We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercer Hall Inn”
Review of Mercer Hall Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercer Hall Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Stratford
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
“Mercer Hall Inn”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great location and very clean.Be aware there are MANY steps to the room.
To have the least steps, ask for room 203-206.We had #208 and the steps
are just too many-very taxing for older people.Voucher for breakfast
was great-never outspent the $20.You can walk to all the theaters and
restaurants are close as well.Good parking in back, but again many steps
up to your room.Also, the tub is in the bedroom and my wife did not
appreciate the lack of privacy!

Room Tip: choose room 203-206 for least steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    84
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
187
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My wife and I want to share our wonderful one night experience at the Mercer hall Inn. We try to get to Stratford once a year to take in a couple of plays and only noticed this Inn on our visit last year. We found the downtown location a big advantage to park and walk to downtown shops, and was convenient to the theatre after dinner. Our room overlooked the main street but wasn't noisy at all. What we liked best of all was the high ceilings and comfy beds which reminded us of an inner city European Inn, even down to the smallish bathroom, but still very clean. One issue was the lack of an elevator, which didn't bother us, as this was brought to our attention when booking. The women who checked us in was very cheerful and helpful with our "tourist" questions, and the complimentary breakfast in the morning was more than expected. All in all, this was an enjoyable stay and one that we want to repeat next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife booked us in for a night at the Mercer, after seeing it on a visit to Stratford. Check in was smooth and flawless at the restaurant. The room was fantastic although the view out the back was not the greatest. We had a wonderful night and as one reviewer stated, you can't beat the location. The only reason I am giving it only 4 out of 5 stars is due to the fact that there is no elevator. I had no touble negotiating the stairs, but I see where it would be dificult for some. I would heartily recommend the Mercer for a stay in Stratford.

Room Tip: may want to ask for a ground level room if you have an issue with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huronfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

During our stay in Stratford, ON, we had an unfortunate experience. Mercer Hall, Inn which had no part in this situation, was almost immediate in their response, working with us to solve the problem and offering to assist us in any way possible. We were surprised and delighted to receive such support. The hotel itself is very nice, convenient and well maintained, but it is our personal experience of their excellent customer service that will keep us going back to Mercer Hall.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, so look at the pictures to pick your favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Mercer Inn does not qualify as one in the normal sense of an Inn.There is no elevator and you have to climb steep steps to get to your room.There is no front desk and I would not know who owns it or even who runs it .Staff is invisible and the person who checked us in in the restaurant was not friendly at all.There is a restaurant as part of the Inn where all business is done that has horrible food.We got a voucher to use for breakfast worth &20 that was not sufficient.The breakfast was worse then most diners.I consider this so called Inn as extremely poor and certainly not worth &210 the price of our room.Please look for better accomodations in Stratford.Marietta Kalman

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tita955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.4 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
376 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
1.3 km away
The Bruce Hotel
The Bruce Hotel
#3 of 18 in Stratford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
287 reviews
0.1 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#13 of 18 in Stratford
51 reviews
3.1 km away
Festival Inn
Festival Inn
#14 of 18 in Stratford
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercer Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercer Hall Inn

Property: Mercer Hall Inn
Address: 108 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford
Price range (per night): $180 - $277
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercer Hall Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stratford's 14 room unique boutique Inn is located in the heart of downtown. All rates include parking and wireless internet access. Dining areas include European restaurant Mercer Hall and Fellini's Italian/Mediterranean open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mercer Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercer Hall Hotel Stratford
Mercer Hall Stratford
Mercer Hall Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing