We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for Montréal exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Ranked #51 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for Montréal exploration”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stay at Hilton Montréal Bonaventure at least once a year, usually for business. It has always been a great experience due to its spacious and modern rooms, great conference facilities, attentive service, and rooftop pool. Yes, the rooftop pool is enough to give it an extra star — especially in the winter, when you can go swimming with sub-zero temperatures outside and pretend you're in Blue Lagoon with all the steam coming off the water.

This last time, I had Hilton Gold membership and got upgraded to a bigger room and had access to the executive lounge. The breakfast served there was great and made more fantastic by the lounge manager Guy.

The hotel is situation across from a bus station and a train station, which you can easily reach underground (in the winter). It's a great base for exploring Montréal and I recommend staying here if you're visiting for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    877
    357
    110
    72
See reviews for
511
604
97
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We booked this hotel fairly last minute via the montreal tourisme website. This meant we paid full price for the first night and got the second night for half (the sweet winter deal). After checking everything on line, for the extra $ we upgraded to the executive level package-well worth it.
First off-we find the Hilton staff the best of any hotel chains we have experienced and this time was no different. From the moment we arrived until the final "have a safe trip" from the doorman it was a totally great experience. We travelled by Via rail and arrived before noon on Friday and left on Sunday at 4 pm. We checked via phone and the Hilton would store our luggage on arrival & departure (Hilton is right across the street from the train station) but it was suggested we check if our room was ready on arrival (12 pm). It was, so we could check in, use the facilities, etc. Also we requested a late checkout on Sunday and that happened as well without extra charge-maybe/probably because of the upgrade to executive. We feel the $50+/night more than compensated.
Executive upgrade included a really great "continental" breakfast which included at least 3 hot dishes (over 2 days we had scrambled eggs, homefries, french toast, pancakes, sausages) as well as top of the line breads, bagels and pastries, fruit, cereals, excellent cheeses and cold cuts and an awesome selection of juices, milk, coffee, tea, expresso, cappucino, etc. (We paid $24 each for a sunday breakfast at the Marriott in Niagara Falls in February and this was actually a better option because of the specialty coffee available.) Also on offer with the executive upgrade was the all day beverages options-including juice, soft drinks, hot beverages and the specialty coffees and teas + 5-7 h'or doevres -beer and wine available but extra and a dessert selection from 7 to 9. We ate a great lunch on Friday and didn't go out for dinner...cheese, crackers, a couple of hot selections (quiche, puff pastry, polenta with proscuitto) a different pasta each night, a couple of vegetable options (gazpacho with raw vegetables, greek feta salad-tapas style, etc.)
All staff were very friendly and everyone spoke french/english and other languages!
We look forward to going back!
The roof top swimming pool is so awesome! There were lots of families (we are a middle aged couple) but there were lots of extended families from parents with tots and teens and lots of families with grandparents. The rooftop is beautiful and I can imagine in summer it is a topnotch place (there is a sweet deal in the summer but we will have to see if Hilton Bonadventure is a part of that (first 2 nights full price, 3rd night half price). And even dogs-not in the pool, in the hotel.
We loved our stay and the winter swimming and executive lounge topped off the experience, suggestions by the concierge for dinner were spot on also (see later review...)
Staff were awesome-can't remember them all but 3 at front desk, Guy in BonAdventure Executive Room and Louis at Concierge were memorable.
Would definitely do this again

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired ask for a room closer to lobby-the 365 room are spread out over the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wcottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Was participating at a business convention in Montreal. We stayed at this hotel. Nice hotel with comfortable beds and nice view of downtown Montreal. Near Place Bonaventure. Closed to Bell centre and all fancy restaurant around.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danthemannad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The food is excellent. The staff are very professional, if not super warm. Rooms are comfortable, well appointed and clean. Good gym, esp. for a hotel. Small note: I loved the shade garden mini-atrium in the hallway.

On the minus side, carpeting is hideous. I had carpet stains in my room of suspicious origin. WiFi is annoying (difficult sign in process, and have to re-do process daily) and doesn't work in gym (this is imp. if you are not Canadian as you begin very expensive roaming when wifi goes away). The thermostat in my room seemed to have little effect on temp and i was a bit chilly. These are not what I expect for a "4 diamond" $200/night hotel. Overall a very nice place, but for the money I expected bit more.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjskier63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear sjskier63,
Thank you for your review of our hotel and recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and will check into the Wifi process to see if there is a way to improve the experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again, should you find yourself in the area.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My Girlfriend and I went for a night in February to celebrate our anniversary. Our initial attraction to this hotel was the rooftop pool which is undersold on the website. The rooftop pool is really quite nice, it was at a nice 31 C when we went swimming and it was very fun, however, be prepared for the part of your body above water to be rather cold.

We had wanted to go to the hotel restaurant Le Castillon for dinner, but we were told that it was closed for the day. This surprised us as it was a Friday, which is generally a busy night. Nonetheless we examined the menu and found that we would not have eaten at the restaurant anyway, because there were no vegan options. We took a look at the bistro menu and it was pretty much the same thing; no Vegan options save for a 14$ grilled vegetable salad entree (which is also available for room service).

We did ask for some champagne glasses to be brought to or room when we were checking in, and the wait staff was extremely fast at getting them to us. Later we placed an order with room service which was also very fast at arriving.

While connecting to the internet (basic is free) I accidentally chose the premium package, which comes at an extra charge. I called the front desk and they were very helpful at rectifying this mistake.

Later we bought and watched a movie in our room. Most of the films art 16.99 but a few are 4.99. The quality of the film was much less than the capability of the TV which was disappointing, but we nonetheless enjoyed ourselves.

Overall it was a very good stay, the hotel is great but does not offer any Vegan meal options and limited Vegan appetizers. The beauty (even in the winter) of the rooftop gardens along with the perk of an outdoor pool gives this hotel a unique offering to those who stay.

Room Tip: Garden View is quite nice even in the winter, as you can look at the ducks and geese who live in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisRobertHandfield, General Manager at Hotel Bonaventure Montreal, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear MilesBD -
Happy Anniversary to you and your girlfriend!. We are so honored that you chose to stay with us to celebrate. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our restaurant. This feedback is extremely helpful for us when planning our menu. We hope to see you again soon.
Louis-Robert Handfield, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,596 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#12 of 164 in Montreal
1,585 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal Marriott Chateau Champlain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 164 in Montreal
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaventure Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaventure Montreal

Property: Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Address: 900 De La Gauchetiere W, Montreal, Quebec H5A 1E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Montreal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#29 Business Hotel in Montreal
#31 Family Hotel in Montreal
#38 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): $207 - $586
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaventure Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TravelClick, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bonaventure Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Montreal Bonaventure Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing