We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely linens, jaquzzi tubs and great service from Eugene- thank you”
Review of Old Mill Toronto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Mill Toronto
Ranked #15 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely linens, jaquzzi tubs and great service from Eugene- thank you”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Loved my room when I was at the Old Mill for a training. The rooms are spacious, great mattresses and good quality pillows. Bathrooms are well appointed and internet is free for guest.
When I had some questions regarding my bill, Eugene stepped in and took care everything. Thank you Eugene for your great customer service

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsasuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Salsasuave,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay here while training. We strive to make every detail from our bedrooms to our meetings and functions unforgettable for our guests.

Your comments have been shared with everyone on our team and Eugene in particular is very appreciative of your praise!

We look forward to welcoming you back here whether it is for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    210
    39
    22
    18
See reviews for
104
550
36
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Despite the age of the inn, the rooms were very well kept. Yes, they were a bit older in style but remarkably clean and fresh. The service was very pleasant and all round a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear gmcnab,

Thank you for taking the time to write in your review regarding your stay. The decor of the hotel rooms is meant to encompass and reflect the heritage of The Old Mill. The hotel just celebrated its 10th anniversary while The Old Mill will be celebrating its 98th anniversary this year.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again as we look forward to hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We were fortunate to stay at the Old Mill last week for 4 nights in a luxury king suite. Previous reviews made us apprehensive, but the location is close to my sisters house and we had to stay close. On previous visits, we typically stayed at the Four Seasons in Yorkville or a similar hotel.

The Old Mill will be our first choice for all future trips. Loved it here. Our room was unbelievable. Gorgeous. The restaurant and bar were great to have.

I had the continental breakfast daily that is included in the room stay. My husband had an omelette on two mornings. That was the nicest looking plate. No complaints.

If u can, have Sunday brunch here. The seafood station was quite a surprise, especially the fresh lobsters. For dessert we fell in love with the bread pudding and chocolate mousse.

We also had lunch here on Monday. Did not expect as extensive a lunch as we had on Sunday, but boy was I wrong. There were even more choices.

The only dinner we had was a late one where we opted to skip another buffet and instead ate a small meal in the bar area. Nice. By the fireplace.

The grounds are beautiful here, even in March. The location is a good one, with a subway stop close by. Toronto has a great transportation system.

The hotel concierge was quite helpful when we asked for weekend entertainment options. The front desk looked after our every need including our luggage.

Wish we had stayed here on previous trips. Will b back. I expect it will b beautiful in spring and summer.

Room Tip: Recommend a luxury suite. Worth the additional $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorettaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear lorettaph,

Thank you for choosing to stay here at The Old Mill Inn & Spa whilst visiting your family. We have become a home away from home for many of our visitors and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Truly in a beautiful part of Toronto and close to downtown, we have a unique location that has a little bit of something for everyone.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next time you visit with family!

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a great night away. Without asking, they upgraded us to a suite and it was very nice. We had all that was promised plus a living room. We went on a Wed night when there wasn't entertainment in the Bar ... very quiet. However, if you book on a Thurs night, they have very good jazz in the Homes Bar. The food is good in the Bar as well. All in all, a lovely experience. I also booked a massage in the Spa and it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I signed up for a coupon to stay at this hotel for our 8th year anniversary, the coupon was for $169 Canadian and stated that the value was of $450 for the following:

"Package includes a one night stay in a premium room, with continental breakfast with two, complimentary self-parking, and a $50 room credit towards next booking direct with the hotel."

We arrived on a Monday afternoon, parking in the parking lot which is directly across the street from the hotel. We got there at about 2pm and upon check-in we were given an upgrade to a deluxe room, so that was nice. The check-in staff asked us if we wanted the turn-down service, it's complimentary, so we accepted.

To be honest, this was the first hotel I had ever stayed in with turn-down service and I didn't know what it was. So instead of looking stupid, I accepted and googled the term after getting to our room. They have free wi-fi access throughout the hotel.

Upon closer examination of our $50 room credit voucher, in fine print it states "... not applicable to any other discount offers and is subject to black out dates."

We were given room #310, see photos included.

The room was spacious and had a washroom with separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The toilet area has its own sink and sliding door to separate it from the main area. There is a hairdryer, coffee maker, make-up mirror and soap-stuff available. Bring your own toothbrush, toothpaste, and razor.

Our room had a Sony stereo system with cassette deck and CD player! Really old school. If you have an Apple device, you can make use of there iHome speaker dock appliance. The room had some magazines on the table, one of which is Tourism Toronto 2012. If you are from out of town, it's very helpful in suggesting all sorts of things to do/see.

The television is an older style CRT and there is only basic cable, the remote doesn't work very well. We could only use the up/down channel buttons and for some reason if we used the channel down button, it would skip channels and only reach channel 10. So, don't get frustrated, as we did in the beginning, use the channel up button!

Our room was a corner room with views of what I believe was south and east. There was a desk, table and lots of chairs, we could have seated 7 people. We never ate any of the snacks or used the mini-fridge which we never bothered looking for, hotels always charge such exorbitant fees for small things. But if you can afford it, why not?

The bed was very comfortable and tall.

In the evening, we attended the Jazz FM 91 youth big band performance in their dining hall. We ordered the following 4 items:

1. Grilled Calamari $16 - tomato & olive ragout, capers & lemon brown butter
2. Chicken and Biscuit $25 - panko crusted chicken supreme, sage cheddar stuffing & corn bread with southern comfort gravy
3. Creemore Speckled Trout $27 - pan seared trout fillet, sugar beet, smoked walnut & creemore ale gastrique
4. A cup of Port $10 - (I'm no wine expert and I don't remember what the name of the port was except that it was 10 years old.)

The calamari was really, really good, it was so soft and fresh. The olives were slightly too salty. My wife enjoyed her chicken which was soft and juicy. The biscuit was light and not oily and "thick" similar to those that fast food restaurants serve.

The trout was very good, but after it gets cold, it just doesn't taste that good. If you're sharing food, cut it up and pass it out before it loses heat. The port was just how we like it, not dry and sweet. We were pretty full, so we skipped dessert. In total, after tip, it came up to $100 for the two of us.

My wife and I don't usually eat so expensively, this was definitely a bit of a splurge for the both of us. We felt it was worth the price, but we won't be eating like that until maybe our next anniversary.

Since this dinner was part of the "Sound of Jazz Concert Series", I don't know what is on their regular menu, so I can't vouch for those items. We were seated beside each other at a large bench style table for this performance and could easily hear other people's conversations. So, if you're looking for intimacy, unless you're really special, I don't think you'll get a table for just two. Again, this seating arrangement may have been just for the event.

Spa services are not open on Monday. Didn't look at prices. So no comment there.

We went to our room after the performance at about 10 pm. Our turn-down service had staff
close the blinds, make the sheets up for slipping into bed and turn on our Sony to jazz radio. No chocolates though, oh well :P.

My wife likes the feel of the bed cover. I like how it's not noisy when I'm shifting around. The bed was spacious and we had good sleep. There did not seem to be any noise from the hallway even though we were by the elevator. Even if there were, the clientele is not very young and would probably keep noise to a respectable minimum.

Breakfast for us was a complimentary continental buffet. It had a good selection of breads, fruits and included one of my favourites, smoked salmon. I think most people may end up ordering more food, as there are no eggs or meat (actually, maybe there was some sliced meat, of which I no longer partake thanks to all the salt and preservatives). Anyway, I ended up filling up on fruits and breads. Coffee re-fills are complimentary as well.

We checked out, paid our taxes and grabbed a Globe and Mail newspaper.

So overall, a great hotel. My issues are very minor. Satellite television would have been nice. A properly working remote control. A newer, larger television. The fireplace is fake and produces no warmth, really cheesy in my opinion, nothing beats a real crackling fire.

The area is becoming more developed and a condo is coming up right next door, so it's not as secluded as the pictures seem, although there is a park right next door. It is close to the subway, so it is convenient, if you don't plan on renting a car.

Without the internet coupon deal, I would have never stayed here, because it's really too expensive. It's great for business meetings and weddings, which they have the facilities for.
Our $50 coupon is not really much of use if we have to book at the regular rate with it. Anyone want it? I'll trade it with you for something?

The staff are very friendly and the front desk lady called our room maybe an hour or two after we got in asking if everything was up to par.

If we go back, we'll need another coupon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear easyHwolf,

Thank you for booking with us and posting your review regarding your stay. Your comments have been shared with our management team and our staff to continue striving toward service excellence. Our rooms are scheduled for upgrades this year as we take our guest feedback very seriously. Our menu offerings are competitively priced within the market for the offering of a fine dining establishment in a more casual atmosphere.

We hope that you will take the opportunity to visit us again and enjoy the many services we have to offer.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#19 of 136 in Toronto
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 136 in Toronto
3,144 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
645 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Toronto

Property: Old Mill Toronto
Address: 21 Old Mill Rd, Toronto, Ontario M8X 1G5, Canada (Formerly Old Mill Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Etobicoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Toronto
#8 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#9 Business Hotel in Toronto
#12 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#25 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price range (per night): $265 - $545
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the ordinary! The Old Mill Toronto is the perfect location to relax, refresh and reconnect in a resort setting between downtown Toronto, Billy Bishop City Airport and Pearson International Airport. Enjoy a romantic getaway, plan a business event or indulge in our award winning Spa. We look forward to welcoming you at The Old Mill Toronto where versatility, ambiance and setting make us exceptionally memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Old Mill Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Inn And Spa
Old Mill Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing