We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centre of the festival”
Review of Bentley's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bentley's Inn
Ranked #38 of 88 Stratford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Loved it! Well organized, private, clean, beds are great and the 2 storeys makes it a lot less clausterphobic than most places. Centrally located to the theatres and surrounded by shops, restaurants and cafes. If you want a very quiet place, this is probably not it, as it's over a bar that was pretty lively over the weekend, but if you plan to spend your evenings at the shows and follow up with a nightcap, no problems with noise.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breen B, Manager at Bentley's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thanks Sarah for taking the time to write a review about your stay upstairs at our Lofts@99.
Your feedback is extremely important to us, as it assists us in maintaining and improving our high standards.
We look forward to your visit with us again the next time you are in Stratford.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

We stay here anytime we are in Stratford. The rooms are in a loft style with king beds, kitchen amenities, high ceilings, and good sized bathrooms. The front desk staff is always friendly and helpful. The prices during off season are a steal and you can pretty much walk anywhere you need to be in Stratford from this location.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AymRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breen B, Manager at Bentley's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thanks Aym for taking the time to write a review about your stay upstairs at our Lofts@99.
Your feedback is extremely important to us, as it assists us in maintaining and improving our high standards.
We look forward to your visit with us again the next time you are in Stratford.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Bentley's Inn & Restaurant is a long time landmark in Stratford and was refurbished a couple of years ago and the designers did a wonderful job. It is very comfortable and well appointed. It is a two level suite and is completely furnished with everything one would need (i.e.dishes, glasses, cutlery etc) It was exceptionally clean with nice linens. We had a front room with a view of the street. They offer winter rates which are exceptionally reasonable and we plan on returning very soon. Stratford is one of our favourite destinations for a break from the hustle bustle of everyday life.

Room Tip: This Inn is not recommended for patrons with disabilities as there are two stairs to deal with. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey73Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We selected this property for our one-night stay in Stratford because it is central to everything we wanted to do; walk around the old residential areas of Stratford, hit a couple of restaurants, and drink coffee at Balzac's. We had room 105; a king bed, single chair, TV, kitchenette with microwave and fridge and dinette set on one floor, and a single bed, single chair, TV, fireplace and bathroom on second floor.
Check-in was unhelpful and curt, basically just a key hand-over and the advice to 'keep circling the parking lot, someone will leave eventually." We elected to park across the street instead. Our suite was a good size, long and narrow, with a two-story window overlooking the parking lot. The little kitchenette was very basic but serviceable (two plates, two sets of cutlery, and a cutting board but no bread or paring knife). The bathroom was okay, although the toilet was shoehorned into a narrow space that resulted in one's knee being pressed up against an electric heater. The suite felt a bit tired - the screen in the window was broken, as was one of the shutters; the towel knob beside the shower fell off twice, the carpet is stained, and the bed linens were not great - a shiny itchy bedspread and sheets so thin they resembled cheesecloth. And the tempurpedic mattress - I know some people love these things, but we HATED it. It was like sleeping in a tray of damp sand - sort of like a waterbed without the motion. However, that's not the inn's fault, we knew about the mattresses ahead of time, we just didn't know how horrible they felt.
My main problem was the awkward layout of the suite. It's a total pain to have the bed on one floor and the bathroom on another floor, that's a given and mentioned by others on this site. But why put the TV across from the bed, and so near the window, instead of centered on the wall, where it would at least be visible from the one chair near the bed? And although there's a TV upstairs as well, that one is across from the single bed, again not visible from any seating area. And why only one chair on each floor? Do people not sit together in Stratford? I could have brought the upstairs chair down, I suppose, but I didn't pay a hundred bucks to move furniture around. Because if I DID move furniture around, I'd have put two chairs together (or a sofabed, if you want to keep that single extra bed) in a comfortable seating area in front of the TV with a coffee table, and put the king bed upstairs with the fireplace. Just saying.
Despite the blinds, the light woke us up pretty early, so we checked out before 9, when someone would have been downstairs. We were unable to find the 'express checkout form' that was supposed to be in our room, so handed our key over to a friendly and helpful cleaner who was working downstairs.
So all in all, the suites are roomy and affordable, at least in off-season. However, the layout is inconvenient and the whole setup feels kind of shabby. I won't stay there again, but if I knew a group of people who wanted a lot of room and a super-uncomfortable sleep, I'd send them here.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RobinRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

The staff are friendly and the lofts are spacious. There was plenty of room for the five of us (2 adults, 3 children). Our room had a king, two singles and a roll-away. There was even an out-of-the way spot for the roll-away. The two kids in the loft really enjoyed having their own TV. The king bed had a Tempur-Pedic mattress and I found it to be super comfortable. The hotel is downtown which gives great access to numerous shops and restaurants. I would happily book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Traveller_235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
0.3 km away
The Stratford Hotel
The Stratford Hotel
#1 of 18 in Stratford
343 reviews
0.3 km away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#5 of 18 in Stratford
410 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Plus The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
Annex Room Restaurant & Inn
#15 of 18 in Stratford
25 reviews
0.1 km away
Queen's Inn at Stratford
Queen's Inn at Stratford
#11 of 18 in Stratford
141 reviews
0.1 km away
Edison's Cafe Bar and Inn
Edison's Cafe Bar and Inn
#20 of 88 in Stratford
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley's Inn

Address: 99 Ontario St, Stratford, Ontario N5A 3H1, Canada (Formerly Bentley's Lofts at 99)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Stratford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Price Range: $108 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bentley's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Night of Modern Luxury Treat yourself to one of our luxurious bi-level loft suites in the heart of downtown Stratford. Pamper yourself in our ensuite, modern, bath facilities. Relax in a famous tempurpedic mattress with high-end linens or resting beside your in-room fireplace. Decorated throughout with fine art decor, plasma flat screen T.V, state of the art radio sound systems, and free wireless internet, these overnight accommodations in Stratford will be a night you won´t forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bentley's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley`s Hotel Stratford
Bentley's Inn Stratford, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing