We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
335
129
42
14
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
129
42
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews island suite valet service the penthouse harbour lights water grille redwater rustic grille great hotel front desk staff frosted glass valet parking is hot tub modern hotel art gallery corner room turn down service downtown charlottetown aveda toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I went to the Holman on a personal retreat and was delighted by the kind customer service and the room quality. The staff were very informative and gave great recommendations on what to see and do in Charlottetown. The only minor complaint I have was that the Yoruba area was fairly dirty and seemed to be somewhat unkept. Overall amazing stay and if I ever decide to come back to Charlottetown this would be my first pick of accommodations.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Gavin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Marketing Coordinator at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Gavin, thank-you very much for taking the time to leave the Holman Grand your feedback. Great to read that the staff were helpful and that you enjoyed your stay at the Holman. Please accept our apologies for the common area. We hold every area in our hotel to a high standard of cleanliness and this room should have been immaculate during your stay. We will ensure that this is the case should you stay with us again. Thank-you again for your review Gavin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived late after flying from Austin, TX, Toronto to Halifax. Driving into PEI, we were ready for a great nights sleep. We stayed in room 411. We had a roof access which we shared with our neighbors, but no view. I mention this because we stayed 5 nights, our room became smaller the longer we stayed and we were in a king room. We made our reservation late, so that was the best room available. The beds were wonderful, the room was quiet, and housekeeping was absolutely outstanding! The breakfast was great. The hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants and the waterfront. The hotel adjoins a mall for any necessities that you may need. Make your life easier and pay the valet for parking. I was very disappointed that the spa was closed for the holiday. We loved the friendly people and the beauty of PEI! Thanks, "Holman" for an enjoyable holiday!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Marketing Coordinator at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Denise, thank YOU for choosing to stay at the Holman and for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. So great to see that you enjoyed your time at the Holman and enjoyed the connecting Confederation Court Mall. Hopefully you're able to get to Grand Senses Spa on your next visit. Thanks again Denise for this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

I booked the Holman Grand for a Christmas stay while we were in PEI visiting family for the holidays. The hotel is conveniently located downtown and is one of the newer hotels in Charlottetown.

The hotel is connected to the Confederation Court Mall, which is nice if you need to run out for something, but this mall is quite dead; aside from a Shopper's Drug Mart, there's not much shopping to be had.

You are able to pull your car up right to the hotel door upon check-in and the valet will then take your car to a nearby parkade. There are trolleys available to take your belongings up to your room. Normally, when we check in to a hotel a porter would load this for us and take it up to our room, but it's a self serve environment here. Not the most convenient when you're traveling with a toddler and an infant and it's one of the coldest days on PEI with a nor'easter wind blowing through, but we managed! When calling down for your car it was always very quick to be at the front, I'm not sure if this is because the hotel was not busy during the season, but it was nice not to have to wait 15-20 mins for your car.

The hotel staff was very courteous and welcoming. It was a slow time of the year so there were minimal staff during our stay but this wasn't an issue.

The hotel lobby and room were nice and clean and well presented. There is a small gym onsite which my husband used. Normally you can go to the nearby local gym but this was closed during the holidays. My husband said the gym downstairs did the trick.

There is also a small pool which my toddler enjoyed during our stay.

We reserved the Harbour Lights suite since there were four of us. There was a small kitchenette that included a table set, plates, cutlery, etc., a bar fridge, and they brought up a microwave for us since the restaurant/room service was closed on Christmas Day.

There was only one washroom in this suite, but it was large with a separate shower and a large jet tub and double sink.

There was a pull out sofa in the living area and they placed a small Christmas tree to jazz up the room for the season.

The bedroom had a nice, comfortable king sized bed and plenty of storage space. They put a pack and play in the room for our infant.

The room was on the corner and offered a nice "city" view of Charlottetown.

We ordered room service from the Red Water Grille during our stay. Overall, that was good. There was no room service on Christmas Day as the restaurant was closed, so we had to shop the night before so we had breakfast for the morning. I found it very odd that there were no offerings for the guests that day. We've stayed in hotels across the country on Christmas Day and had never come across this. There was some confusion with one of our breakfast orders one morning.

My one complaint about this room was the frosted windows that the bathroom had. From both the bedroom and the living space there were large windows cut into the walls for a view into the bathroom. Why anyone would do this especially for a suite is beyond me. I've seen this before and I'm never a fan. When someone went to the washroom at night the light shone into both the bedroom and the living space with the pull out bed. Plus if guests were over they could see the outline of the person in the bathroom. I can see this in a normal room, but a suite usually implies you would have guests visiting thus needing more privacy. Also, you could not lock both bathroom doors from inside the bathroom, so there was no privacy from our three year old who thought it was fun to run in a circle throughout the room! It was an odd set up.

There was one day housekeeping missed us and we told the front desk and they promptly sent someone up to refresh the towels, etc. Each day afterwards, they always followed up to ensure the room had been tended to.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and we would likely book again for our next family visit to the island.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGirlTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, Marketing Coordinator at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

TravelGirl, many thanks for leaving such a detailed review. We very much appreciate this feedback. Thank-you for staying with us on your trip to PEI. Wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. So great to see that you enjoyed the facility, staff, location and restaurant.
We do apologize for there not being someone to help you on arrival, especially with that weather. There should have been someone at the door to assist you and we have addressed this. Furthermore, we are looking into a food offering for our guests during Christmas next year. Again, your feedback is much appreciated as it will help us moving forward. Lastly, should you stay with us again, let the front desk know about the privacy issue and we will ensure that the suite's bathroom doors are equipment with a thick blind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Holman while in Charlottetown on business and this hotel is nothing short of perfection. I stayed in the Island Suite room which featured a king size bed, separate seating area (couch), mini kitchen and fabulous washroom with stand up shower and large soaked tub. Valet parking was available and used daily/ very quick service. Overall a great experience with great views of the city!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, other at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Mike, thank-you for leaving The Holman Grand a review. So wonderful to read that you found the stay 'nothing short of perfection.' What else can we say but a big PEI THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

I stayed here for one night when I went to the CHL Canada-Russia series in November 2017. The front desk staff were very friendly and the hotel is amazingly quiet. They have a nice looking pool and workout room, but i didn't have a chance to try either of them.

Pros:

1. Great location - Downtown, right across from the Centre for the Arts and connected to the Confederation Court Mall

2. Hardwood/laminate flooring - Love this; much nicer than carpet

3. Large step-in shower

4. Very clean

5. Aveda bath products

6. Keurig coffee maker

7. Floor to ceiling windows (apparently only on the third floor from what the front desk staff told me)

8. Quiet and efficient HVAC system

9. Modern decor

Cons:

1. Self parking is somewhat of a pain - public parkade is roughly two blocks away but connected to the mall and hotel via a pedway

2. Free wi-fi is limited to 1Mbps download/upload speed (almost unusable these days) - premium wi-fi is $8.95/24 hours and give you a download speed between 90 and 130 Mbps and an upload sped of around 9 Mbps

3. While HVAC is quiet and efficient, it can't be turned off. This proved to be an issue as there is a drop ceiling in the entryway of the room. The ceiling tiles fits so tight, they squeak when the HVAC system turns on; something I didn't notice until the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HXNBasshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay N, other at The Holman Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank-you very much for taking the time to leave us a comprehensive review. We very much appreciate the feedback. So great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Charlottetown to see the hockey game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews