We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking beauty”
Marcelay Beach House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Marcelay Beach House
comfortably sit 12 at the dining room table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Marcelay Beach House
comfortably sit 12 at the dining room table
outdoor shower now enclosed
screened porch
Sunset always a pleasure from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jana G
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking beauty”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Incredible beach, one of the nicest places we have ever been! The beach is breathtaking, the Bear River creates a unique place and the best part is the privacy! Very few people on the private beach, super safe for our dog that had a blast running off leash up and down the beach and splashing in the river. Water is a bit cold but pristine and it changes every day, with the tide, weather, light... The sunsets on the beach are spectacular. If you like treasure hunting, you can find pieces of sea glass right there on the beach, even rare blue piece here and there... The Marcelay Beach House is super comfortable and provides plenty of room for 6 people plus a dog. The oputdoor shower is very convenient and so is the screened porch with day beds. This is an excellent place to stay as a family and friends, we will definitely come back! Next time for not just one but at least two weeks, it was the best vacation ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolanne...
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second stay at this amazing beach house. My husband and I stayed for one week with our two children, their partners, a baby and a dog. The beach house was large enough for everyone to find their own little place to get away. The house is two floors with two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs and a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, dining area and living room with wood stove on the lower level. There is a screened in porch with two single beds for reading or sleeping in in the good weather. Everything you need is right here! Dishwasher, washer and dryer and literally anything you would want in your own home. The view of the ocean is breathtaking and even though there are a few other cottages in the area it is very private. Good green space for playing or walking a dog. The beach is just feet from the house and the waves can be heard from the front bedroom. Out back there is a BBQ and a fantastic hammock. Saw Hummingbirds and rabbits. There is a wonderful long table for everyone to eat at. No air conditioning, but there are plenty of fans if you need them. Great old claw foot tub in the master bedroom. It's simply the perfect place for a vacation. If you get tired of looking at the ocean there is free wifi and a good TV with tons of channels. Lots of toys included: games, dartboard, hula hoops, use of a boat, CDs and DVDs. Our host, George, was very nice and helpful, but also left us to our own devices so we never felt like it wasn't our own place while we were there. Nice walks in the area. The swimming was great and the beach is lovely. Bonfires allowed. Fishing village and restaurant not far away and close to the East Point lighthouse, Greenwich provincial park, and Basin Head knowing for it's "singing sands". Just go and see for yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and sound of the ocean and great star gazing
Liked least: Nothing worth complaining about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawatra...
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Secluded beach house ideal for rest and relaxation”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family recently spent a week at Marcelay, and I have to say that it was the ideal spot to reconnect with the family and enjoy some rest and relaxation.

The location is truly spectacular: the view that greats you when the red dirt road ends and you suddenly find yourself among the sand dunes and on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean is breathtaking.

The beach house:

The beach house had more than enough room for our party of six, plus baby and a dog. It came equipped with everything we could possibly need: plenty of linens, cooking utensils, dinnerware, books, boardgames, a hammock, a dartboard, wood for the stove, sea kayaks, a canoe--even snorkelling equipment. The wifi, BBQ, dishwasher and washer and dryer made our stay very convenient. And it was all wonderfully decorated--like something from a magazine!

My favourite place to sleep was in the screened-in porch off the living room: the beds were very comfortable, and you could fall asleep stargazing and listening to the waves.

One of the highlights for me was the outdoor shower--a very refreshing way to start the morning or to get all that sand and sea salt off of you. Settling into an Adirondack chair on the front porch facing the ocean, with a good book and a glass of wine, was another standout experience.

The location:

The location is unbeatable! The beach house's position and plantings make it feel very secluded, and at night it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop.

The beach is less than a minute's walk from your front door, and is excellent for sunbathing, swimming (the water is shallow and there is a nice sandy bottom that rivals anything I've seen in the Caribbean), beach combing and skipping stones. We had a lot of fun spotting the lobsters and crabs that crawled along the seafloor.

The beach house is next to a wonderful trail that runs along the top of some cliffs with spectacular views of the ocean, which is perfect for jogging or walking.

The idyllic fishing town of Naufrage is a two-minute drive away, and home to the Shipwreck Point Cafe, which serves delicious fish cakes.

The town of St. Peter's is a 15-minute drive away, with a handy convenience store, a fish market with lots of fresh seafood and an excellent ice cream parlour.

The only slight downside was the multitude of flies that seemed to come from the compost bins located next to the house. Moving them would probably get rid of this problem.

This was an absolutely wonderful way to end the summer, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beach house to someone seeking a beautiful, quiet place away from the more touristy parts of the island.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The idyllic location
Liked least: The flies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
backpacke...
shrewsbury, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect "get away from it all" ocean setting for time with family!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at the Marcelay Beach House on June 21-June 28, 2014 and had a wonderful time!! The house was big enough to accommodate our two families and we had space to relax and spread out. As you drive to the home, it looks like you are driving into the sea, as it is set right on the ocean. It is a remote location-amid the beautiful, red-soil country-side. We took advantage of long runs along the cliffs, using the bike trail at St. Peter's along the bay, golfing, purchasing fresh lobsters right off the boats, horse back rides on the beach at Lakeside and visiting Cavendish (1 1/2 hour away) and Charlottetown (1 hour away). Grocery shopping is about 15 min. away. We saw seals, eagles, and fox! This home is a gem!! We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was pefect!
Liked least: There were bugs that really bit the backs of our necks and heads!! Use a spray with deet!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Eclectic roomy beach house”
Reviewed 11 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed the open concept and isolation of this holiday rental. Even though the weather did not cooperate it was comfortable indoors. The beach was great but smaller than we are used to staying on. Our dog loved being able to run off leash. Only a 10-15 minute drive to all amenities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The space and isolation.
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing