We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveller rating
896
235
33
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
235
33
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town notre dame hardwood floors crepes adjoining restaurant breakfast was included included in the room rate croissants vieux montreal the hotel's restaurant small hotel breakfast each morning cobblestone streets within walking distance restaurant staff our room was spacious loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The Hotel Bonaparte made a great home base for my recent Montreal visit. In the heart of the old city, it is charming and welcoming. The rooms are large, with a sort of "spartan luxury" feel, hardwood floors and gorgeous bathrooms. Great renovation of a historic building maintaining the old-world details like exposed brick and large casement windows that look out to the cathedral Notre Dame. Bonus points for the delicious breakfast included, nice restaurant, and super-friendly staff.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DCEllenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We booked four nights here with our two teenagers, and we could not have been more pleased. The location in Old Montreal was charming, with a room overlooking the courtyard behind Notre Dame basilica, and cobblestoned streets. However, it was also a short walk to the Place d’Armes metro stop and near many shops, restaurants and sights. All in all, the location can’t be topped if you want to be in the charming older city but within reach of transportation.

As far as the amenities: Our son can devour food at any time, so the inclusive breakfast was a great value. While the menu was limited, it was varied enough and plentiful: eggs to order, omelettes, fruit, yogurt, croissants and muffins. Nicely prepared and way above usual “hotel breakfast” in US hotels.

Off-season meant the room was a good value. We were in a chambre deluxe, one of the two-bed rooms and had plenty of space. Picture in website is exactly what we had in room 401 and was very representative. Bathroom was enormous, and having an additional, separate sink just outside the bathroom meant everyone could get ready easily. Comfy beds, huge window (with lovely church view) in-room fridge and coffee maker with quality coffee. I appreciate the “green” initiatives on linens and towels. It was also the quietest room I have ever stayed in. I guess overlooking an ancient church yard will do that.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Any time we needed a cab, one was there in minutes. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LKTutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

My husband & I visited this hotel at the end of January for a long weekend vaca. It was a perfect stay from start to finish. The staff was very helpful & attentive. The rooms were quiet, clean, updated & the perfect size. The bed was perfect for a great night sleep. Free breakfast was superb & room service was the same. Loved the small hotel factor here & it's on top of it all, the location was perfect too!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tgoldie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Wonderful hotel in the heart of old Montreal with a fun bar and restaurant!!
We had a great room that was spacious with hard wood floors and a spectacular view of Norte Dame Cathedral from our room window!!
The bathroom was also spacious with a separate tub and shower although the shower was very small!!
The reception area was very accommodating for any request they could help with and it was very close to all the shops and restaurants in old Montreal!!

Room tip: Ask for a room in the back with a view of Norte Dame!! A few rooms have a small balcony!!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sue022773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a romantic long weekend getaway to celebrate our anniversary and were delighted to decide on Montreal and Hotel Bonaparte. Everything was perfect--cozy, comfortable and relaxing--for a 3-day winter stay. The food was delicious at Bonaparte and we cannot recommend a stay at the hotel & dinner at the restaurant highly enough. It was lovely to leave our coats behind and walk downstairs for a phenomenal meal. Our waitress tended to our every need on a busy Friday night and we had the perfect private table tucked away by the windows to focus on one another and a fabulous meal. We had the degustation and it was amazing--she picked perfect wines also that surprised and delighted us. The hotel's location is terrific and we found many excellent restaurants, shops, galleries, patisseries, coffee shops and places to walk along the river. Breakfast at the hotel is a terrific plus--but given how lovely it was--a major one. We both want to go back soon to lovely Montreal and a newly discovered gem of an inn, Hotel Bonaparte. For a few blissful days celebrating, we had the romance of Paris on this continent!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank arjclcsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews