We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and Convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stylish and Convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in Le Germain (Mercer Street) in Toronto twice and were anxious to see how the Montreal version stacked up. We were not disappointed. First, the location is great, being close to McGill University, St. Catherine Street and Central Station. Then the lobby is chic and dramatic with a wall of glass, beautiful flower arrangements, a fire place and coffee/espresso/cappuccino available all the time.

Our room and bathroom were both quite large and contained the glass wall with venetian blinds between the shower/tub and the room, which I assume is a Germain signature feature. Both contained so many interesting design elements that it was fun to look at all of them individually. For example, shelves which appeared to have large holes in the middle of them were actually covered with glass. I loved the creativity of it all. In my experience large chain hotels, even the most expensive ones tend to be boring in comparison.

This will be our hotel from now on in Montreal.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bic20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Bic20,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our current and future travellers. We really appreciate the time you took the inform us of the wonderful stay you had with us. We are pleased to be your Montreal destination from now on!

Thanks again!

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    171
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
77
259
38
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

well located and properly built so its modern features stand the test of time well. Very nicely appointed room - although the see through into the bath is slightly un-nerving at first. On the other hand its light in there! Hard to fault as a classy boutique hotel in a good location. Not sure about the restaurant that served only appetiser sized (not tapas !!! as we were told) portions - slow service and mediocre taste. Not up to the rest of the hotel. Enjoy the hotel and eat out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear marcus w,

We really appreciate hearing feedback form our customers. Great and constructive comments are always welcome. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assure that I will communicate with the Laurie Raphael Montreal to inquire about your experience.

Hopefully we will see you soon with us and don't hesitate to contact us in advance for restaurant recommendation and reservation.

Sincerely,

Dan Cyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is still an attractive place to stay in but the feeling of care and quirky choices which longtime regulars to the hotel will remember fondly (remember the love letter from your mattress awaiting you on the bed?) are now definitely gone.

The feeling is much more impersonal, like a good but quite large hotel. Too bad.
During my recent stay, reception was very friendly but the restaurant was so frustrating that I gave up and ordered room service which turned out to be unexceptional as well.

My room was still nice and comfortable and early morning availability of good coffee matters to me - but the spell has been broken.
Even though the hotel is extremely convenient to my usual business destinations in Montreal I am now ready to explore the alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueDolphinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
First, I would like to thank you for your honest review. I would like to offer my sincere apologies regarding the situation at the restaurant. We work really hard to create an amazing overall experience but it seems we failed you this time. I do hope you will revisit us as it is convenient for your business trip. Please contact me directly and we will sure you get that long time regular customer experience.

Sincerely,

Dan Cyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We wanted to book something different... the location was great. But the hotel was over-priced. The lunch was a joke. Server staff were very polite and did their job well, but the kitchen served tiny portions of nothing tasting food. The room was fine - nothing to write home about. The 300CAD was a bit OTT as we got a junior suite at the Intercontinental for same price and it was a huge suite with club longue access, etc. Late check out till 16.00 was not a problem. The spa there was awesome as well.

Room Tip: upper floor? the building is an old office converted so there is not really any differences that i n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I hope we will have the chance to show you the real Germain Montreal experience in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Cyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for one night as a treat while visiting family. Having grown up in Montreal i had been to the Le Germain once before and had a wonderful time.

Our stay here this last time wasn't as memorable as I wanted it to be. The room as nice, super clean, modern, a nice view. We paid close to $300 for the night and I was hoping the service would be a reflection for that and it wasn't. The staff, apart from the doorman who all stand-offish and in the restaurant they couldn't find my husbands name on the "guest list" so we were made to feel like were trying to get breakfast for free when in actual fact the room was in my name and my husband had just been put down as "guest" They ended up allowing him in since I had booked a room for 2. In the end that experience didn't leave the best overall feeling for me. We aren't picky people...i've stayed at super cheap and super pricey hotels..for us it's how we're treated that makes all the difference and here Le Germain fell short on the day we were there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Everhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GermainMontreal, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Germain Montreal, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Germain Montreal. I am glad that you like our product as we work really hard to keep it in great condition. I am sorry to hear that you encountered an unfortunate incident with our colleagues at the Laurie Raphael Montreal. Please rest assure that your comment will not go unnoticed and we will manage and train our staff in order to avoid such a situation in the future. We hope that we will have the chance to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dan Cyr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#5 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
#1 of 164 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Montreal

Property: Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Address: 2050 rue Mansfield, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): $229 - $400
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Design and Welcome Unique to MontréalIn a trendy downtown neighbourhood stands our chic and intimate boutique-hotel, intended for both business and leisure clients alike. The product of the astonishing transformation of a former office building, the hotel offers a unique concept in accommodation.Aesthetic Sense and Attention to DetailIn the hall, the eyes are immediately drawn to the luxurious furnishings, bouquets of fresh flowers, the warm fireplace and intimate lounge areas. You'll take in the peaceful atmosphere, a sign of the cozy comfort that awaits you in your room.Sophistication, Refinement and Enveloping ComfortThe hotel's 101 rooms and suites are inspired by loft-style architecture and allow guests to make the most of the natural light and views of the city. An elegant, highly functional design and unparalleled comfort await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Germain Montreal
Montreal Le Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing