We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
65
76
48
24
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
76
48
24
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub next door no elevator adjacent pub university area victorian charm private entrance pack earplugs basic continental breakfast subway station two twin beds an older building breakfast is served the royal ontario museum green p casa loma nice place to stay counter space
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and the hotel was next to the metro station which was convenient for getting downtown. The place is old and has a lot of stairs and we found the room to be stuffy with limited air con. Breakfast was limited but we knew this when we booked. Close to bars and restaurants and the pub atttached to the hotel was decent .

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Guests:

Glad you liked our location and the Pub.

For guests that are only expecting what we promise, a coffee and pastry, they are very pleased that we offer much more. We offer a self service of: bagels, daily in house baked muffins, danish pastries, orange & cranberry Juice, coffee & tea, hard boiled eggs, cream cheese, jam, peanut butter, kettle oatmeal, boxed cereals & fruit. We serve our self serve continental breakfast each morning in one of our Victorian Pubs at the Madison Avenue Pub. We also provide a restaurant voucher and this can be used to enjoy a hot breakfast when the restaurant opens.

All rooms have their own individual Heat and AC units similar to what you see in Condos.

Thank you for choosing the Madison Manor.

Sincerely,
Kelly Kane, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has so much potential to be more. It has your basic charms but it is located in a college area. The bar/restaurant has the horrible food and even worse service. The worst part about this hotel is its location. It is too far away from major attractions. Each taxi ride will cost you about $15-20... That adds up really quickly. The staff should have been more friendly and helpful. We found out from the beer delivery man that there was a mass transit nearby and if we would have used that we would have saved much more money. A word of advise if you come to visit this city - bring cash (many places only take it) and be prepared for rude service.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Special Events & Hotel Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Guests:

I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay. We will review your concerns
with our front desk, as we provide a very detailed guest check in at our front desk.
During guest in we let guests know we are here to assist, call taxi's and assist with
any information they need. We have Public Transit Maps that we provide to guests that have a great deal of detail of how to access our public transit system and lists and highlights the major tourist attractions. We are located right beside the Spadina Subway and regularly assist guests for directions to all of the major attractions and any other information our guests may need during their stay with us. It is always very important to provide detailed friendly service.

I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the food in our restaurant, we provided
a restaurant voucher with your booking. We specialize in casual pub fair.

You are able to pay by credit card at the Madison Manor and it is our preferred method of payment. I am sorry to learn many places you visited only accepted cash and you found as Visitor's to Toronto that the people are rude.

We are located at Spadina and Bloor and we are generally speaking, within
5 to 20 minutes walking distance or via the public transit system to all
of the major downtown tourist attractions. With ROM, Bata Shoe Museum,
Casa Loma and Yorkville all a 5 to 10 minute walk. And CN Tower, Distillery District,
St. Lawrence Market, Harbour Front and Rogers Centre a 15 to 20 minute transit ride
away.

We take your comments seriously and will follow up to improve and make our
service better.

Sincerely, Kelly Kane, Special Events and Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This small hotel is located close to Spadina subway station and in easy walking distance to the university. Rooms are ok, AC was somewhat noisy at night. A nice feature is the pub that belongs to the hotel. Breakfast is substandard.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Maphysto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel and Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Guests:

Glad you liked the location. If you are looking for a grander room our
suites our wonderful. Room 201, 301 and 408 are the largest.

We promise a continental breakfast, which is a coffee and pastry.
We are doing our best to let guests know it is not a hot breakfast.

Thank you for the feedback.

Sincerely, Kelly Kane Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We checked into the Madison Manor for one night in early July. The clerk at the front desk was rude and condescending throughout the process. To give but one example: when we mentioned that we didn't know that we should have reserved a parking
space in advance, we were curtly advised that "most people" do "their homework". Thank you Manager Steve and delightful server Jennifer for your kindness and grace in trying to make amends. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jruhabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel and Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Dear Special Guests:

Thank you for sharing that although your initial disappointment that parking was not
included in your stay that you booked on line, our Manager Steve and
sever Jennifer were able to make things better for you. Our Front Desk receptionist
did offer to get you a manager to rectify your parking concerns.

We were glad to offer hospitality, that included a complimentary lunch and an
additional $12.00 restaurant voucher.

You had booked one of our last rooms at the Madison Manor on line and you
wanted a bigger room and free parking. Unfortunately we were not able to accommodate your requests because we were fully booked and did not have a
larger deluxe room available to move you to, we were fully booked.
I am sorry we could not assist you with this, but we were completely booked.
Your on line booking was for a standard room.

We are doing our best to work with our online booking reservation partners for them
to assist us to better emphasize that parking is not included in the room rates, it is for accommodation only. The confirmation sent to guests from their online booking does list this, but unfortunately it is often missed by guests. The Madison Manor is a small 23 bedroom downtown guest house. There is parking available but it is at an additional cost. We have private spots as well as public paid parking located right behind our complex. All reservations at the Madison Manor are for accommodation
only and parking is at an additional cost.

We always want to do our utmost and although we were unable to upgrade your
room or provide free parking, we are glad the complimentary lunch and vouchers
improved the situation.

Sincerely, Kelly Kane Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I will say this is a quaint hotel in a good location. I would compare my room to a room a one's grandmother's house. Everything was clean and fine. Bathroom was newly redone, towels, safe, hangers.

Great price.

Areas for improvement...
Ice machine--there is one, just it has no ice.
AC unit is consistant.

Room Tip: I was on level 1. which is the basement.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madmanor, Hotel and Special Events Manager at Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Guest: Thank you for your review and the title Good Little Hotel.
Glad you liked your room and the location. Our owner wanted to extend to
all of her family and friends a special place to stay while in Toronto and
created a 23 Bedroom Guest house as an extension of her home.
It is eclectic and old fashioned.

We are going to replace the ice machine, but we are having issues finding a
new ice machine that will meet all of the requirements for the new
installation.

Thank you again for choosing the Madison Manor.

Sincerely, Kelly Kane Hotel and Special Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews