We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Institut

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de l'Institut
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by friends who stayed here a couple of years ago. Perfect location, perfect size room, fantastic bed, fabulous service and spectacular food. Would not think of staying any place else.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcleary1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    151
    33
    4
    4
See reviews for
81
202
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We are not luxury travelers since we cannot really afford it, but we like nice boutique hotels or clean and special B&Bs. We were *very* happy that we took a Canadian friend's recommendation to stay here. The breakfast was a plentiful and lovely continental and hot breakfast bar with amazing coffee and pastries. The beds were the most comfortable I have every stayed in. We also found the location to be great. The hotel is basically on top of a metro stop, so you can hop on the train, but it is also only a 30 minute walk down to the Old Town and port and 30 minutes in the other direction to the Park Mont Real. A lot of dining areas and shops are even closer by.

The rooms have a balcony, quite a novelty. We were there during the fireworks festival and had a nice view one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jml41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The hotel is an excellent place to stay. The reception and the entire staff was very helpful and accomdating. Great location, close to everything. Metro station is literally next door. I would certainly stay here again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAHULSHETH100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked this hotel well in advance so got a terrific deal on a double room with a breakfast buffet included. The hotel was modern and attractive. Our room had everything we might need, including a 'pod' coffee maker. A nice touch - a couple of vases in the room. We especially loved that we had access to our own balcony. It was really nice to be able to sit outside, given there is no pool or other outdoor area at the hotel. The location can't be beat. We mostly walked everywhere, but did rent Bixi bikes from the stand right outside the hotel. And the subway is right underneath, if we'd chosen to take it. I will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'Institut, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for your review! We trully hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

It was my second stay at the Hotel de L'institut and had an other nice stay.
The staff is fantastic with a lot of attention to make your stay enjoyable.
The rooms are fine but not exceptional, love the espresso machine in the room.
The breakfats is nice too with buttery Pains au Chocolat and croissants.
This time it was egg benedictine/salmom buffet and I didnt like it that much.
The hotel is a little bit overprice but if it is a way to fund the school it is fine with me.
The extra $19 for the parking is not great but usual for Montreal hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrere1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#50 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#12 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#17 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#37 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#29 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Institut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Institut

Property: Hotel de l'Institut
Address: 3535 Rue St-Denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price range (per night): $200 - $331
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Institut 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hôtel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montréal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hôtel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hôtel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hôtellerie du Québec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de l'Institut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing