We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically a college dorm room”
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
Ranked #56 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The actual rooms were decent and clean, however they were smaller than my bedroom at home and the walls were paper thin; you can hear everything. I have never stayed in a smaller hotel room. We bought this hotel on hotwire.com after a great deal came up, and then found out after we booked it that the standard room was two single beds so we had to pay $15 to upgrade to a queen, and $15 for parking so we didn't even save that much money which was very disappointing. The rooms were like walking into an ikea bedroom set. The bathroom is a sliding door and was not aligned properly so it doesn't close all the way, theres a huge gap that you can actually stick your hand through so you can see and hear everything ( awkward if you are staying with someone you aren't that close with). The room itself was alright- clean which was important, however the building it is in feels like a university residence. The building is very sketchy and full of interesting individuals. There were tons of completely drunk people just wandering the halls, there is no security here. The AC/heating unit is extremely loud which made it hard to sleep ( apart from all the people you can hear). Elevator was very sketchy.
The staff however was very nice and they try the best they can with what they are given.

I would not return here; it felt like we were renting a college dorm for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbadosBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

“Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate all comments about our hotel, both positive and negative, in order for us to ensure that our products and services correspond with the wants and needs of guests. Although our room types are definitely more quaint, our recent room renovations have definitely been a big hit with guests, and serve as a more economical option in the city centre. Nevertheless, your comments are a gift that we will use them towards improving our overall guest experience. We take pride in offering great service at our hotel. We encourage you to return to our hotel and to speak with our Front Office Manager, Mark, who will be more than happy to welcome you back and provide you with a room type that may better fit your needs!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,699)
There are newer reviews for Bond Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,659 - 1,663 of 2,699 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Bond Place was recommended to us by family.
Rooms are perfect for what we needed. Price was great! Service was superb.

Located beaked Nathan Phillips Square, literally 2 minutes from the Eaton Centre downtown.

I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordanrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BondHotel, General Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2012

It’s always great to hear from a happy guest! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Only steps from Yonge-Dundas Square, Eaton Centre. Right in the heart of downtown Toronto.

Rooms are clean and nicely decorated, however the rooms are very small. I booked a 2 Twin-size beds for 1 night since it was the cheapest, but wouldnt recommend it unless your travelling for business or with friends, or pay more and get a larger bed or room.

Great for crashing after a night on the town. Paid $90 night

Room Tip: Ice machines are only on certain floors, so ask reception which floors they're on. Twin Size bed...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Archie_757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I am a business traveler. Usually stay in a different part of Toronto but needed to be close to St. Michael's hospital for a workshop.Hotel turned out to be literally only 3 minutes away - at the other side of the block walking south!!

Booked through Booking.com as did not realize I could have booked for only $88 on TripAdvisor! Still - good deal at $106 for downtown. Room on 16th floor meant I had lovely night view and incredible red rising sun view over the lake. Photos never do justice but I am posting anyway.

Read the reviews of small room so was prepared (thanks). Actually felt cozy for just one person. Liked the desk which faced the window. Had free internet access which I used before bed. Actually felt a little like a cruise ship room in size but had an Asian vibe. Loved the shower (no bath) and the glass wall and door in the bathroom made it feel very light and airy (& definitely i\bigger than cruise ship size!).

Had all the amenities that I needed for an overnight pit stop. Unfortunately no time to sample the expresso bar or to sample the wine/beer in the lobby bar in the evening (late arrival and early departure).

I did not find it noisy but I was there on a Monday night. I would stay again and may do so in a couple of months when I have to leave for a vacation and will need to get to airport following my stay. Will check out the Airport Express bus prior to re-booking.

Room Tip: 16th floor on south east side of building
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotgrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Although apparently someone was shot at the hotel the week before we stayed, we had a nice visit.
The location is wonderful. The room was small yet clean and neat.
I would stay here again at $88 / night.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 137 in Toronto
1,062 reviews
Downtown
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
#60 of 137 in Toronto
6,435 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $179 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bond Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing