We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bigger room, even better food, same great care!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drake Hotel Toronto
Ranked #2 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Wasaga Beach
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bigger room, even better food, same great care!”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Desperatley needing a get-away and knowing only a Drake fix would do, my husband and I booked the weekend spontaneously at 10:00 on a Thurs. night for Fri....asked if Sat. was available if we could swing it from our end and were told 'no problem - we have you covered'...and covered they did! Our very favorite host in Toronto, Jonathan the hotel Manager, not only squeezed us in at the last minute, arranged parking right across the street and was there to greet us, he also up-graded us to the very lovely and one of a kind suite! We were over the moon! After staying here many many times and always getting a crash pad but secretly coveting the suite, we were surprised, delighted and as giddy with excitement as school girls at a Beiber concert, to have our own little apartment at our favorite hotel in the world! The room and all her accoutrements was a treat - being both hip yet retro with all the most modern conveniences, beautifully decorated and as well-appointed with all the bells and whistles as the crash pads, with the welcome addition of a wee fridge, huge closet, and ample seating for guests. We loved the large washroom area with huge shower and appreciated having two rooms with the bedroom being separate from the super cool 'lounge' area with its retro, glamourous day bed, large flat screen t.v. and large comfy leather chair. Being at the front of the building was not noisy as per "ranger2705" who in a previous Drake review had speculated being at the front of the hotel would be noisy even with double glazing - (though it may have been because we didn't go to bed until after the late evening's traffic had wound up for the night - which is why we go to The Drake - to stay up late and let the city get sleepy and quiet before we retire). We did not find it noisy in the morning at all and in fact slept-in both mornings until well after 9:30 - perhaps the gentle hum of the fan provided enough white noise to keep any outdoor road noise at bay. The shower doors are "simply glazed" as per ranger2705 but again, unless you are sharing a room with a business partner (weird) the showers are sexy and only slightly revealing - like when a woman of a certain age wears a negligee - you can catch a wee glimpse at what lies behind the frilly exterior without having to see the whole package.
It was a delightful treat having that suite and Jonathan setting us up there was a surprise that we will talk about for a long time.
Jonathan is a surprise and a treat himself - funny, engaging and well-spoken with a quick wit and ribald sense of humour. Where else in the city will the hotel Manager first of all up-grade your room without you asking not because he thinks you will never go again unless he does, but because he now knows you well enough to know you will be SO excited and tickled pink to be in there that he does it for the sheer pleasure of your reaction? Where else would you go in the city where the hotel Manager would then sit and have a drink (or two) with you when he is finished work and leave you to the rest of your night with a fond and sincere kiss and hug? Where will you be greeted with "Welcome home!!!" when you arrive by the front desk staff (Stephanie - thanks for the warm welcome - we love walking in that door to your warmth and smiling face!!!) What other hotel do you go to where everyone there knows your name, stops what they are doing to take the time to chat, catch up with stories about their lives and generally make you feel like you are the most interesting person you think you are...only at The Drake that we have ever experienced!
Notable mentions....Our three favorite servers - Christine, Kayla and Jeff were still there in the lounge - still funny, glamourous and cool and SO smart and naughty in the best way - Jeff, we are still sorry we missed your acoustic set Friday night but promise when you are playing next we will be there, front and center - may we only hope you might do a set on the May long weekend hint, hint?? Christine, be still our hearts - we have a crush on her big-time - ask for her area & you will not be disappointed but only if you appreciate attention to your every need, graceful beauty, a huge heart and an exquisite sense of humour. Kayla stopped by Fri. and Sat. for a chat - she of the huge smile, beauty that stops you in your tracks and fresh off her stint on t.v. - she filled us in on her budding acting career and we look forward to seeing both her and Christine on the big screen!
We met Perry Friday night for the first time - adorable and fits right in - we hope she is there for the long haul as she seems like she has been there forever already. Say hello to the fabulous Gord in the Sky yard when you are there - tell him 'Patti and Steve' sent you for a night cap then hit the outdoor rooftop patio for some fresh air, a hot toddy and a comfy bon-fire while you admire the bevy of young hipsters mixed with some 'less than young' but still crazy-cool folks of a certain age who are all united enjoying The Drake World and all it has to offer.
The food is outstanding - we have not eaten anywhere else the whole time we there for many, many two-night stays - it is always that good and always spot-on when they change it up - it does not need to have a 'Boston Pizza' sized generic bible of a menu - it is perfection in its attention to seasonality, theme (comfort food, maple sugar time, old school-retro, pulled pork pop-up, Chinese take-out) and what wonderful new hot foodie ideas are trending...as a fellow foodie I appreciate everything that comes out of the kitchen!
I am not missing the coffee machine in the room (as per a previous review by another guest) as when have you EVER had a good cup of coffee from a wee hotel coffee maker - seriously...stale packaged coffee pouch, dehydrated coffeemate, a plastic stir stick...no, The Drake is better than that and wouldn't want that for her guests....IMO. Plus the cafe is a two second walk downstairs, has the best coffee ever, the coolest servers with the best (and most) tatoos in any cafe in T.O., and if you are lucky the 'Hello Dollies' or scones are fresh out of the oven and calling your name. If you are not enamoured with seeing your beloved or biz associate in the shower, this would be the perfect time to sneak out and surprise them with a perfect coffee.
If you want a certain room...call and be specific what you want...we have stayed many times and have always been accomodated with whatever room-type we needed...at first it was a quiet top floor room away from the sky yard or lobby...then it quickly became, "What do you think - where would you like to put us this time?" and voila - the room of your dreams.
If you get the chance, PLEASE stay here - you do not have to be a 20-something hipster who stays up late clubbing - you can be a 40-something hipster-wannabe who is now looking for that personal touch - a fabulous Manager who knows you by name, treats you with sincere warmth and personally tends to your every need, an exquisite meal served by a wonderful familiar face, a warm greeting in the morning served with a side of joking and joshing, a sweet hug when you leave and all the wonderful 'Drake-world' you can squeeze in, in between arriving and reluctantly leaving.
See you all in May! We love you guys!!!

Room Tip: *Just call and be specific...they will hook you up!*
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WasagaBeachMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    92
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
39
284
75
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We'd never been there but had heard good things about it. So we thought we'd spend three nights there to celebrate my 'very big number' birthday.

On Thursday, April 12 we made our way over to the Drake Hotel at 1150 Queen Street West in Toronto at about 8:30 in the evening. And boy.....am I ever glad we did! Nothing prepared us for the absolutely fantastic place that is the Drake Hotel.

From the moment we walked in it was perfect. We were greeted so wonderfully by Stephanie at the front desk. What a sweetie. No sooner had we asked for a suggestion our two for local restaurants then she had a complete list, hand-written, for us with the names, phone numbers and info about each place. Talk about personal service!

Things just kept getting better and better. We decided to actually stay at the Drake for dinner and wow.....what an amazing dining room they have. We were served by yet another warm and wonderful Drake employee, Hailey, who made our first meal there a totally satisfying and fun experience. She was so friendly and helpful. And she had a lovely smile to boot!

The next morning we met two more 'Drakinans' who raised the employee bar even higher. We met hotel manager Jonathan and Drake curator, Mia. They took us on a tour of the hotel and told us everything there is to know about the hotel's history and the stories behind all of the fantastic artwork that graces so many of the hotel's spaces. Mia is such an 'artist at heart'. She has a superb eye for detail and colour and made our art-gazing experience so much richer than it would have been had we done it without her. And Jonathan? What a warm, caring, fun guy! The two of them made a super team of tour guides and we loved all that we saw and heard about the Drake.

We came in contact with several other people worth mentioning- Craig, another warm and wonderful 'front desk' guy. He helped us with answers to questions and just by being so attentive to everything.

At the little front-door kiosk we met and fell in love with Laura and Matthew. These two 'cuties' both hail fromScotland and just listening to them talk made us happy. They are both so friendly and helpful. Laura taught me a few things about my digital camera that I had no idea about. She even offered to bring her battery charger in the next day in case I needed it. Now that's service!!!

And Perry (sorry if that's not how you spell it) was our server in the Lounge on our last night. She was as warm and bubbly as all of the others at the Drake.

From the wonderful ambiance of the hotel to the incredible service to the out-of-this-world food (you MUST have the Lobster nachos....to die for!!!), the Drake is the only place we want to go in Toronto to have so many fantastic experiences surrounded by so, so many fantastic people.

We absolutely can't wait to go back and have decided to make The Drake our 'staycation destination' of choice for our wedding anniversary in June. Only 11 more weeks to go!!!!!

Thank you, Drake Hotel, for the most wonderful weekend ever!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarynToronto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Great ambiance to indulge ourselves with fine food, fine films for a weekend in Toronto. This was our third stay at the happening Drake and I always feel more youthful and 'special' having stayed in adequate studio room and spacious suite room.
When we return to the hotel on the Saturday night, after a day of movie going, past the lineup and security to proudly say " we are residing here". We have a great dinner in the dining room with our children on Friday night and start each of the two days with a wonderful tasting brunch in the cafe. We have never been disappointed.
Thanks to the Drake and their Staff for making it a unique experience for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was my second stay in Toronto, so wanted to see a different side to the City than the financial district. Despite its overly fussy website, the Drake seemed to hit the spot, though when I got there my first impressions were if the place was trying too hard to be hip and was it going to be completely pretentious. After 3 days, I concluded that it was not. It is a great alternative to the usual bland hotel rooms. But you have to know a few points:

Queen St West is a very mixed area full of deli's, boutiques, coffee houses, tattoo parlours, galleries and bike shops. A super mix that reminded me of Notting Hill, London (pre the movie). The hotel is located some way from the financial district, so if you have an early morning meeting there, then forget it. For those who don't, the street cars run up and down all day (and night) and it takes about 25 mins to get to the financial district. The road is noisy at night and (despite the double glazing) I would not want to be located at the front of the hotel. I guess many people staying here won't be coming back until late anyway.

The rooms are small, but the space has been used creatively and are well appointed. The free wireless and Ipod docking station were particularly great, as was the shower. However this is simply glazed and some might prefer a greater degree of privacy. Some basics were missed - no plug and no coffee/tea making facilities were, IMO, an oversight.

The breakfast cafe was super and the cuisine delivered to the other dining areas was well executed, if a touch small in choice. Great atmosphere in the bars with continual evening entertainment provided to the local hipsters. A hotel is only as good as its service and here the staff were young, but all very polite, charming and happily dealt with my requests. The associated gym, located 5 mins away, was top notch (though no pool).

For the more adventurous, the Drake is a must stay. However watch out for the noise from the main road. Would I stay again - most definitely, but only if I could get the room I wanted.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is nicest boutique hotel I have stayed at in a long time. Friendly, funky, well-designed home from home, great food and incredibly nice staff (Suzie, Craig, Pam etc).
It has a club and a bar but my room was not at all noisy and I wanted to stay a lot longer than my four days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
642 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drake Hotel Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drake Hotel Toronto

Property: Drake Hotel Toronto
Address: 1150 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1J3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): $252 - $531
Hotel Class:3 star — Drake Hotel Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Drake Hotel Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Drake Hotel
Drake Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing