We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
66
77
48
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
77
48
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub next door gas fireplace no elevator adjacent pub university area victorian charm private entrance pack earplugs basic continental breakfast subway station two twin beds an older building breakfast is served the royal ontario museum green p casa loma nice place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

I was in town for a business meeting and was looking for a quiet place to sleep near where my meetings were held. This fit the bill perfectly. Walking distance to Queen's Park, quiet and reasonable price. I had a room in the basement which probably made it quieter as the street sounds were muffled.
The bed was good, not great, but good. The room was clean and amenities adequate. The breakfast is quite good for the included price.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank JupieJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Guests:

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, liked our basic
continental breakfast, which is included in the rate.

Many guests like and prefer our lower level rooms. Glad you found our prices reasonable and liked our location.

Thank you again for choosing the Madison Manor, our 23 Bedroom Guesthouse.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kane
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We chose this hotel specifically because it has parking, had a parking spot available for the night we were staying. Two of the four people in our party have mobility issues and can't walk far so this seemed like an ideal solution. When we arrived to check in we were told the spot were had booked was occupied by the hotel owner's car and the staff could not contact the owner. They pointed out nearby municipal parking lots and the on duty manager committed to rebating whatever we paid to park in the city lot. When we returned about midnight from our downtown wedding both of the city lots were full, except for one handicapped spot. We parked in the handicapped spot since we had a handicapped parking pass. Overnight parking was good only until 7:00 AM so I had to move the car at 7:00 AM or risk a ticket. On checkout the desk clerk maintained that she couldn't give the parking rebate because the manager from the night before hadn't done anything in the system but he would be n at 11:00, making us wait for more than another hour. Not holding my breath.
In addition guest keys would not open the front door, so we were directed to the side door, down the alley. When we returned from the he wedding there was a gate locked across the alley, preventing access to the side door. We had the go to the pub next door ( part of the same complex) to get the manager to open the front door so we could get to our rooms.
I made the mistake of putting my room key in the same pocket as my smartphone which promptly deactivated the key. It would have been nice to have been warned about that ahead of time instead of having it confirmed after the fact. Since the desk is not open all night we could easily have been locked out with no way to contact someone to get in.
All in all a very average experience in keeping with the relatively low (for Toronto) room rate. Obviously run by an amateur. If you need a spot to park a car and anticipate needing help after midnight stay away from this hotel. Also there are no elevators and steep stairways.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jamesrh542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guests:

I sincerely apologize that the very limited parking we have was reserved for you,
unfortunately, errors were made on our part and your parking spot was not available.

We take mobility issues seriously, if we know this prior to arrival, we would have recommended that the public parking lot directly behind the Madison would have been the better choice during your stay. Our private parking is not handicapped parking to accommodate the ease of mobility and any support devices. Both our private parking and the public parking behind the Madison are the same distance from our B&B. But the Public Parking as you mentioned has handicapped parking spaces. In addition we would have gone into great detail when you made the reservation to let you know about the Madison Manor and make arrangements so that we can properly assist you in everyway we possibly can during your stay. I again sincerely apologize regarding the error made with your parking spot, a new staff member made a serious error and parked a car not realizing they should have not parked the car in your reserved spot.

A credit card can be used in the public parking lot for the entire duration of your
stay with no need to move your car at 7:00 am if your paid ticket is for a
the required time you need in the parking lot.

Guests were being directed to the side door because unfortunately the front door
was not working properly. The Restaurant is open until 2:00 am and when the
front desk closes our phones are forwarded to the Manager on duty for any
guest assistance, as well guests can come to the restaurant for assistance.
I apologize that you had an issue with your room key. We provide 2 keys to guests and ask them to keep both of them with them and in their envelopes. I will review with our staff, as normally we are very detailed about this at check in.

We do not have any elevators in the Madison Manor, but we will always be happy
upon request to assist to take luggage to your room and assist you with your
luggage upon check out.

Thank you for your important comments, we will review everything to improve
our service.

Most sincerely,
Kelly Kane, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This place is what it says it is. Yes it is older, the Manor house title says that. Don't expect chain hotel type rooms. The rooms have period furniture, comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. Other reviews say the place is noisy but we heard nothing from the pub next door. The $12 voucher for food and drink at the pub was a bonus.

Room Tip: Room 203 was fine for us.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KLTravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Guests:

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed
the $12.00 restaurant voucher that is included with your stay to
enjoy our restaurant the Madison Avenue Pub.

The Madison Manor, our Guest House is part of our complex that includes the Madison Avenue Pub, which one of the largest Pubs in Toronto. We have 6 Individual Pubs
throughout the complex. The weekdays for very quiet and the weekends are very vibrant. Many of our hotel guests do not have issues with noise on the weekends.

Our owner is originally from England, where large old fashioned Guest Houses or large Victorian B&B’s are very common. She wanted all her guests to feel like they
were staying in her home. This is the concept our owner has for her guests in Toronto at our 23 Bedroom Madison Manor Boutique Hotel. A Victorian Mansion that has been converted into a guest house and decorated by our owner in an eclectic fashion, with old fashioned furniture from many of the downtown antique shops.
A home away from home style. Our Bedrooms are similar in size to what you would find in a large residential home. Each room has it's own bathroom and heating and cooling system.

Every room is different in size and old fashioned style. If you are looking for large rooms, please reserve a suite they are the largest we have. Our standard rooms are the smallest.

Our Madison B&B is a great choice for guests who wish to enjoy a more casual ambience of a Bed & Breakfast.

Thank you again for choosing the Madison Manor.

Sincerely, Kelly Kane, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Nice place to stay. This is an excellent option if you are trying to find something cheap and comfortable. The workers were all friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and it includes all the facilities that you might need. Is not that far from the aquarium and the cn tower so you can walk for like 30 minutes to go there. The breakfast was included.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Manuel723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Guests:

Thank you, glad you found the Madison Manor a nice place to stay and excellent
option that is comfortable, liked our reasonable rates and the room was very
clean.

We greatly care about welcoming our guests and delighted to learn that you found our
staff to be friendly and helpful.

We offer a continental breakfast with room the room rates and we are close
to all of the major downtown attractions, Universities and Hospitals.

The Madison Manor is a 23 Bedroom Guest House and a great choice for
guests who like a more casual ambience.

Thank you for choosing the Madison Manor for your stay while in
Toronto, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely, Kelly Kane - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel was just adequate, although the staff, specifically Connie, was exceptional. We mistakenly arrived a day early and she went out of her way to make sure we had a room.

The hotel itself is and old home in the university area with a large and very loud tavern next to it.
It was difficult to sleep even on the weekday as it got pretty loud.

In addition the way the hotel is set up is confusing. You have to check in 2 buildings down. The hotel is a warren of hallways that go up and down randomly, making it difficult to get to your room.

For example our room was on the 4th floor with no elevator (!) and to get there we had to go up not only several flights of stairs but then go down another flight to a hallway that led nowhere to get to our room.

The complementary breakfast consisted of call pastries and average coffee. After one day, we did not return to have breakfast there. Additionally the floors and tabletops where it was served more sticky and feel dirty and extremely dark. I tried to go to the bathroom but there was no light fixture that could be found so I had to make my way through a very dark area and get to the bathroom in the dark.

Overall I would most definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tmbf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Guests:

Thank you for commenting that you found our staff to be exceptional.
The Madison Manor is a former century Victorian Mansion that has been renovated into a 23 Bedroom Guest House. Our Complex consists of 4 of the Century buildings on the street. 3 of the Buildings are the Madison Avenue Pub and the 4th is the Guest House.
Our addition on all floors at the end of the hall on each of the floors as 3 steps to
go down due to the lower level in the back of the building.

We do not have an elevator in the Madison Manor, but we are always pleased
to assist with luggage upon request. There is detailed signage inside the Guest House
on all floors indicating where rooms are located.

We promise a complimentary continental breakfast with your stay. A continental
breakfast is just a coffee and pastry. We also provide a complimentary restaurant
voucher and this can be used for guests wishing to have a hot breakfast when the
restaurant opens at 11:00 am each morning. Our continental breakfast is served
in one of our main floor pubs starting at 7:30 am weekdays and 8:30 am on weekends.

I apologize that the light was not on in the area that led to the public bathroom area.

Thank you for your comments, we will review to improve our service.

Sincerely,

Kelly Kane, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews