We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, friendly host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Houseboy Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #51 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Le Houseboy Bed & Breakfast has been renamed Urbain Bed & Breakfast. Stayed there from 8-11 August 2012 and have absolutely no complaints.

The location can't be any better - it is at the cross-junction of rue St Catherine Est and rue Champlain, near the eastern end of the Village. Quieter but still in the thick of things. It is an apartment on the second floor, with access via a code on the door at street level, and again before you enter the apartment. The Beaudry subway station is a 10 minute stroll away, with many pubs, restaurants, shops etc along the way.

We stayed in the Robusta Room, the largest one in the apartment for CAD100 per night. It had a flat screen TV mounted on the wall, very comfortable queen size bed, window mounted air-conditioning and free wifi. All the photos from their website are true to how it is like in reality. There were plenty of muffins, cereals, orange juice, milk etc in the kitchen all day. The shared bathroom was kept spotlessly clean with good water pressure for the showers.

Though it was situated right above a pub/restaurant, we did not have any problems with noise at all. With the windows closed and curtains drawn, we could hardly hear anything from the outside.

Stayed at the Le Houseboy Bed & Breakfast when it was located at rue Beaudry many years ago. Came back because of Michel, the very friendly host. Will definitely be back if we find ourselves in Montreal again.

Room Tip: The Robusta room is the largest and most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooFlaneryoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Great parking nearby on Champlain but a very bad atmosphere from the hosts. Chained fridge and very uptight atmosphere. Cereal boxes mostly close to empty. Room is on a second floor of a building with loud partying students on third floor.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamd_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I recently stayed at Le Houseboy on my 1st trip to Montreal (and Canada!). I could not have been more pleased. Michel, the proprietor, could not have been more welcoming and was always available for anything you may need.

The B&B is located on the 2nd floor of the duplex. My room (Java) was spacious and comfortable, even though it is the smallest of all of the rooms. The hardwood floor was a nice touch. All of the rooms our names after flavors/names of coffee,

The shared dining area was just down the hall and was well maintained. The kitchen was very nice and had recently been refurbished. The selection of breakfast items; yogurt, cheese, cereal, milk, asst. juices, muffins, and Kuerig single serve brewer produced excellent tea.

The bathroom is shared (which is no bother to me) and was also refurbished. It is spacious and has very attractive Ikea designs throughout.

This B&B could not be in a better location. It literally is in the heart of the Le Village, the gay area. There are shops, restaurants, clubs, pubs, & grocery literally after stepping out the door and onto the street.

There are two main Metro stops in either direction, each about 2 blocks from the property. Convenient is an understatement. I found it very easy to use the Metro and transit system, even coming from the airport. I found Montreal very easy to maneuver.

I recommend purchasing two, 3-day Metro cards if staying at least a week. My stay was 6 days and I purchased these upon arrival in the airport, at the same location you can do currency exchange.

If traveling with anything from a few carry-ons & up to a few checked bags/suitcases, I highly recommend the 747 bus which runs approx every 15 mins and is located right outside the terminal. The cost is covered by the Metro card and is so much more affordable than a taxi ride. You can easily store the luggage on racks on the bus.

I had two good sized carry-ons and was able to easily maneuver the bus and Metro system. The bus will take you to the Berri QAM Metro station and from there it is only 2 stops on the green line (direction Honore Beaugrand) to the Papineu station. From Papineu station it is approx 2 blocks to the B&B. The B&B website also has good details for direction, etc.

The Jacques Cartier Bridge is in this area and I highly recommend walking or biking across it to St Helen Island, which house the Biosphere, La Ronde, and other areas of interest.

I found everyone I met to be very friendly, polite, and helpful. I downloaded a French translation app to assist me but did not need it very much as English is widely spoken.

I cannot wait to return and there is NO WHERE else I will stay. Le Houseboy has it all and i cannot recommend it enough! Au revoir!

Room Tip: • Perfect for couples and singles • Close to ALL of the gay clubs, pubs, & restaurants • Excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ColoradoTravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank direct02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,522 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Houseboy Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Houseboy Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1656 Sainte-Catherine Est | Apt no.2, Montreal, Quebec H2L 2J4, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this new place on Ste-Catherine street in the Gay village of Montreal. Wood, brick walls, high ceilings, open spaces, brand new contemporary furniture, as well as all the amenities you would expect for a feel at home experience.Every three bedroom comes with it's 32" flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, brand new furniture, and high quality mattress, bed sets and linens. Sharedbath. Complete Continental breakast, available all day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing