We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toronto's hotel industry is in serious trouble if that's their n1 hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This place is simply a gorgeous condo building. Except you pay twice the price in hopes to get hotel services.
Having stayed in many Ca hotels, I must say they are in urgent need of proper personnel training.
Yes, the few people employed in $600/night places are friendly, but they have no clue how to run a hotel.
Most aggravating for me has been internet downtime. This is not tolerable for a luxury biz hotel, and for me it means lost business and loss of time.
I've been told 'you're lucky, starbucks isnt too far'!
The rest I can live with, being young. Although they had booked me into their other hotel without telling me and candidly expected me to go there after a long trip, under pouring rain.
I began loosing it when the one person still attending customers at 9 pm (its a 110 room hotel) said the same suite was avail but Id have to pay a penalty! Only that landed me a key to the room Id booked on super-low season.
Then, housekeeping is just about making your bed (soap anyone?), room service has 3 disgusting sandwiches, and dont expect your pricey minibar to be refilled.
Its really just a brand new, neat condo you'll get (if you take their most exp suite)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabriceleparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear fablupark,

I apologize for the complexity of your arrival experience at our hotel. We use confirmation letters to reconfirm with our guests which of our two downtown Toronto locations they have reserved. Nevertheless it does occasionally happen that an individual books at one and arrives at the other.

The process for switching a reservation between properties does take a few minutes, and we apologize. I have placed a note in your file for future visits to ensure that this situation is not repeated.

Regarding the internet, I can assure you that this is not a common occurrence at the hotel. Bell Canada experienced an exceptional number of outages in Toronto’s downtown core yesterday, and as a result, was delayed in restoring service. Such a situation is exceptionally rare; however, we continue to work with them so they understand the pace of our needs at the hotel, and will have this as a priority should any further issues arise.

Thanks for having stayed with us, and we hope that you will return one day. If ever I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Best regards,
Murray Henderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,073 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Pros:

The General Manager should be commended for training an excellent staff- the service levels are quite high and personalized- particularly Valet, Concierge, Housekeeping.

Room: Spacious, well thought out, great desk space/outlets, iPod dock sound system, rainfall shower, large sized Molten Brown bath products, espresso machine, etc. Very nice touches!

Cons:

Although a light continental breakfast is included, there is no additional menu available for hot items. For a full-service hotel, I was extremely disappointed that I could not pay for anything in addition, ie: scrambled eggs or anything else. As we are on strict diets, bread and cheese didn't really cut it, and there is nowhere nearby to get anything else (you're a bit trapped).

Not that the hotel has any control over these issues, but the location is adjacent to the concert hall, so you may want to check what is going on that week, as the hotel has large, noisy parties that come back to the hotel on random Sunday/Monday nights at midnight and keep partying in their hotel room- not the most quiet hotel. Sadly the hotel overlooks a very large construction site, so views are mixed- all construction but also the CN Tower. It is also not in a good city centre area, so we had to walk 10-15 minutes to get to the "scene."

Overall, we were impressed with the hotel but would probably choose another hotel and area next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 April 2012

Dear Clutchbomb,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for the compliments regarding our service. We pride ourselves on selecting the right people and allowing them to do what they do best, take care of our guests.

We are indeed adjacent the Air Canada Centre which has its advantages and we make every effort to keep that exciting vibe in our lobby and public areas as opposed to the guest room floors. I am sorry of you were disturbed by other guests during this stay.

Our deluxe continental breakfast which is included for all guests is indeed a offering of cold selections. We will take your comments regarding the hot item options in considertion for future development. In the meantime, we do try to accomodate any specific dietary restricitions our guests may have.

I am glad you enjoyed the features of the room as we truly reflect on the guest experience from the beginning stages of the design process.

Thank you again for staying with us and I wish you happy and safe travels!

Paul de La Durantaye
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Loved everything about this hotel. This was our first trip to Toronto, the staff were extremely helpful with directions, taxis, reservations. The hotel itself was extremely clean. We loved the decor and chic feel of the hotel and the room. Hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anglasange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This new hotel provided clean spacious rooms with free breakfast each morning including all day free coffee, lattes, etc. The hotel is smaller than some which provides a quiet and less hectic atmosphere in the lobby and public areas. Attached to a Longos and Starbucks- in a great location for walking to most major shopping and restaurant areas. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegMarTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square for four nights. I have stayed at many hotels in Toronto for business and pleasure and this is the best yet. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean. The beds were so comfortable and the bathroom was a dream. The details in this hotel are outstanding, from apples near the elevator to the espresso machine in your room. Breakfast has everything you could ever ask for and free coffee all day is just another detail that makes this hotel stand out. The service was outstanding. The hotel is quiet and the atmosphere throughout was exceptional. The fact that there is a grocery store downstairs is another plus. Central to everything in Downtown Toronto this is by far the best choice. I look forward to staying there again next month. If there were 10 stars that would be my rating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#7 of 136 in Toronto
2,194 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#22 of 136 in Toronto
3,972 reviews
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 136 in Toronto
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Address: 75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $340 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto's Second Le Germain HôtelGroupe Germain is reasserting itself in Toronto with Hôtel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. Integrated into the complex for which it is named, this 167-room boutique-hotel is one element in a real estate development that combines condominiums, offices, retail shops and restaurants.Hotspot for Sports and EntertainmentLocated just steps from the Air Canada Centre, home to the Toronto Maple Leafs (hockey) and the Raptors (basketball), and venue for Toronto's hottest events and shows, the hotel is at the heart of it all.Quiet Oasis in a Buzzing NeighbourhoodAlthough the hotel is immersed in the city's vibrant core, it remains loyal to Groupe Germain's philosophy, which is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. Each Germain property strives to achieve the same goal: to offer a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where personalized, yet discreet service is of the utmost importance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing