very expensive (unsurprisingly, although I would be surprised if it wasn't fantastic), so I didn't eat in the hotel. Had breakfasts at Eggspectation down the road (turn left when leaving the hotel), which was alright.

I was on a business trip, would love to go back for a holiday with my boyfriend because it would be really romantic.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miss_r_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#18 of 165 in Montreal
1,482 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le St-James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le St-James

Address: 355 St-Jacques, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#31 Business Hotel in Montreal
#35 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: $375 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le St-James 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, renowned for its warm professional service, exceptional interiors and avant-garde elegance, this timeless grand hotel has become the benchmark of hospitality in Canada. This historic building, dating from 1870, is ideally situated in vibrant Old Montreal with easy access to shopping areas, restaurants, and the financial center. With impeccably detailed guest accommodations, each room and suite possesses its own character and personal charm. XO Le Restaurant offers its guests a modern and innovative cuisine. Le Spa served as the "Merchants Bank" vault. The stone wall is the original wall of fortification of Montreal which was preserved and now contributes to the peaceful candlelit setting we offer for the ultimate relaxation experience. Hotel Le St-James is a Certificate of Excellence 2014 winner with Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le St-James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le St James
Le St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing